We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our go-to hotel for SF visits” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our go-to hotel for SF visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been going here several times a year for 10 years now. Love it. Centrally located in SF, though not near main attractions except Japantown. But near in SF is relative. SF is very small as cities go, and from here you can get nearly anywhere in SF in 15 minutes. Rooms are nicely decorated in Victorian style, very comfortable and nearly all are spacious. Price is reasonable for SF (if you are visiting the UCSF med center, tell the hotel and you will get the med center discount). Best of all, parking is inexpensive by SF standards, about $17/night where as most hotels in SF charge 35-60 per night. Factor that into the cost. Breakfast is plain but free--cereals hot and cold, boiled eggs and sausage, lots of pastries and breads, make your own waffles, juices. We occasionally try other places, and always end up coming back here for a good combination of comfort and value.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the east side--no view, a bit darker, but extremely quiet. Rooms on west and sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    255
    81
    24
    15
See reviews for
107
304
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a Victorian style property. Unfortunately while we were there they were remodeling the outside and scaffolding was up around the hotel, so we really couldn’t see the beauty.

I had emailed before we arrived asking for an early checkin, and we were allowed to do that. We really appreciated this. The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The hotel was very clean. There were some things that were pretty worn out in our room though (i.e. vanity in the bathroom had some wood that was pretty worn). The bed was ok, the pillows were not the best though.

The breakfast is fairly basic. Toast, bagels, muffins, waffle station, cereal, etc.

This was a pretty good location. We used mass transit for our entire trip and we were able to catch the buses very nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunAndBeachSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our first trip to San Fran. The room was nice in size. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. Overall the room was fine. It was dark and not as clean as I would like. Breakfast was included and was very poor in quality and quantity. I would look for another place to stay on a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night in a Victorian Queen room at the Queen Anne. The hotel is at this date in the middle of a sprucing up--when we arrived they were painting the outside on the street side--something you might want to consider if you are going to this hotel in the next month or so. We had asked in advance for a quiet room after reading other reviews here, and found that ours was WONDERFULLY quiet.

Overall, this is an old hotel, but nicely kept up. I would imagine an upgrade of the interior is also planned as there are some chips in the paint on door frames, etc. but those are all minor details. I also hope they are planning on replacing mattresses soon as ours seemed old.

Service was great--front desk gal was very helpful and friendly. I'll stay here again sometime, no problem. Next time, however, I think we'll upgrade to one of the fireplace rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I just arrived home yesterday after staying at the Queen Anne for a week, we were on our honeymoon/first year wedding anniversary (we didnt take a honeymoon right after we got married ) ! We loved SanFran and we LOVED The Queen Anne ! Not your "normal" Hotel .It was decorated for Christmas and It looked wonderful ! The beds were comfy , the room was clean , ya they are doing some renos outside but it didnt bother us at all ! The staff were all great ! VERY helpful and we got to know them very well !It is in the perfect area ,felt very safe ! My husband and I bought a MUNI pass to explore the city , it was well worth the money and it helped us see a lot! There is a little store right across the street that was helpful for snacks and drinks etc.We had such a great time in SanFran and at the Queen Anne we said every 10 years on our anniversary we will be back and will stay at the Queen Anne ! We have been home for a less than a day and we already miss both !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Me and my wife spent one week in the city of San Francisco, what a beautiful city! We booked the Queen Anne hotel and it was as beautiful as the city! Our room was more than big enough, the staff went beyond and above to help us while we played tourists. The cookie and sherry in the PM was a nice touch sitting by one of their fireplaces. This Victorian style hotel is a gem, located perfectly to access any of the tourist things to do. The complimentary breakfast was great too. We highly reccommend The Queen Anne hotel to anyone who is coming to San Francisco! Laura and Joey will make sure your stay is a good one. Thanks Queen Anne Hotel and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location: The location was really nice and quiet. It felt safe. There wasn't really any stores or restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but it was possible to walk to some in about 10-15 minutes.

Rooms: The room was really nice and the bed was great. Big and confortable.

Staff: The estonian girl who served morning breakfast was fantastic. She was very helpful and accomodating. The rest of the staff varied between lazy and rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilde_Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow! You are tough but generous critic. The most important thing; you had a good sleep in a on a very comfortable bed in nice room. This is the best news. However, you found all but one of our staff to be either lazy or rude. Very very sorry you felt this way as we all work hard to create a great guest experience. In the end, you benevolently granted us 4 out of 5 stars so you are indeed a kind soul. Hope to see you again sometime and impress you with our best service...worthy of 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Kimpton Buchanan
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#76 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing