We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B in the North Beach district of San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #21 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our three night stay at the Inn. We splurged and stayed in room #7 and enjoyed the space and the view out the bay window to the park. We closed our windows one evening as there was a good bit of noise from people talking on the sidewalk below. The front desk is manned around the clock which provided a level of comfort which is lacking at some B&B's. The staff was most attentive. Rather than the more common buffet, a lovely breakfast is served. The guests choose from a breakfast menu left on each room door the preceding night. The afternoon wine & cheese is a nice touch although a tad late in the day for us. It begins at 5:30 and ran into our dinner hour. The location makes this Inn the right choice for us. We were able to walk to great restaurants, Beach Blanket Babylon, and many of the SF sites. Also, the parking garage is just a block away at a cost of $22 per day. We spent more on our room than we typically do, but were glad we made this choice.

Room Tip: If sidewalk noise bothers you, request a room on the quieter side of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 386 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

As many of the other reviewers have indicated, this is a great location.Off the traffic routes, near a park, yet walkable to downtown San Francisco. I find SF to be a very walkable city. My first visit in 1977 I walked from the bus station (south of Market) to Fisherman's Wharf, and back. Back then Chinatown was not as touristy, but you can find some of the old Chinatown if you go down side streets.

The Inn is very charming. Rooms are small, but you likely won't spend much time in the rooms. If you prefer a quieter room, ask for an interior room. (We did and enjoyed a peaceful visit)

The Inn provides a simple breakfast (juices, jams, a rotating assortment of rolls, buns or pastries...and of course tea and coffee). They also have a wine tasting at 5pm daily, with assorted cheeses, salamis, olives and more. Very nice touch.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Don't hesitate to ask for information or special needs.

The one challenge is parking. Street parking is improbable if not impossible. Even unloading and loading are a bit difficult.There is a garage two blocks away that offers in/out privileges for WSI guests. The garage staff was very nice and helpful as well.

The Inn is an oasis in an urban environment. There are many, many restaurant within walking distance from the restaurant. One I highly recommend is The House. (review to be posted shortly).

This was our first visit, and we would surely return here in future visits.

Room Tip: AS noted in the body of the review, ask for an interior room for a more quite experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

As the name indicates, this is more of a small inn than a B&B. Nevertheless, it is charming and has a lot in common with a B&B, including a (wonderful) communal breakfast and interesting guests. San Francisco has many inns and B&B's, but what sets this one apart is its location. It is in the middle of North Beach. It is just a few minutes walk north to Fisherman's Wharf and the waterfront, just a few minutes walk south to Chinatown, and just a few minutes walk east to Telegraph Hill and Coit tower. To the west is a lovely park. So for a first-time visitor to San Francisco, being right in the middle of so many of the major tourist attractions is a plus. You can spend the first few days of your visit walking to the places you probably want to see. To go to downtown and other parts of the city, there are buses that stop within a block of the inn.

All in all, the inn is very pleasant, with nice rooms, a friendly staff, and especially a great location for first-time tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globe_trotter_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My partner and I spent 7 very happy days and 6 nights at the Washington Square Inn.

We found that nothing was too much trouble for staff yet at the same time, we never felt too overwhelmed.

Our room, room 10, was a delight with a comfortable large double bed and antique furniture from Europe. The bathroom had a large shower, whose only failing was its shower head. It was a little bit too low for my boyfriend who is nearly 2m high.

By far though the highlights were food and location. Breakfast was so generous and could be either eaten around the dining room table or in the room. We did both, and both were special. Then from 6pm, hors d' heuvres are served in the lounge, a lovely selection of cheeses, olives, savoury biscuits, stuffed vine leaves and wines.

Step outside and Washington Square Park opens to you (lovely views of it also as you eat breakfast at the dining table), or look right towards the little but hugely popular cafe' Mama, or to your left for a view of North Beach in full swing.

We didn't experience any noise problems but I agree that anyone wishing to stay in North Beach should expect loud noises. If you do, speak to staff. They really are so helpful. One night when my boyfriend was unwell and we ordered a take-away rather than go out, not only they helped me find a good place but also they provided us with plates and forks. Top service.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnalisaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here more than 10 years ago and returned for an overnight in the city. It used to be good, now it is excellent. The little touches like the wine and cheese in the lobby in the afternoon make it special. They arranged parking nearby at a reasonable cost. The location is perfect.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a window seat but is not as expensive as the ones overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and commenting on our improvements from your last stay. We really appreciate it when guests notice all the changes we make through the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back!

Everything was impeccable and down to the details. From the soft linen and amazing bed, to the beautiful antiques decorating the place, and of course the location and service.

We even got home made chocolate chip cookies :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Levinyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Every year my husband and I come to San Francisco at Valentine's Day. The Washington Square Inn helps to make each each year a wonderful experience. The room is beautiful, the breakfast is just right, and the spread they put out from about 5 - 7 of wine and delicious cheeses, olives and other condiments, is something I'd be proud to put out for friends. The neighborhood is also just perfect. North Beach is hopping with great restaurants. Finally, the staff is wonderful at the Washington Square Inn...Overall, a wonderful place for those precious and special days we get each year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
311 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
367 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#5 of 53 in San Francisco
1,082 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,261 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $223 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing