We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmore, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was just so great. The staff welcomed us warmly and helped us with parking and unload our bags. They were all very attentive. They have a wine social in the evening and complimentary simple items available for breakfast in the morning in the full kitchen. The hotel consists of two buildings side by side with a very nice private courtyard between them for hanging out or even sunbathing if the weather permits. Walking distance to so many things. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    144
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
457
172
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Parker. A faultless stay in a delightful property. Walking distance to the excellent cafés and restaurants in 17th and Valencia. The staff were always helpful and friendly and went the extra mile. I was even able to shower 7 hours after checking out to freshen up fit a long-haul international flight.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Parker Guest House can be used to set the standard for all guest houses or hotels.
Beautifully decorated with early 1900 decor, but renovated & upgraded in the important bedrooms & bathroom areas.

We had a room with an ensuite bathroom, but other rooms had shared bathroom facilities. There is a shared large kitchen area, shared lounge areas & a back sunroom area, where you can mingle with the other guests. This normally happens at the "afternoon" social, where the guest house puts out free wine & nibbles. There is also a sauna, if you want to mingle wearing only a towel. Many a good time was had by all, at these socials.

You cant fault the staff, they are all very charming, very helpful, and very accomodating.

The breakfast served is a perfectly adequate juice,cereal,fruit,bread, coffee affair.

There is a coin operated laundry a few doors up from the guest house, which is really useful for those still travelling.

The guest house is very close to "MUNI" (municipal transport) buses & trolley cars, for those trips into town.

The guest house is within walking distance to the famed gay Castro area of San Francisco, so gay men make up the bulk of the guest list.

The only negative aspect is that is is not close to the "BART" (Bay Area Rapid Transport) train link from the airport. Sure you can get from the BART onto a trolley car, but who wants to carry luggage onto a trolley car. So you may need a taxi from the airport.

In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the guest house, we had a great stay, met many interesting people & I would whole heartedly recommend the "Parker Guest House" to others.

Room Tip: The single rooms, with shared bathroom facilities, in the original guest house, are adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelYfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Could not have picked a better spot for our stay in sf. Great location, adorable interiors, and fabulous service! We were able to hit the best shopping and restaurants -- Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiesdoghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a late arrival on Friday night and was met by Scott at the front gate and he was most welcoming. After a brief tour of the property he showed us to our room which was in the 2nd house on the ground floor. ( Luckily as we had been travelling for a month and suitcases were heavy and Scott was helping us with them getting up the stairs).
The room was spacious and managed to fit a trundle bed for when my cousin joined us for the last 2 nights of our stay. The breakfast was great and plenty to choose form and was always being replenished for those coming to breakfast at little later in the morning. The 2nd house also has a kitchen in which you can make your own tea/ coffee or take a tray for breakfast and have there if there is no room in the main house.
The location was great and easy to get downtown on the F BRAT straight up Church street to Market st. A few blocks either side had plenty of restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed the Castro district and the history of the Gay community visiting the museum and the Harvey Milk sights.
The Parker was recommend to us by our travel agent and we will be advising her to recommend all clients visiting San Fransico should be staying at the Parker.
We thank all staff for a great stay ( especially Scott)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarnya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the front door we felt welcomed. The guest house was beautiful and quant. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and provided mordern amentities that are expected. The breakfast was amazing! Fresh and delicious. The location was fair but a bit disconnected from the airport subway route. It was close to the street car which takes you down to the wharf and union square. The Castro district was great--good night life closeby but the neighborhood felt safe. Such a great stay and perfect for us while we were on our honeymoon! More than we'd normally pay for accomm but considering the special occasion it seemed worth the splurge. It felt like we saw value returned to us with every dollar spent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eklav817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Parker Guest House is truly a beautiful place to stay. The location is amazing, the building/architecture are wonderfully maintained, and the staff are extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful (particularly Scott who was always attentive to guest's needs). They serve a delicious continental breakfast every morning, which you can take in the gorgeous breakfast/sun room. They also serve wine and cheese every evening. The guest house has a wealth of common space available to the traveler. In addition to the breakfast room and the huge kitchen with dining table, there is a beautiful living room with a baby grand piano and fire place, which is nice on a chilly evening. Lastly, there is a lovely back garden and a couple of decks/verandas to sit out on if the weather holds....it is also just a block from Delores Park, maybe 5 blocks from the Castro, and has a train line just on the corner. This did not bother me at all even though I had a front facing room, but I am from NYC where it is regularly loud. If this is a concern, then simply ask for one of the many back facing rooms that the house has. I can't say how wonderful my experience was, and would highly recommend it to anyone going to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jer2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing