We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location for a San Francisco visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #81 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good location for a San Francisco visit.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Centrally located near Union Square the Kensington Park Hotel was turned out to be a very good choise.
We arrived late and staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was big enough for our needs.
No breakfast provided, but plenty of diners around the corner to chose from.
Cable car to Fishermans Warf stopped 100 m from hotel door.
One other reason for us chosing this hotel was that the Avis car rental had its office 100m up the road, Very convenient when picking up our rented car.

Room Tip: Centrally located on Union Square. Cable car stop outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjodolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    506
    132
    48
    30
See reviews for
221
491
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very good 3 star hotel, in the heart of San Francisco. The location is perfect right next to Union Square and close to most things that you may want to do.
The service was first class, staff could not have been more helpful. The décor was of the 1930's and even had a piano in the lounge that was played each day.
The rooms were as expected, comfortable, clean and did what was expected.
Car parking is expensive, but get valet service as this is only $3 a day more than doing it yourself.
There isn't any air conditioning so could be a little muggy on hot days.
What could be better is the noise factor, needs double glazing if you are street side, got woken up a few times at night.
Overall a nice visit, and would use again.

Room Tip: Get rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wow. I don't think we have ever received such great service as we did at the Kensington. It is a lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location. Just a block from union square. We felt very safe walking this area Stay away from any hotels near the Tenderloin area. The concierge helped us out with any reservations and arranging car services. the room was comfortable. Coffee and sherry in the evenings the staff were very friendly. And 2 doors away was Morton's steak with excellent food. We would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelbyrae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment we checked in, to the time we checked out we had the best service ever. I cannot say enough about the staff. The rooms were spacious, comfortable with all the amenities one needs. I cannot say enough about the location. Walking distance to just about anywhere you need to go. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citigirl2960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and fitted the bill perfectly. It's a solid 3 star hotel which serves as great base for sightseeing.

The hotel has a lovely faded glory feel, some fixtures and fittings are tired and worn but that somehow seems to add to its charm. We were on the 11th floor (I think?) and we slept soundly for the 3 nights we were there. I liked the bed, very comfy indeed.
We only had one bedside table/nightstand which was a bit of an annoyance (but hardly the end of the world though is it!)

The location of this hotel is what nails it for me though. It's a hop, skip and jump from Union Square where there's a raft of bars, restaurants, shops and the cable car turnaround. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Kungaloosh_boosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for 5 days.

The hotel is well located a block from the famous shopping district. Anything and everything you require is within a block or two.
The hotel is clean and the rooms well appointed. Rooms are quiet, bed is comfortable, refrigerator worked. Sorry guys, but you need to work on the hot water, my showers in the morning were warm at best.

The staff is very friendly but could have been a bit more knowledgable. The concierge was excellent, he assisted us with reservations more than once.

Tea and sherry are always available along with water in the lobby. No coffee.

Overall, its a great place to stay and will book there again the next time we are in San Francisco

Room Tip: We slept with the windows open, the area is a bit noisy. This is no fault of the hotel. I would im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I'd definitely recommend valeting your car if you are driving into the city. It's $45/day with in and out privileges. They will keep your car for up to 2 hours after check-out for no charge, and after 2pm they will only charge you $15. It's a great deal considering you're so close to public transportation. Things they did right:
*Free sherry and tea from 5-6pm
*The Art of Shaving toiletries in the bathroom
*Very comfortable bed
*Extremely friendly and helpful Front Desk Staff (Gloria) and concierge
*Free orange juice, coffee, and tea from 7-10am
*Excellent location (less than a block from Union Square, the Powell/Hyde cable car line, and two blocks from two Big Bus Tour stops - which we used to get around the city)
*Ceiling fans in the room

Overall it was an excellent experience. The rooms were very clean. We were on the 11th floor and barely heard any noise from the street. We would highly recommend this hotel to others. Be sure to sign up for Personality Perks. You will receive a welcome gift in your room when you check-in (bottle of water and a chocolate bar).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Kdavila,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The staff at Kensington Park Hotel thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guests and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I will pass on your nice comments to Gloria and Concierge. I am sure they both will appreciate the mention.

We are truly please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; we are simply humbled by your kind words of our hotel. Thank you for providing our future visitors with information of our hotel and San Francisco.
We are thrilled to hear you are a member of our loyal program Perks and I appreciate you’re also encouraging everyone to sign up. Adding to the information you have already provided, we also offer complimentary upgrade upon availability and if you accumulate 15 stays you will qualified for one complimentary night. Once again thank you for the valuable information you provided.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
977 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,909 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing