We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Victorian Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #84 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Victorian Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We got married last week after 19 years of being together. We live in San Francisco and decided to keep everything simple... a small intimate wedding at City Hall, which is an elegant building, and to vacation in our own city. After reading reviews, we decided on the Queen Anne Hotel. From the time I called to make the reservation, to the time we checked out, every single person on their staff was accommodating and gracious. Walking into the lobby was like stepping back in time. When we walked into our room, the King Canopy with Fireplace, both of us said "Wow"! It was so elegant and so perfect. Beautiful antiques. We could even ask for another log for the fireplace. Luxurious bed and bedding. We were just a short walk to Japantown where we got massages and came back to the sherry and cookies served in the parlor. The next morning the continental breakfast was great. I like the make-it-yourself waffles, you can't go wrong! Sausages, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, milk, pastries, yogurt, tea, coffee... even the woman who set out all the food was all smiles. The Queen Anne was perfect for us. Not huge, not downtown in all the noise and the friendliest staff I've ever met. (For out-of-towners, there are bus lines & cable cars lines very close to the hotel). It was a very nice surprise to be so happy in my own City. I travel out of the state and out of the country whenever I gather up enough funds. The Queen Anne surpassed my expectations. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you drive, be sure to pay to park in their parking lot. Meter maids are relentless and the ticket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SifusWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for a stellar and thorough review. Please don't wait another 19 years to stay again. Queen Anne Hotel loves to be the host for honeymoons and second honeymoons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    257
    82
    24
    15
See reviews for
106
311
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Queen Anne hotel is located between Japan Town and Pacific Heights in a relatively quiet area. It's a couple of blocks south of the California St. Cable Car line, which we took frequently to access the City's popular attractions (I recommend getting the $14 day pass for unlimited rides). The room had two beds and was pretty big. The only issue was a lack of a ceiling fan or free-standing fan. This particular weekend in October had 90 degree weather! Parking is available across the street. I think it was $30 a day, though I'm not sure. Best to call. The lobby is elegant and inviting. The breakfast is sufficient to get the day started. Also, ghost tours depart from the hotel at 7 pm, Wednesday through Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank You Katie, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd just like to mention that parking is only $19.95 overnight and free electric fans are available by request especially during the handfull of days in the fall when the fog retreats and tempertures rise. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Poor Breakfast . In the room I couldn't find a furniture without any demage, all of them where with scratches the same with the doors, in the bed from the 8 decorative pillows jus 2 were real pillows and they were very bad quality. We were misled by the staff advise :(. Finally the location is horrible. We where not close to anything .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mariana, Sorry to hear you were disappointed. It's our hope that you let our front desk or a manager know about any specific damage to furniture, pillow issues, etc. We want to make repairs and find ways to make our guests comfortable, often times, right away. If our staff misled you in some way, we sincerely apologize and regret any error or inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Since I always love to stay at haunted hotels I googled a haunted hotel up in San Fransisco for the Halloween weekend and just to get out of town and have a bit of a laugh with my friend. So we get there after reading numerous articles on how it's really haunted especially if you get suite #410, lucky that suite was available that Saturday night. The hotel it's self is very run down, it's defiantly very Victorian and I feel that the owners have just let it run down that way to give it that "haunted feel." Well we felt nothing was haunting that place apart from dust bunnies that night. The suite it's self was just as you would imagine very Victorian, which I love but it just didn't do anything for us at all. It was pretty noisy, the walls are thin and you can here everything in the next room. The bathroom was a nice size, although the toilet had no pressure and would get backed up very quickly. The ghosts, well, like I said we felt no hairs standing up on our necks. Kids running up and down the 4th floor, and it is the 4th floor that is supposed the be haunted. They do have a coffee maker in your room but there is no creamers or any milk in the fridge. However, they do serve free coffee and tea down in the lobby all day with fresh milk. The continental breakfast was terrible. Cut up pieces of pastries from Costco. They had one waffle maker for god knows how many guests to use. They served some sort of microwaved patty sausage along with cold hard boiled eggs...WTF. The wifi was a joke, but they did have a computer down stairs for the guests to use. They did have a first come first serve parking lot across the road which was nice, but they charged an additional $20 per day for that, and trying to get out of it was a nightmare, even with a small sports car. I read in some other peoples reviews that they had the same experience, and you can either love or hate this hotel. It actually reminded me of the "Monterey Hotel" down town Monterey, old and not at all haunted. I'm sure you're dieting to know the cost of our stay, not cheap at all...total cost $353.20. This reflects the room tax and the $20 parking fee. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you want a Victorian experience as that's all you'll get.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Miss Mary Lake, of the former namesake girl's finishing school, is a gentle and friendly spirit, easily missed sometimes, clearly present other times. Looks like your visit was during a busy convention time when rates are higher. Parking is guaranteed. Our continental breakfast has expanded quite a ways over the past years. We receive fresh bagles daily from a local bakery. A 2nd DIY waffle maker is being added by popular demand. And we'll be adding more to our breakfast in the coming weeks. Hope you'll come back in time and see how what we've done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in San Francisco for a friend's wedding, and we wanted to stay someplace with more character than the sterile nature of the major hotels. This is a very elegant but comfortable victorian hotel. We were in room 411, on the top floor. It was large and well appointed with attractive period-style furniture. The beds were very comfortable. The windows open so if it is a bit warm, one can get a cool breeze. The ground floor has beautiful sitting areas, a gas fireplace, and they provide sherry and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast provided is adequate, not over the top, but quite satisfactory. The hotel personnel were very attentive, friendly and helpful. A tip for runners: run from the hotel down Laguna Street to Fell Street, then up to Golden Gate Park. Take a loop through the park then back. Challenging hills await you. Another tip: the bodega across Octavia Street is full of great foods, beer and wine, and the proprietor is very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ManCGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank yoku ManCGo! Love your running tips too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Queen Anne was EXCELLENT!!! From the free car service, the GREAT staff, tasty breakfast, and the very nice room! Breakfast was served everyday and there was always plenty. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledge about the area, where to eat, how to get there using public transportation or their car service. I will definitely recommend staying here if you are in the San Francisco area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vicel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. You made our day! It really gives travellers an early idea of the great experience they can have here at the Queen Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is such a charming place and with such a welcoming front desk that it is hard to be too harsh about a review. However, a couple of sore points have to be mentioned.
It is an old building and with limited temperature control so if it is very warm (as it was in SF this past week) you need to leave a window open and the result is a VERY loud room with street noises from early am thru late pm.
In addition, housekeeping is a little inconsistent, sometimes knocking early morning and other times not showing up until later afternoon and it seemed to us that a vacuum was always going somewhere adding to the noise problem
Morning coffee and afternoon sherry were delightful in the beautiful parlor and we loved our suite (although the bathroom door lock trapped both of us temporarily at different times) but this is a pricey location and the noise factor might be an issue for the light sleeper

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonesfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Front Office Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We're glad to hear your were charmed by our front desk staff. Yes, the 10 days where it actually does get warm in San Francisco are all but over now... But if you visit at the same time every year we do have fans for those rare few days when the fog abates. Our lovely housekeepers are working hard to make everything clean and spiffy. Kindly note that they will prioritize service to your room for a specific time if you notify the front desk. Otherwise their first priority is to prepare rooms for new arrivals. We do send our sincere regrets for the sticky door lock. Our maintenance person will definitely take care of that. Please come back and let us know how you think things are going another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#25 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing