We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #79 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a perfect location!”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The rooms at this hotel are simply beautiful! The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in (other than my own) and the decor is beautiful. Everything from the huge flat screen tv, king size bed, cute bathroom, spacious closet and storage space was perfect. The heating was also great in the cool weather. I guess my only (tiny) gripes were the pressure of the shower head being really weak, and the lack of bar fridge (although there was an ice facility close by). The location was fantastic, being only a 5 minute walk from Macy's Union Square and 10 minutes from the Westfield Shopping Mall. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering a stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_emc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    498
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
214
484
61
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed at the Kensington Park for three nights. Our room was nice - the bed was very comfortable! The location was very good, close to Union Square. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, but we never caught the concierge! We ended up getting some information via the front desk person on the phone with the concierge. We paid a discounted price, which was a good value, but I'm not sure I would have been as happy with the value if had I paid more. Although the hotel is refurbished, some parts are still dated. And, the internet was very slow.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Kensington Park hotel for 4 nights and we couldn't fault it. The location couldn't have been better. Walking distance f rom the cable car pick up, with Macy's, Tiffiany's and the main shopping Mall all within easy walking distance. The hotel was very clean and the staff extremely helpful. The rec eption staff were delighted to offer advice on any questions we posed to them.

The reception area is a little quirky and their afternoon ritual of complimentary sherry was an unusual offering, although i must say it was a nice way to meet up with other guests staying in the hotel as it turned into a little social gathering,

Our room was spacious and very clean the only down side we found was that the garbage collection and street cleaning was done during the early hours of the morning and our room was directly above this area making it very noisy. Luckly it wasn't every day, and it didn't last for too long.

The hotel has a theatre which seems to be well attended and the restaurant next door, (access through the reception area) is very good. In fact all of the restaurants in San Francisco we ate at were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was my first trip to San Francisco and I didn't really know what to expect or where to stay..... I did a little research online and we stayed at The
Kensington Park Hotel...... WOW!!! Great lobby with free evening tea & sherry. Great beds, large flat screen TV's and the shower had great water pressure!! 1 block to Union Square...... all of this and the price was affordable for a large city.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I always stay at this hotel when I am in town and recommend it to colleagues and friends as well. It is a perfect location - just steps from Union Square. The Powell Street Bart station is just a few blocks away, so those coming from the San Francisco airport can save themselves the price of a cab or shuttle! The hotel is in an Elks Club building, and still maintains an air of "clubiness" - old world European charm. Tea and Sherry in the afternoon at the hotel is a delightful touch. The rooms are pleasant, clean and although you may hear some street noise (ask for earplugs at the front desk, just in case), I have NEVER been bothered by noise from the hallway, adjoining rooms, etc. This hotel seems to attract a respectful clientele. Hint: For your morning coffee, go down to the corner Borders bookstore and visit their 2nd floor coffee shop. Grab a seat by the window, which directly overlooks Union Square, and enjoy people-watching at its finest!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita95403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Everyone knows that traveling can be expensive. On tight budgets, oftentimes the first place you cut is your hotel quality because all you really need is a place to lay your head at night. However, this can be one of the most important parts of your trip. Who wants to share their bed with bedbugs or mites after a long day of sightseeing? That can truly ruin a good time, don'tcha think?

My experience at Kensington Park Hotel in San Francisco has been wonderful. It is one of the Personality Hotels in SF and is located at 450 Post Street, right in the heart of Union Square. I stayed there in November 2008 for a couple of nights and again on my recent weeklong adventure from May 5-11, 2009.

Why'd I go back? First off, the price was right. Obviously, from looking at its website, Kensington Park can be a bit high for most budgets. However, remember that you're in SF and that everything is pretty expensive. I got a great deal for air and hotel from Honolulu so I booked it right away. There were other air/hotel deals out there (believe me, I combed all the usual sites and then some), but when Kensington popped up within my budget, I jumped at the chance to stay there again.

What I learned last fall is that their beds are truly heavenly, especially after a day of walking up and down hills or in and out of stores. I have never slept on a bed better than this one, and this includes my own bed at home. I don't even know how to describe it to you. It's just the right firmness and softness to ease your aching body to sleep every night. You melt into the comforter and are engulfed by softness.

Another good quality about this hotel is that the staff is very accommodating. My flight arrived at 5:55 a.m. and by the time I got to the city it was around 7:15 a.m. Despite this ungodly hour, the staff allowed me and my BFF to check in way ahead of schedule. (When we called to double check that they had our reservations, we put in a request for early check-in but they said they couldn't guarantee anything.) I can only imagine that either we looked pretty had-it from the red-eye flight out of Honolulu or that the staff was very, very accommodating. I like to believe the latter but cannot be sure.

The room we were given (#4 on the fifth floor) was a bit smaller than the one we received on our last trip. However, this could also be because we were only two people and last fall we had three. Even though the room and bathroom were smaller than before, they were still very satisfactory. Everything was clean, which was a definite plus. There was no mold, mildew or hair in the bathroom. The beds were made and everything seemed to be in order. For a peek at the rooms, check out their website. Yes, those are probably professionally done pictures and no doubt are enhanced with a little help from Photoshop. But, trust me. That's exactly what the rooms look like, if not just a tad less bright and vibrant. Still, the beds and rooms definitely live up to the PR/marketing hype of the website.

Another good thing about the staff is that they're very friendly. I hate to admit it, but for the life of me I cannot remember the name of the guy at the front desk. There were actually three different people at the front desk at different times of the day and night. However, the night shift/early morning guy definitely stood out. He's the guy who checked us in (this time and last time if I remember right). Every time he saw us, he'd greet us with a big smile and address us by our names. Yeah, he actually remembered our names! Amazing when the hotel seemed to be almost fully booked. This kind of customer service is a sign that Kensington Park is really going the extra mile for its guests.

If you're not convinced by now to try this hotel on your next SF visit, let me add that it's only a skip away from all the shops at Union Square, steps away from the Muni (cable car and buses) and just a couple of blocks up from BART. The location is hot, hot, hot. So definitely try Kensington Park Hotel because it's fit for royalty.

--------------------------------
Check out:


http://skycastles808.blogspot.com/
http://movieaddictsclub.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skycastles808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed at the Kensington Park for 2 nights. The location is perfect, walking
distance to many restaurants, shopping and cable cars. It was nice to have the
personal service and touches of a smaller boutique hotel. The staff were very
helpful with transportation and restaurant suggestions. We faced the street and
did get some street noise but you are in downtown San Francisco, same as any
large city. Would absolutley come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiseladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing