We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from a glorious week in San Francisco, made even more memorable by the delightful stay at the Parker Guest House. The staff could not have been more friendly and hospitable. As I mentioned more than once - I truly felt I was a guest in the home of friends. The location was great: an easy walk to BART and MUNI stations and a bus line right on Church Street. The neighborhood is full of little cafes, shops and restaurants, while the rest of San Francisco is easily accessible. The guest house is an urban oasis, with lots of outdoor seating areas and garden space. Inside is equally as charming from the sunny breakfast porch to the cozy fireplaced living room, complete with brandy and games. Guest rooms are in one of 2 buildings - both with common space and 24/7 coffee and tea. Other perks were the sumptuous breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit and the afternoon wine and nibbles. The atmosphere of the PGH allows for friendly conversation among guests, while still feeling like you aren't vacationing with them all! There is no doubt that we will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javakwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 987 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We only had 3 nights at the Parker, but we found it to be an exceptionally friendly place. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with anything we asked.
The room was quiet, warm and very clean, and the bed was big and comfy.
It rained all the time we stayed, but they lent us big umbrellas for the whole time. Breakfast was good, although no cooked food, but plenty of cereals, breads, fruit, jams and yogurt, and of course tea and coffee or juice. They have a very lovely sitting room with a log fire burning at night that makes it a great place to sit and talk to other residents. The free excellent quality brandy helps break down a few barriers!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My friends were getting married and booked several rooms at the Parker for the out of town guests. The comfortable and relaxed ambience, the beautiful gardens, and the friendly staff made us feel like we were in a large family estate and made the weekend more memorable by providing comfortable areas for everyone in our party to hang out and get to know each other. The gardens and outdoor spaces were tranquil oasis for reading, dozing, or quiet talks.
My room was in the new(er) house; the room was a nice size with a small closet and armoire, the queen bed was comfortable, nice linen. The property is a block away from Dolores park, a couple of blocks away from the Mission Dolores Basilica, and a few blocks away from the Castro. The J Church muni stops half a block away. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Every one of the staff members I met was professional and helpful. Scott was the main staff member I interacted with; he was the epitome of the traditional friendly inn-keeper: very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The guest house seems to attract quite a number of "regulars" from all over the country who come back time after time. Everyone I met was friendly and added to the family-feel. One could be as social or anti-social as one wanted to be by mingling with the other guests or just picking a quiet corner of the garden to read alone.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the property, away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstonturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Another great stay at this lovely guest house. With 21 well-appointed rooms I'd call it more of a boutique hotel. The two houses themselves are really lovely, and more lovely are the caring and charming staff. The breakfast is very nice and served in a beautiful sun room. Many public transport options are very close by. Two things to know: 1) Each room is different in terms of size and layout, so you might inquire about the details when you book. 2) There are stairs to get into to houses and, depending on the location of your room, to get to your room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Parker Guest House - the last was nearly 15 years ago!
It's changed and grown since our last visit but thankfully it's retained its traditional charm and friendly atmosphere.
The rooms are comfortably furnished and whilst not über modern, they're pleasantly decorated.
A lovely retreat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Iain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As beer tourists seeking to spend time at Monk's Kettle & Toronado, the Parker Guest house has an awesome location in Mission District. It's also right down the street from Tartine Bakery! Also easy to get to Bart to get downtown if you have more traditional tourist desires.
The rooms were adorable and the late check in was a fairly simple process. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a fabulous weekend we had at the Parker Guest House!

The hospitality and the warmth was evident upon stepping off the sidewalk. The staff could not have been more pleasant and our room was perfect!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
231 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $215 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parker Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing