We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #79 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
West Plains, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choose this hotel!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Staff were gracious, personable, accommodating and went above expectations. Room was small but comfortable. Could have used more outlets...but that was hardly width mentioning since it's a classic older hotel.Location could not have been better. Breakfast at Sears around the corner is a must. Without hesitation, I'd stay there again .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Elaine M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us.

We are simply humbled by your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that our staff took care of you so promptly.

Our goal is to continually exceed guest’s expectations, and we are delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations.

We are indeed excited to hear that you will be staying with us again in the future.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    497
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
213
483
61
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I'm a little late in writing the review, but my husband and I stayed here for four nights in mid July of last year for our 4-year wedding anniversary and had a wonderful experience.

The best thing about the hotel was the breathtaking view of the city. We payed a little extra to be up on one of the top floors and it was so worth it! We had a corner room and out one window, we had a view of Union Square and out the other was a gorgeous view of Nob Hill.

The style of the hotel looked old but that was what we liked about it- it reminded us of some of our favorite places that we stayed in while in Europe, having that same romantic charm. It was spotlessly clean and the bed fluffy and comfortable. By American standards, I felt that the room was a little bit small (and the bathroom, too), especially for a pricier corner room, but we were perfectly comfortable.

The concierge was so incredibly helpful and full of advice for places to have dinner and attractions to visit and the front desk staff friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect...my husband and I are walkers, so we pretty much walked the whole city but there was a famous San Francisco trolley stop less than a ten minute walk away that takes you all the way to the water where most of the city's attractions are.

We were having so much fun after the three nights that we had booked that we decided on a whim to stay a fourth night. Great city, great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polli12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had a nice stay at Kensington Park Hotel. The location was really convenient, rooms were nice and staff was very pleasant. Had a light dinner at the restaurant Farallon which was pricey but very good. Would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksam071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ksam071,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am very pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the Farallon. I will pass on your comment to the staff. I am sure they will appreciate the mention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Kensington Park is an older hotel, and it's clean but dated. The beds and linens are comfortable and the windows open. We were there for New Years, so the lack of air conditioning wasn't a problem. It is a non-smoking building, but the building houses the Elks lodge (which is a private club), and apparently they can still smoke in there; so at times you can smell a faint amount of smoke from the shared ventilation. There is no in room safe, and the bathroom is pretty dated.

The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, and there is tea and sherry in the lobby every evening, with some live music which is nice. It was our anniversary and they really tried to make it nice for us, and they even dropped off a complementary bottle of wine.

The Location is amazing, right at Union Square, across from Macys, and surrounded by other amazing hotels and high end shopping. If you are going to go for a walk just don't go south of Market street, as it can get pretty sketchy.

It is right next door to the Farallon Restaurant if you like seafood. Checkout their $6 Happyhour!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyToronto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in December during a business convention. Overall completely satisfied. The location cannot be beat for the price (although prices were jacked up for the convention week, as they were at every hotel in the city). I had a corner room looking North and East and could see the ice skaters on Union Square from my window. Extremely comfortable bed - and bathrobes! I paid a few dollars more to upgrade to a higher floor and I highly recommend this. The bathroom IS old and smaller than in the average business hotel; this is an old historic building, so I'm not sure what they could do about that. The smaller bathroom was offset by excellent, complimentary Internet and the extremely good morning coffee (and orange juice) stations set up on a couple of the floors.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyberry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear hollyberry57,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed seeing Union Square from your window. It is an amazing view, especially during Christmas season.
I can certainly agree that our hotel is in a very convenient location.

We are thrilled to hear that you felt our beds were extremely comfortable. Our coffee it’s extremely good and I am happy you agree with us.

This building is an old historic building and we appreciate your feedback and we will most certainly be taking into consideration with future developments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a great time at the Kensington park hotel just after New Years celebrating my wife's Birthday. The hotel gave a bottle of wine, we ate at Farallon (top notch), and saw the play "Storefront Church" all in the same general building. Excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Greetings

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed here for three visits to San Francisco in the past year. The location is wonderful--close to Union Square and its attractions. The rooms bring you back to an earlier era in old San Francisco. Yet, they have the needed comforts of a modern room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmom01958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear travelmom01958,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are always pleased to hear from our loyal guests. We want to personally thank you for making us your home away from home.

We are thrilled to hear our room has the comfort of a modern room but, yet it takes you to an earlier era. I couldn’t say it any better.

We are glad you enjoyed our location and I can certainly agree that our location is convenient to restaurants, theaters, and shopping.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,825 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing