We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Parker Guest House”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Parker Guest House”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Yet again we had another great stay at Parker Guest House. As always the staff are well helpful and friendly and make you feel part of the Parker Guest House family….continental breakfast is always fresh and plentiful. The place itself is very well kept and beds are very comfy as well as an awesome location. I don’t think you would get a better place to stay in San Fran. Our only let down was the size of the King Room ( I think was room 32 ) we stayed in on our last 3 day stay at the end of our trip which was rather small and cramped with two of us and two suitcases and two carrybags but very clean and nicely decorated and a good bathroom. The other King rooms we have stayed previously have been fantastic…. I think this room should be made a queen. Wine with the other Guest early evening is always fun and the magic and atmosphere of this B and B is something very special indeed. Can’t wait to come back….I want to give this stay a 4 because of the small king room but cannot do it as we love this place so much so can only be a 5 ...thanks to all the staff for making our stay another special one to remember ...Costa and Michael

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfoundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    143
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
89
442
172
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed three nights here in the 'Economy Queen with Semi-Private Bath'.

Upsides.

Very friendly and accommodating staff - it really helps make the place. Also knowledgeable about SFand especially the local area. We were guided to a great local restaurant.

Breakfast. Superb. An excellent continental breakfast was laid on with cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads and bagels. A great way to start the day!

Location. Hop a J-line tram and you're at the Embarcadero in no time. Walk ten minutes and you're in Castro. How good is that?

Downsides.

The room. Okay, there's probably more than one room of this type but our room was not like the photograph shown on the web site (see attached photos). There was no sitting chair for one and no bedside table on one side of the bed. Small things that mean a great deal when you're travelling. For two adults with travel bags the room size was inadequate - we kept bumping in to each other and having to step over and around things. The inclusion of a pine dresser in the wardrobe was unnecessary. We could have stowed our bags there to save space.

The noise. We'd also come prepared for noise based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The trams were frequent and not just loud but sent vibrations through the wall. Our room was right next to the entry gate. Nobody knew how to close that gate quietly. And our room was under the public area lounge where we were 'serenaded' with piano music until 9:30pm one night. Do not stay in this room if you are in any way a light sleeper.

Overall we liked this place but, the noise and cramped room size were off-putting.

Room Tip: Street level rooms very noisy. We had Room 20 - Room 21 would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst_Cat_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here recently while participating in the Bay to Breakers race in May, 2012. Loved the first-floor room and the privacy of its location. Really nice people at the desk, extremely helpful. Lovely gardens and terrace. The location is fantastic; I loved being able to walk out and catch the streetcar! Restaurants nearby are unique and really good (that pie place could be lethal!) Breakfast was good, not life-changing, and no red wine at a 'wine social' seemed a bit strange (people tend to spill it...) I would strongly recommend staying here, but plan in advance, as there is often a 3-night minimum at busy times. We are coming back in October, and Scott kindly recommended another guesthouse nearby--a classy, considerate recommendation typical of the service we received here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We adore the Parker Guest House having just completed our second (by no means our last) stay. The location is is fabulous, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable and very very clean. The gardens are tranquil and well cared for. Breakfasts are a treat with fresh fruit and yoghurt and pastries and bagels and good coffee and teas, and all the nice people you could ever wish to meet in a light sunny room overlooking the garden. The staff are warm, friendly, and very helpful while remaining personable and real---so not the "have a nice day" treatment of big hotels. It really is like having a stylish down to earth friend in the city who invites you to stay.

We love it so much and cannot wait to go stay for a third time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This well run guest house is convenient for those wanting to explore the Castro and Mission neighbourhoods. It combines old world charm with very friendly staff (special thanks to Scott who could not have been more hospitable). The breakfast and afternoon wine social are both to be recommended. Have now visited twice in the last five years and would not hesitate to do so again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwboyle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned with my partner from a 4 night stay at the Parker Guest House. This 21 room guesthouse is located in a residential neighbourhood, 4 blocks from the Castro / Market districts. Rooms are beautifully appointed in neutral colours and - though cozy - have all the modern comfort of a hotel room.

A light continental breakfast is served each morning and there is a fun social hour everyone should attend at least once.

Best of all was the service from Scott and his team. Impecable and friendly. This is truly the best little guesthouse experience we had in a very long time.

Room Tip: Room 40 or other rooms located at the back of the inn are the best; they offer a good cross breeze a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our second stay at Parker. We were there about 3 years ago and knew that on return to SF we'd stay again.
From start to end I could not have asked for a more pleaseant experience.
Surrounds, staff, facilities, attitude, the social meets every eve over a glass or 2 of wine and the overall experience was memorable. I have travelled to may parts of the USA and stayed in a variety of hotels and B&B's and The Parker Guest House tops them all. The location is also extremely convenient to entertainment, restaurants....you name it.
Thanks Guys, I'll be back :)
Garth H

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,597 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,445 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing