We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business trip to San Francisco”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #2 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“business trip to San Francisco”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great experience staying at Parker Guest House--from well maintained grounds to a clean room. Staff was courteous. Parker's patio and gardens are really beautiful and promotes relaxation. Also, you can't beat the neighborhood. Close to Dolores park and all the "hip" places in the Mission. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    143
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
85
437
171
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This location was perfect for our stay! The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional. I don't think I've ever had a better time during our stay. Clean, beautiful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious in the main house, and the wine social in the evening was just the icing on the cake. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. We will definitely go back. I wish it was tomorrow!

Room Tip: When you open your windows, make sure you close them before you leave. We had a pigeon visit us. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This place is really a small boutique hotel with every attention to detail. The rooms are on the smaller size but the attentive and friendly staff and amenities soon make up for that. A light breakfast was included, and the evening wine social was great for meeting and talking to other visitors. Public transport was very close or it was a short walk up to the Castro area or to Market St. The garden was beautiful and a peaceful place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I'm not a big fan of b&b's as I often do feel I'd prefer to be more anonymous and less " involved" with my stay. However the folks here made us feel most comfortable and welcome and the foyer is warm and inviting as is the rooms themselves, which are pretty, simple and comfy.
Word of warning, the rooms do not have AC or screens and can get a little stuffy , so you may want to open them to get some air in, but a lower level room is not ideal for a wide open unlocked window! Still, it was a great stay a bit away from the typical " tourist" stuff, giving it a true homey, local feel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnormfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went for a deluxe queen room and got a nice one overlooking the garden. Not huge but enough space to manage. Good large bathroom.

Service was very good and very friendly although for a small place they did seem to have someone different on almost everyday. The only downside was that they they could spend a bit more effort on cleaning. The towels were changed every day but the toilet and bathroom floor were not cleaned well. I'd still recommend the place though as the everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the Muni noise on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The garden and rooms are lovely, the other guests and staff are fun and welcoming. A great central location, easy to get to and from. Best chocolates ever in the rooms! Great setup for super-early risers - easy access to yummy fruit, cereal and and TOP-NOTCH coffee as early as you want.

Green Features: Green practices are good, same in practice as in ads.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I wish it cost just a little less but the Parker House is a gem. I stayed for 5 nights in late March. The owners' and staff members' commitments to the guests' comforts was exceptional. They have thought of many little touches: an urn of umbrellas set outside the front door on rainy days, for example.
Both buildings feature pleasant public rooms with seating areas where coffee and tea are available. Furnishings of the guest rooms and public rooms is attractive. The most memorable spaces are the patio and gardens between the two buildings, with three separate seating areas.
Continental breakfast was thoughtfully prepared, with cereals and oatmeal, yogurts, and assorted breads and muffins. I'd love to see hard-boiled eggs instead of sweets and breads, myself, but that was a minor matter.
I was visiting my daughter and we enjoyed spending time at the Parker rather than her house.

Room Tip: It is on a trolly line so you wouldn't want a room on the street but I think there are only two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Annima_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing