We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably convenient, well-appointed room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Anne Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Anne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Reasonably convenient, well-appointed room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The ambiance felt a little like being in Disneyworld--they really took effort into making things look "Victorian." If you're not into that decor, then avoid this place. But if you're up for some kitshy charm, this place is fun.
It was very convenient to Japantown and a reasonable walk to Union Square.
The breakfast was ok. The room we stayed in was huge and nicely furnished. And parking was available (if pricey). Most of the staff people we met were very nice and super helpful, though one of the front-desk-ers was a bit surly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    237
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
284
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here when city was sold out for the Nike Women's Marathon so the room was a bit expensive ($250/night) That being said, the hotel is in a safe, quiet neighborhood so we, my Mom and Aunt (both in their 70s), were comfortable walking from place to place. Just about everwhere we drove, (Fishermans' Wharf, Ghirardelli, Union Square, Golden Gate Bridge) was 2 miles away so the location is fairly central. Inside, take a quaint step back to the Victorian Era in decor and amenities. The large downstairs sitting room is comfortable and charming with period appropriate furniture and large fireplaces where you can sit and enjoy the afternoon sherry and cookies, or just enjoy the anytime quiet with a cup of coffee or tea. The two queen bed room was comfortable and clean with a good size TV and clothes armour - Free Wifi too.The room had two large windows to open for a nice breeze but don't stay here expecting a nice view.

Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make you feel like a welcome guest. The few things that made this a '4' rather than '5' were that the bathroom, while clean, could be updated, the lack of city views, and the breakfast was modest and never changed - although the 'make your own waffles' were a big hit.

Bottom Line - I would love to stay here again (when the rates are lower) because it was more like visiting a home than staying in an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you're looking for a Victorian experience in SFO, then this is a consideration. The circa 1880 building shows some age, and the could spend a few $$ on places like the elevator interior. The rooms are huge, comfortable and a good value in the $230-$250 range. The morning breakfast is just so-so, and we ate elsewhere. LOTS of authentic Victorian furniture in the halls, parlors and lobby. Just a couple of blocks to great bars, restaurants and shops along Fillmore Street. Easy off street parking. A funky convenience store just across the street is perfect for snacks for your stay. GREAT location and easy to get to the "must see" activities in San Francisco.

Room Tip: It's an 1880s building - not very soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was late night, and my husband and I were weary from a trip to Napa Valley. It was Thanksgiving, and most hotels were booked. We are from Mississippi, and we were just winging it. Finally, we found solace in this hotel. We were welcomed with open arms. The sherry had been put away, but it was taken back out, just for me. Our room was antique and smelled a little antiquish, but love that. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of pigeons outside our window. For us, that was really neat. The Christmas decorations were already out, giving the place a really beautiful atmosphere. I was able to get hot tea and hot chocolate late in the night. The breakfast was just an average continental-type breakfast, but we loved it. I will always stay here.

Room Tip: I would check the website. We just had to take what was left, which was only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Room was alright and breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. Location is relatively good, far enough from Tenderloin area to seem safe. However, too many other choices around San Francisco to settle Found it over-rated. Should be just average..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family and I stayed here in August - paid over $1,000 for 2 rooms for 2 nights after booking it a month before we arrived. Seems San Francisco was busy that week so we had little choice. we stayed at several hotels across the states in Grand Canyon, LA, Vegas, mammoth lakes, Yosemite and Phoenix and the queen Anne was the most expensive by miles and the worst of all rooms. I have heard of shabby chique but this was just shabby in my opinion. For that amount of money it was not worth it. The cookies and sherry don't make up for the noisy clunky lift that seems to shake the whole hotel and the average rooms. Our shower had a sloping roof and so we had so bend our knees to stand in it and I am only 5'10". I don't get claustrophobia normally but this seemed to bring it on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's nothing wrong with sherry and cookies in the afternoon. This is a very friendly hotel. It's comfortable, in a great neighborhood and is full of character which you'd expect in a city like San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#81 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#85 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#76 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing