We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice room, quiet location, average staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #83 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice room, quiet location, average staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location: The location was really nice and quiet. It felt safe. There wasn't really any stores or restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but it was possible to walk to some in about 10-15 minutes.

Rooms: The room was really nice and the bed was great. Big and confortable.

Staff: The estonian girl who served morning breakfast was fantastic. She was very helpful and accomodating. The rest of the staff varied between lazy and rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilde_Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow! You are tough but generous critic. The most important thing; you had a good sleep in a on a very comfortable bed in nice room. This is the best news. However, you found all but one of our staff to be either lazy or rude. Very very sorry you felt this way as we all work hard to create a great guest experience. In the end, you benevolently granted us 4 out of 5 stars so you are indeed a kind soul. Hope to see you again sometime and impress you with our best service...worthy of 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    252
    79
    25
    15
See reviews for
103
301
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The place is being renovated. They were setting up for Christmas first thing in the morning on 11-12-12 when we went for breakfast. Could not enjoy the other rooms provided for guest comfort. YOU have to bring your ice bucket to the front desk where they get it for you. Parking is LIMITED, good luck getting a spot and when you get a spot and pay $20.00 for it your afraid to leave because it is NOT reserved for you. If you leave and come back and the parking spot is gone, too bad for you. The rooms also smell very musty, not like antiques. Chairs in room so uncomfortable Go some where else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Please forgive our elves! They have to install the holiday decorations in the morning time due to all the activities happening in the latter part of the day. And then we have more elves working their magic on the exterior. Weather permitting, they will have us looking like NEW again very soon. Parking is guaranteed, one vehicle per guestroom. Our front desk will assist you to find avilable parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights when visiting SF. Rooms were pretty large, bit tired but completely unique in their style. Much better than staying in a typically sterile room which you get from most hotels. Reasonably priced given the location and city it is in. Staff were friendly enough. Little shop across the road good for snacks. Breakfast was simple but good and coffee and tea always available for guests. Good place to base yourself from if visiting SF.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The ambiance felt a little like being in Disneyworld--they really took effort into making things look "Victorian." If you're not into that decor, then avoid this place. But if you're up for some kitshy charm, this place is fun.
It was very convenient to Japantown and a reasonable walk to Union Square.
The breakfast was ok. The room we stayed in was huge and nicely furnished. And parking was available (if pricey). Most of the staff people we met were very nice and super helpful, though one of the front-desk-ers was a bit surly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here when city was sold out for the Nike Women's Marathon so the room was a bit expensive ($250/night) That being said, the hotel is in a safe, quiet neighborhood so we, my Mom and Aunt (both in their 70s), were comfortable walking from place to place. Just about everwhere we drove, (Fishermans' Wharf, Ghirardelli, Union Square, Golden Gate Bridge) was 2 miles away so the location is fairly central. Inside, take a quaint step back to the Victorian Era in decor and amenities. The large downstairs sitting room is comfortable and charming with period appropriate furniture and large fireplaces where you can sit and enjoy the afternoon sherry and cookies, or just enjoy the anytime quiet with a cup of coffee or tea. The two queen bed room was comfortable and clean with a good size TV and clothes armour - Free Wifi too.The room had two large windows to open for a nice breeze but don't stay here expecting a nice view.

Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make you feel like a welcome guest. The few things that made this a '4' rather than '5' were that the bathroom, while clean, could be updated, the lack of city views, and the breakfast was modest and never changed - although the 'make your own waffles' were a big hit.

Bottom Line - I would love to stay here again (when the rates are lower) because it was more like visiting a home than staying in an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you're looking for a Victorian experience in SFO, then this is a consideration. The circa 1880 building shows some age, and the could spend a few $$ on places like the elevator interior. The rooms are huge, comfortable and a good value in the $230-$250 range. The morning breakfast is just so-so, and we ate elsewhere. LOTS of authentic Victorian furniture in the halls, parlors and lobby. Just a couple of blocks to great bars, restaurants and shops along Fillmore Street. Easy off street parking. A funky convenience store just across the street is perfect for snacks for your stay. GREAT location and easy to get to the "must see" activities in San Francisco.

Room Tip: It's an 1880s building - not very soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was late night, and my husband and I were weary from a trip to Napa Valley. It was Thanksgiving, and most hotels were booked. We are from Mississippi, and we were just winging it. Finally, we found solace in this hotel. We were welcomed with open arms. The sherry had been put away, but it was taken back out, just for me. Our room was antique and smelled a little antiquish, but love that. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of pigeons outside our window. For us, that was really neat. The Christmas decorations were already out, giving the place a really beautiful atmosphere. I was able to get hot tea and hot chocolate late in the night. The breakfast was just an average continental-type breakfast, but we loved it. I will always stay here.

Room Tip: I would check the website. We just had to take what was left, which was only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
The Kimpton Buchanan
#43 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter St, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing