We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Character”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #87 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
lake county
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort and Character”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Queen Anne is a lovely hotel with wonderful character. I love the lobby! Several fireplaces, alcoves, nooks, Victorian period furniture. I happily nestled in one of the couches with my book after a day of sightseeing, sipping tea and munching on the complimentary cookies. Although in a quiet neighborhood, the location is convenient to downtown by public transportation and is just blocks away from the Japan Center, good restaurants, and the movies. The staff is friendly and helpful; off-street parking is available; and the room we had was spacious and comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank You BunnyToes, Glad the Queen Anne became your cozy place
to relax after a big day in the City. The Parlor is a wonderful space to
read in. We also keep a selection of books for our guests to have or exchange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    258
    85
    26
    15
See reviews for
112
317
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My adult children and I vacationed in San Francisco in January, 2014. I selected this hotel for three reasons: safety, location, and price. I wasn't disappointed. The area feels safe. It's nice they close the hotel at 11pm and you have to ring a bell for access. The atmosphere is very homey. My daughter commented it was the only hotel that she felt comfortable and "at home". It is easy to access all transportation lines. The breakfast is adequate. Nice place. We would stay here again.
My only complaint is the bed and pillow. I think both came with the hotel from the 1800's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are very honoured to receive your review RuthAnn...
Even though every detail was not perfect you still felt we should
have 5 stars/circles! That means a lot to us. Thank you.
New pillows are routinely coming in so we'll check on that and
the beds too. The mattresses are new but the 'antique' head boards
in some rooms might create the feeling that they are older. We wish
to know that you slept in comfort as a main concern. Hope to host
your stay again when you return to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Täby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a great place to celebrate Christmas! Not far from Union Square we found this genuine place that matches a good Christmas. As far away from your ordinary American motell as possible. Extra plus for complimentary sherry and cookies every afternoon.

Room Tip: If you are more then two people, try their family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you Anna, We love to hear that our guests enjoy that we are
a unique accommodation... Far from cookie cutter chain hotel style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Selected this hotel based on the proximity to places we wanted to see. Beware--distances are deceiving and mostly vertical. Room was comfy. Breakfast was good, but after 5 of them we'd have appreciated more variety. Staff very friendly. Wife complained of odors that I never detected. They have promoted a ghost story, but it is of the Caspar nonthreatening variety and was not in evidence. Our breakfast partners were overwhelmingly German which was fine. Suggests that is where their marketing is focused. One older couple formerly from the area told us they come to the Queen Anne quarterly for weekend stays and that it is the best and most reasonable in the area. I would certainly come back.

Room Tip: avoid the clunky old elevator by staying on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

So many differing reviews. Stayed here two nights. The location (for what I needed ) was excellent. Easy to make reservations. Great staff, especially Matt. Old Victorian hotel, and I am not a Victorian fan. But saw the pics and thought I would give it a try and am glad I did. Got an early flight and got in before check in (3:00). They helped and made sure I got a freshly cleaned room and got in early. Checked out all the decorations, near Christmas and Victorian is always over the top. This is an older hotel, great creaky elevator, loads of character. My room had a huge comfy bed, ornately carved. Lots of decorative pillows, great view to Lafayette Park out of my 4th floor room. Immaculate bathroom, looked brand new. Comfy sheets and pillows. Coffee maker and fridge (neither of which I used). There is a computer in the lobby that was available for guests, I printed out my boarding passes there. Matt was VERY accommodating, helped me reserve my shuttle back to SFO ($16 as opposed to a $50 cab ride..I even got to the airport on time even with all the pick ups). I can't find anything negative to say other than the clock read out in army time which I guess is no big deal with cell phones, and the windows could be left open but no screens, but I didn't need to have them open during this time of year. Matt offered a wake up call (not needed, again used my cell phone). The complimentary breakfast was excellent...waffle maker, fruit, bagels and muffins, juices, cereals, sausages. More than enough to get you started for the day. They have sherry & cookies in the early evening as well but I was out during these times. Also left at 5:15 a,m. and whomever was at the desk was helpful as well. No amenities to speak of (gyms or pools) but the staff was great! The price was ok, comparable for any room in San Francisco which are all expensive. I have NO COMPLAINTS at all with this hotel and will book there again on my next SF visit.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, looking out towards Lafayette Park. Fun street to look out over...pigeons co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you Laurel. We hope to see you back again soon and will make sure Matt knows he's appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

After reading reviews online the 5 star glowing reviews and the 1 star review it caused me to choose the Queen Anne out of all the choices there are in San Francisco . It was fun , colorful , over the top Victorian . The guests all seemed to be enjoying themselves . We greeted each other on the emmense staircase. The staff WAS friendly and helpful . I called after my flight was very delayed . " No problem" !! When I arrived at midnight a lovely man showed my to the teas and coffee and offered me a snack . My room was large . I had a suite but with an online coupon it was less than the single room . This is not a fancy new hotel . Its a fun lovely old hotel . Yes there may be a stain here or there on the rug but the important stuff like clean bedding and fluffy towels were 5 star .The bathroom was spotless and there seemed to be someone always quietly dusting all the antique furniture . I appreciated the fact that floors werent being vacuumed at 8 am outside my door. I have traveled many places . This hotel ( even tho Mr 1 Star said it was haunted) made me feel safe and at home . Ill admit I went from my fourth floor room down the huge staircases to the first floor in my sock feet to get a cup of herbel tea. I felt safe . My only tiny wish ....more choices for breakfast or more healthier .... Stay . Have fun . Giggle at the over the top red drapes !!! Maybe listen for the famous Ghost . She knew I needed my rest so all was quiet.

Room Tip: Look for deals on line for suites ! Fourth floor was very quiet but you can hear the soft cooing of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosnowbird185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you Solo Traveler. Glad you enjoyed yourself and also noticed that our guests are very happy and enjoying themselves. For a small hotel we really have a very spacious and ornate Parlor and Salon. Plus our Library is a lovely place to sit by a fireplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm sure this hotel has its fans but I wasn't one of them. Probably my error for not doing more research; it is close to nothing and the decor wasn't what I was looking for, tired and overdone. Staff friendly enough but I chose poorly. If there was AC in the room then I couldn't find it. Sitting room/parlor might be nice for some but not for me.

Room Tip: Can't say, we didn't get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCDevsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Sorry the Queen Anne was not your cup of tea! Victorians would put just about anything of value or artistic beauty in their homes. If they obtained a shrunken head... you guessed it... they would put it in there! Since, to date, we have no shrunken heads, we must take issue with you that the Queen Anne's decor is overdone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Kimpton Buchanan
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
433 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Phoenix Hotel SF
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing