We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great location, an oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parker Guest House
Ranked #2 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great location, an oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

From the personable welcome at the door, to the comfy rooms and brandy at the fireplace, this is an oasis of homey and convenient comfort in the Mission Dolores. We stayed for two nights on a short visit to the Mission, and recommend the Parker as a great home away from home. Our room had a double bed on the ground floor with a shared bath down the hall, and although it faced the street next to the front gate it was suitably quiet at night. The "J" muni tracks were right out front, but we didn't hear much more than an occasional rumble late at night since the trains run less frequent after 11 pm. One does hear the earlier risers coming down the stairs for breakfast, but it's time to get up anyway for the fine breakfast offerings of fresh muffins, scones, fruit, etc. and dining in the bright and airy sun room overlooking the garden. The staff are helpful, friendly, and the whole atmosphere makes you feel like you're staying at your grandmother's house for the weekend. We'll be back whenever we come to the Mission.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkendric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker520, Owner at Parker Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and for all of our recent guest reviews. We appreciate it very much. Thank you for your business and your feedback. We will keep on working hard to make sure you have a similar or greater experience on your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    130
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
403
158
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was simply perfect. Very nice atmosphere, beautiful house and friendly staff. The steam bath room was the perfect solution for rainy days; the wine aperitivo in the early evening was the ideal excuse to mingle with the other guests and the location of the house is great to go out in Castro area at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank migelly_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for six days and nights. From the moment I arrived and finished the tour it felt homey. Walking about SF and getting ready to call it a night it was easily referred to as "home" and not "the hotel". The guys were very friendly and were always available and knowledgeable when answering my questions.

The room was cozy, if not small. It was very quiet at night and I did not find myself wishing for ear plugs or sound machines.

The walls were rather thin -- and one could hear the goings-on in rooms near by. This totally diluted the romance of the trip, as my partner was not interested in being "heard" by any other guests.

I'm sure that in non-car societies it is close to a lot of things. Everyone kept telling us that things were close. But really -- 6-10 city blocks both ways, up hill in both directions (how is that even possible...only in SF) was not close for us.

I quickly learned that one could not believe anyone who said something was close -- it was clearly going to be a good 10-15 minute hike plus a ride on public transportation to get just about anywhere.

All in all. A good place to stay. Oh -- and breakfast was always awesome. Plenty of choices and tasty too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the queen room in the other house. It was quiet and peaceful. Paying for a bigger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We could not have asked for more friendly, helpful staff during our stay. And most of the guests were great also. We were a bit surprised how many straight couples stay at this "gay" guesthouse but there was no problem. Our room was good, but very noisy as we had the one right next to the front gate and below the reception area. But overall, the stay was VERY enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you want a reasonably priced room, the ones with a shared bath are the best option. However, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Once again my stay at the Parker Guest House was enjoyable and felt like I was staying in my own home. The staff is impeccable, the facility is spotless, and no request goes unanswered. I originally chose the Parker Guest House because of its ambiance, close proximity to the Castro and to the many restaurants that are within walking distance, and for its character and its integrity in maintaining that turn of the century feel. I love the continental breakfast in the morning and love just sitting in the many different areas of the garden to relax. The Parker Guest House is within walking distance to the Castro, however if traveling further into the city is your desire, it is also located right on the Trolley line.

When needing ground transportation to and from the airport or somewhere else in San Francisco I always use Moscone Car Service, which the Parker Guest House uses exclusively. They are extremely dependable, very friendly and prompt. On this particular trip I also used them for an evening out in San Francisco with friends. When the evening was over, both of my friends commented several times how incredibly enjoyable the limousine ride was. We dined at Michael Mina's in the Embarcadero and then was chauffeured about the city by Moscone Car service in there town car. All in all it was a delightful few days in San Francisco. I highly recommend both the Parker Guest House and Moscone Car Service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this guest house, a few blocks from the Castro. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great location, near public transportation and good restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have now stayed here twice, most recently on 11/8 for just one night. A great experience all around! Stayed in a king room (number 30, I think) that had a private entrance and patio in front overlooking Church St. The houses (there are two that comprise the complex) are very well done and maintained, and the breakfast is served in a charming sun room that we truthfully didn't want to leave. Parker Guest House is a great alternative to staying in the big hotels in downtown SF and we definitely will return.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Church St will have some noise from the MUNI and streetcar line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,415 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,807 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parker Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing