We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a moderately priced hotel”
Review of The Nob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nob Hill Inn
Ranked #15 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2006

You can't compare this hotel to the Ritz or the Four Seasons which are can't miss places to stay in SF, but then again it doesn't cost $500 a night either. We just needed a place to stay since we had a full itinerary which included my kids first Giants game so this was a good choice during Memorial day weekend. Beware of the rooms directly on Pine because the street noise is a big concern. Service was outstanding during our stay. Afternoon tea, although not quite the Empress Hotel afternoon tea, was nice and a good opportunity to wind down after a busy day. We had a two room suite which was spacious. The decor was B&B style which my wife loves. The building is a hundred years old which lends itself to 100 years of people living in that space-I don't want to spell this part out. The kitchen was handy and the continental breakfast was reasonable. A couple of small grocery stores within a block which proved convenient. Location is good and parking at the Masonic was $27 a night. I can recomend this hotel but can't rave about it since two of my favorite hotels mentioned above are just one mile away. But if your looking for a moderately priced hotel this is a great choice. The same space at the 4S would cost $800 night (ouch). I just could not pass up the deal that I got at this hotel. That made the stay even sweeter.

Stayed: May 2006
7  Thank tennis_ace_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 195 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
112
Reviewed November 18, 2005

My wife and son were in town for a few days, we chose this hotel because of its affiliation with VRI. I was skeptical after reading numerous bad reviews on different sites.

I'm happy to report that we had a great stay. We didn't have a car so we didn't have any parking issues, costs, problems. We took a car to & from SFO, and cabbed when neccessary, other wise the cable cars & walked.

We were all very happy with the accomodations, especially me, I enjoyed the wine tasting in the sitting room.(yum!)

The location is primo, a (funny) steep hill/street leads you one block up to the cable car. Get the all day pass, take the cable cars to Union Sq. (Macy's, etc) and ride the Powell-Hyde car to Fisherman's Wharf (hours of fun!) The staff was helpful & generally nice. They were happy to call cabs for us. We had the Crocker room which was ample and attractive, our son slept on the couch we had a nice private bedroom with poster bed. Great bathroom! Attractive cabinetry in kitchen area.

I also suggest taking a sightseeing tour (open double decker bus was informative and fun) and I highly recommend the "Aquarium Under the Bay" "wow!"

We're looking forward to returning to S.F and Nob Hill.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
17
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Wonderful location and friendly staff! Our room faced the street and was noisy at night but that is all apart of staying downtown. Continental breakfast was great also! We got to walk everywhere or take the cable cars. Cozy atmosphere!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2005

The hotel was just ok. My husband & 12 month old stayed at the hotel for a week. The rooms are very small. The bathroom is almost as big as the room. The decor was ok, the staff was ok (although I think a woman with a baby in a stroller deserves some help getting on the elevator & deserves to have help when the elevator was out of services & had to climb the stairs all the way to 3rd floor with a baby, stroller & pakages, each & every time the staff stood & did nothing) the breakfast was ok. Just an ok place with ill mannered staff.

8  Thank kiki237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2003

My fiance and I have taken three trips to San Francisco and have stayed at the inn each time. The rooms are great and the hotel itself is beautiful. But the location is one of the best parts. it is within walking distance to many restaurants and bars and china town..even the warf if you like a longer walk. We would never stay anywhere else.

40  Thank AmyS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
4,834 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nob Hill Inn

Address: 1000 Pine St, At Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $184 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nob Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nob Hill Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing