We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel”
Review of The Nob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nob Hill Inn
Ranked #15 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed for a conference. Great location in Nob Hill only 2 blocks from the Powell-Hyde cable car line and 1 block from California street line so easy to get about. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Accommodation was lovely and in keeping with era of the property. Very nice cast iron baths/shower - which might be a bit difficult for those with mobility problem.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADocUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for The Nob Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night after a company party at city hall. We have not been here for about 10yrs. It use to have a hot tub on the roof but that is gone. We love the location and the way the decorate all the rooms. Some with fireplaces and claw foot baths. We like sitting by the window and people watching. The only thing negative we have to say about the place is the noise, but we new what we were getting into. It did not bother us to much since we got back to the place around 2am and the morning noise was not to bad.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polocoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I want to come back! Soon! From tea and sherry in the parlor to the antiques and claw-foot bathtub in the room, it was an ideal romantic getaway. This boutique hotel delivers an amazing experience, including a vintage elevator we just had to ride, even though we were only on the second floor!
The staff was attentive and helpful with advice, and taking our photo repeatedly, until we got just the right picture. (The Christmas decor was still up, and we wanted a shot for next year's cards!) Every day, there is tea and sherry in the wonderfully atmospheric front parlor. The cookies aren't inspirational, but considering this is a "bonus" of the stay, I'm not complaining.
My one criticism is that the room temperature was too warm, and our only alternative seemed to be opening the window, which let in street noise. But the room was decorated in antiques, with an iron bedstead, and a bathroom with claw-foot tub and pedestal sink. Very comfy bed.
It's also only 1 block from Grace Cathedral and the Mark Hopkins. Which means the neighborhood is STEEP. Be prepared!

Room Tip: There is a bit of street noise (hey, it's a city), so higher floors are probably better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

A friend gave us her 2-night timeshare at his hotel. It is charming with a fireplace in the lobby and many old-fashioned touches. The room was great, very clean and nicely decorated. We had plenty of room for our luggage and toiletries. The tea, sherry and cookies at 4:00 are a nice touch. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great location, a couple of blocks from the cable car.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the street are noisy, but we didn't have any trouble sleeping.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoreenRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Excellent hotel really good position in nob hill 2 blocks from Powell st cable car .really good accommodation very clean staff are really helpful would recommend highly

Room Tip: Phone staff are really good
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It's hard to gauge just how hilly San Francisco is until you actually get there and even when you do, you still have a sense of incredulity at the steepness of the streets. With that in mind, we found ourselves staying at this hotel that meant a real work out to the thighs to get to and from it on a daily basis.

The Nob Hill Inn is a well appointed traditional hotel in the Nob Hill part of San Francisco . My general impression of American cities was to think of them as very modern places with buildings to match. But the residential parts of much of San Francisco are filled with traditional wooden structures that seen very individual and very grand. This is pretty much how I found this place to be.

Inside the inn itself the reception area is very large and spacious and adheres to a very traditional old fashioned look and yet very stylish at the same time. They have ensured that the look and traditional features of the outside of the building are well in keeping with those on the inside. This includes the transparent old fashioned lift with the traditional doors that you close yourself. Not that this is a very tall building, but with bags, the haul up a few flights means can be made much easier.

Breakfast is taken downstairs through the reception and in a room in the back. We had the usual cereals with juice, bagels and coffee and this was certainly enough to get the day started.

The one disappointment about our particular room was the size. The best description I can give of the main bedroom would be compact and bijou. The double bed was in one corner against the wall and there was a tiny seating area (with equally tiny seats) to sit in. A small monitor style TV was on a table and there were coat hooks to hang bags, jackets etc. If you’ve ever been to an English B&B by the seaside then this will give you some idea of the sizes we are talking about. Though in the English B&B’s, the bathroom’s were of equal size to the room and this wasn’t the case here. The bathroom was large enough to accommodate a big roll top bath which also had a shower. Again, period features were used throughout with a large shower head for a refreshing shower.

The staff at the inn are also very friendly and will give you a map and point things out to you. If you arrive in the early evening and just fancy a bite to eat, then I would just venture out and find something you like the look of as there is quite a choice around here including lots of vegetarian options.

Overall, we found the stay here comfortable, the location excellent for getting to all parts of town and in reach of some decent bars and restaurants (and shops if that’s your thing).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is really lovely, really old fashioned which is great and on arriving in our room we were very happy with the size and cleanliness.
The only main problem that we had was the noise as we were on the roadside and it was very busy all the time. Sleep therefore was not great but San Francisco makes up for this, it's wonderful.
The breakfast was also very basic, we had it included in the rate so wanted to make the most of it but it wasn't very generous, you had cereal or toast and a hot drink pretty much.
Lovely hotel but I do feel there could be better deals out there.

Room Tip: Perhaps one nearer the back
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,295 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
4,780 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,828 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nob Hill Inn

Address: 1000 Pine St, At Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5032
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $185 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nob Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nob Hill Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing