We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way, but really good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #82 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but really good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our trip to San Francisco and we really enjoyed our stay. The front desk was always helpful, the concierge desk was full of good information and the breakfast was very good. Our room was eclectic and helped make the trip a great experience. My wife and I are experienced metro users and had an unlimited 5 day pass, but unfortunately the metro workers went on strike the week we were there. The hotel had a car that was able to take us down to the wharf area where we picked up other transportation or just hoofed it. That was another big plus in my eyes. I would absolutely stay there again. Thank you for your part in making our anniversary memorable.

Room Tip: While there is an elevator, I enjoyed staying on the second floor so we could take the stairs. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We're very honoured that you chose the Queen Anne as the hotel in which to celebrate the special occasion of your Anniversary. Please come back for another one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    238
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
95
286
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Interesting, quaint, small boutique hotel. Large rooms, but a bit musty. Very friendly staff and free breakfast in the morning. Nice fireplace in the lobby. Interesting elevator ride (creaks!)...overall, quaint and lovely.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank You Rick. Glad you enjoyed our Parlor and large guest room sizes. Please let our front desk know if something is 'a bit musty' so we can check it out. There are many thing we can do plus large windows in the rooms for good ventilation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very nice hotel with good accommodations. Staff was very pleasant and morning breakfast and afternoon tea very enjoyable.

The hotel was decorated with antiques and dated furniture which was quite lovely.

Would recommend to anyone staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyWesties17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you LuvMyWesties17 We are all about rest and relaxation here at the Queen Anne. Glad you enjoyed yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beautiful old hotel with nice big rooms, and friendly people. Perfect for those who like their hotels to be a bit more interesting. Hotel is on a good location too, especially if you like Japanese food, since Japantown is just a block or two away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lennie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank You Lennie, We're glad you appreciated the Queen Anne's unique qualities. We also love being next to JapanTown where there's great deals on Japanese products and all the fresh and tasty Sushi, Sashimi, & Shabu Shabu your heart desires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Although the public parking lot was not guarded or locked, we parked the motorcycle covered for three nights and had no issues. We had a large room with two beds, a closet, dresser, and fireplace. The large windows opened for fresh air. The concierge saved me $42 on transportation to the airport by explaining which bus to take to get to the train that would take me to the airport!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank You Michele! We hope you and your motorcycle will come back to visit us one day. It must be quite a thrill to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge up into Marin or down the coast via Monterrey and Carmel to BigSur, or even Hearst's Castle. If one has a flight going out in the morning we also have a complimentary local car service that will deliver you to the nearest BART station. Please stay safe on the road and enjoy your summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Quite an old building that is tastefully decorated for the period. Room was large with two queen sized beds. Decor was showing wear and tear but the room and bathroom were clean. Dry sherry served gratis at 4:00 might not be to everyones taste but the cookies were delicious. Check in was fast and staff friendly and helpfull. Overall a pleasent stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us Gomin. Fast check ins and check outs are the rule at small hotels like ours. There's rarely a line more than 1 other person ahead of you. When you arrive to San Francisco, you want to explore right away, not stand in a queue behind 20+ other people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because of the location to a great restaurant across the street. We enjoyed our stay as much as the dinner. The Victorian feel of the hotel was warm and inviting with two fireplaces in the parlor and plenty of seating to sit and enjoy. Rooms were spacious .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GFinchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for letting others know about our fabulous Parlor and features of the Queen Anne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#83 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#81 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#76 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing