We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveler rating
507
562
145
53
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
562
145
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeevalet parkingstreet noisenob hillcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2017

The hotel is very conveniently located one block away from Union Square. The staff, particularly Joshua, were very helpful. The room itself was pretty good by Frisco CBD standards. It’s difficult to get good accommodation at affordable prices and while the hotel is old, everything was functional and in reasonable condition.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Dear Macham17,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I would share your kind words with Joshua. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017

This was our second stay at the Kensington Park Hotel, and it was lovely. It's located half a block from Union Square, within walking distance of Chinatown, North Beach, and MOMA. The neighborhood's shop windows and holiday decorations were festive, and there were plenty of good restaurants. We'd recommend this place as a headquarters for a weekend (or any nights) in the City.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norcaltraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant Genereal Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Dear norcaltraveler36,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on Tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and gave us a 5 stars. We can't wait to see you again in your next visit in San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017

Stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The Kensington is ideally located for tram, bus routes, and the BART (Powell Street) if coming in from the airport, and major shopping areas with Macy's on Union Square. There a number of diners nearby for breakfast in the mornings. Tea and sherry in the afternoon and coffee and biscotti in the morning (on floors 9 & 11) were a nice touch. The staff members we spoke were very helpful and we would stay again.

Although the beds are large (by UK standards) and very comfortable the room furniture is showing its age. The only sitting area is in reception and is quite small. This was our first time in San Francisco and we were surprised how expensive most things were.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Dear James F,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear you had a good experience in our hotel. Our hotel is located in the center of the everything with great shopping and restaurant. All my staff are thrilled to provide excellent customer service and I am glad to hear they didn't disappointment during your stay. We hope you will choose Kensington Park Hotel during your next visit in San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown San Francisco. The Room is nice and homy. The Front Desk are so helpful and friendly especially Vincent. He helped us with our extension of no longer to change room. That was a relief to not transfer our things. We will definitely stay here again. Joshua was also hospitable when we check in.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 8glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear 8gien,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on tripadvisor and gave us a 5 stars ranking. I will share your kind words with both Vincent and Joshua and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to seeing you again in our hotel during your next visit in San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

A really nice place to stay, however in past years the rooms had a wonderful Old World feel in the furnishings which is no longer there. Also, the room was very poorly lit. We had to request an additional lamp for the bedside. It came without a lampshade, but at least we could read before sleeping. The staff is fantastic and the location is the best - Morton's Steakhouse for cocktails and dinner, Westin St Francis for breakfast, Sears around the corner - couldn't ask for more! Mario is a wonderful concierge and provides tours of this old historical building. And sherry in the afternoon in the lobby!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthasem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear samanthasem,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear about the lighting in your room and I would bring it up to my engineer department to see if we better improve that, however, I am glad to hear you had a good time during your stay in San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Thank you for staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews