We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$334
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$181
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$244
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$557
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $430/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveler rating
500
559
142
52
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
559
142
52
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeestreet noisecentral locationtwo double bedsnob hill
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

I am regular customer at the Kensington.......Im always treated with a smile. I love the old fashioned feel. Very clean . I also love that it is less than a block from Union Square. It is close to all I need! I love it. Ill be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room 54, it is quiet and over looks union square
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gregory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear Gregory Z,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on trip advisor. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again in Kensington Park Hotel, and also thank you for being such a loyal guest to us. We can wait to see you in our hotel during your next visit in San Francisco. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Business team reserved 6 rooms at the 'discounted/non-refundable' rate of $325.00+ a night. As the person booking the reservation for all 6 rooms, I agreed to the non-refundable terms. (Lesson learned. ) I was assured there was a gym we could 'make use of' during our stay. Part of the team finished work early and were able to depart a day early. We travel often. We've never had a problem leaving a day early. Hotel refused to refund the last night for those three able to depart earlier. There is no gym for guests. No air conditioning in rooms. No restaurant or bar onsite. We checked in around 2:30 PM and were advised there was an early check in fee but they would waive the fee because we booked directly with hotel. This prompted a review of booking non-directly. Prices on a non-direct basis are MUCH lower. $215 was the highest. We paid $325+ a night with no evident perks for paying rack rate. The hotel does not abide by normal hotel conventions for departure date flexibility. NOT worth the room price. Not a special hotel. Others rate highly but this one is not good for business travelers.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 3boyz3Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistan General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear mschristinedwyer,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear our hotel didn't meet your expectation. Part of the advantages of booking a non-refundable reservation is that the rates are 10% off our BAR rate, but there is also a disadvantage that we usually cannot accommodate a refund if there is early departure or modification. However, we did refund 50% of the room rate for night that is early departure for 3 non-refundable reservations as a courtesy. We actually never advertise that we have a gym or A/C in our hotel from any booking channels so I am sorry to hear that you would assume that we have a gym/AC in our hotel. We have waived the early check in fees for all the reservations as a perk for booking directly when you guys are checked in to the hotel at 1:11 pm which stated on your receipt without any extra charge so I am sure what is 2:30pm early check in as you mentioned from the comment. We will never charge a guest for early check in fee if the room is ready between 2pm to 3pm. Our hotel room rates are changed depends on the business condition so the daily rates can be different from day to day in San Francisco, and our rates are consistent from internet booking channels from the moment the reservation is made. Couple of my team members have advised me about your frustration and threats that you have encountered with them, I am sorry again we failed to provide the customer service that you expected. I am sure you will not consider our hotel during your future visit in San Francisco, however, thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights Aug/September .
Staff very friendly and hotel ideally placed for the city sights .
Hotel itself was clean and tidy , but the rooms seemed a little " tired " and in need of some updating .
The bathroom sinks are backbreaking to use due to them being near to your knees !!
It was the heatwave week ( 106deg) in the city and lack of air on in the room meant window open 24/7 and lack of sleep .
Have stayed at other hotels ,close by , that have been cheaper and of a slightly better quality Otherwise ok .

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank doddy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear doddy2020,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel's cleanliness and found it comfortable. I am sorry to hear the experience of the heat wave in San Francisco with no A/C unit available but a ceiling fan in our hotel. We hope that you would give us another chance during your future visit in San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Great hotel just off Union Square. Old fashioned feel but lovely clean rooms great staff and complimentary sherry at tea time (or coffee if you prefer) we went for the Sherry.
No bar or restaurant but there's plenty locally.

Room Tip: Get a rear view of the city
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Mark P,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed our services. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

This is a very lovely hotel. Clean and central. Our only issue was we arrived on what turned out to be a very hot day and they don't have air con just fans. The hotel is getting a bit dated, but for the price it was a great clean hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Assistant General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Andrea B,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay even during a hot day with no A/C. Unfortunately, the building is a historic building that restricts us from installing any A/C unit in our hotel. We hope that we will see you again during your next visit in San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews