We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #66 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at the Kensington Park as part of our honeymoon & were upgraded to the Royal Suite where we had a fab room with a great view. After travelling from L.A. it was a refreshing change to be close to all amenities. The hotel is just off Union Square & is a great location for catching tour buses & is in walking distance to the shopping areas, restaurants & night life. Only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Lovely hotel & would like to give a special mention to the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrakKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    459
    102
    39
    22
See reviews for
175
449
57
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Lovely hotel, close to transport and Union Square. As mentioned by other reviewers, this is an older hotel which adds to the charm. Rooms are small but have been modernised and are very inviting. Bathroom is very small and there's no real bench space, but this is only a minor inconvenience. Some have mentioned the street noise can be annoying - we did hear sirens etc but with the window closed, it wasn't an issue.

We took the train from the airport and walked the three blocks up to the hotel. It wasn't that far, but if you have lots of luggage, might be a bit of a struggle. Check-in was quick and hassle-free. Seemed like a good area and we felt comfortable walking around.

The restaurant looked next to the hotel looked very nice but we didn't have a chance to go. There's also a little cafe on the other side of the hotel which we had breakfast at one morning, which was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I couldn't decide where to stay in SF but we definitely picked the right spot! We were right on union square with shops, restaurants & bars right on our doorstep without the need for taxis, public transport etc. The rooms were v.spacious, extremely comfy beds & modern looking also had free wifi. Great rates generally available in comparison to some other hotels that seem dingy and very old fashioned!! Definitely recommend staying here over Fishermans Wharf which is fine for an afternoon & a burger but nowhere for you to enjoy a nice meal & btl of wine etc. Only downside was the parking at $35 per day but you can't escape this if u want to stay in this central area. Would recommend to anyone going to SF!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We consider ourselves very lucky in finding this hotel. Its location is superb, in short walking distance from Union Square. The hotel is charming, and our room was spacious, clean, I would even say luxurious. On the minus side, there is no breakfast included, but you will not find any trouble in finding a nice place for having breakfast in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InItinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a great stay. Its not super modern. Its not new. But it was clean and the room looked just like the picture on the internet. The location is perfect. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyesq2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Kensington Park is a great hotel if you are after a good location in SF close to shops, restaurants and transport. We caught the BART from the airport to Powell Street then its just a few blocks walk up to the Kensington.

Vincent on the front desk was very friendly and welcoming on our arrival. There is no tea/coffee in the rooms but these are available on the 9th floor and you can use the takeaway cups if you wish. Our room was a reasonable size - slightly noisy but then this is a central hotel! Very clean, comfortable bed. One small thing I would say is that it seemed difficult to shut the doors without force ... and noise! We struggled and think next door did too, hence being woken up on a couple of occasions.

We got the tour bus on a 2 day pass from Union Square for $20 each and with this you can get on and off as many times as you like. David our driver was hilarious - a fantastic guide with some great stories to tell.

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in the heart of it all then the Kensington Park is perfect!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sweetie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed 5 nights on vacation with spouse, daughter and mother-in-law. Had requested two adjoining rooms so as to be able to assist 91 year old family member. I had neglected to request separate beds for daughter/mother-in-law. Desk clerk, on her own, saw the reserved room only had one bed and asked us if we would prefer separate beds. She not only found new rooms, but moved us up to the top floor so we could get a better view and be on the quiet side of the building. She was extremely cheerful, helpful, proactive in asking if we needed any help/info/reservations/ etc. In fact, all the desk clerks and the conciere were extremely friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in providing any help they could. We used a muni pass to navigate around and several times asked the desk staff for help...they went online to research the bus routes/connections which was very helpful and appreciated. ALL the housekeepers greeted us with a smile and "good morning/ good evening." Kudos to management for assembling and training an excellent staff! Afternoon sherry was a nice touch. Rooms were not fancy but clean, quiet and with very comfortable beds. Free internet and nice business office with printers. Location was only 1/2 block from Union Square-close to mulitple muni transportation alternatives. We visit SF every two years or so. Next time we will going back to the Kensington Park.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,750 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#75 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,480 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing