We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kensington Park Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveler rating
479
538
139
51
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
538
139
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationceiling fanpost streetthere is no air conditioningcable carfront desk staffcharming hotelstreet noisevalet parkingnob hillcorner roomcentral locationbed was very comfortablean older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Kensington Park Hotel is a great choice! The staff were very friendly and full of information. The location just off Union Square givesv you access to public transportation, which is excellent. The room was cozy and the bed was super comfortable! we will definately stay here the next time we're in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Theodore59,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience at Kensington Park Hotel.

We’re delighted to hear your room was cozy and the bed was super comfortable. We are extremely happy you discover one of our best assets and that’s our beds.

I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed the service by our friendly staff.

I am happy you had a great time in San Francisco.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location near Union Square which also is the stop for the tour buses. Good room, everything worked even though the taps, toilet and shower looked old. Water pressure was good. Evening drinks were a nice touch. No complaints on this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We adored our stay here. The location is fantastic and the staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. The sherry/tea hour in the lovely lobby every evening was a really nice way to meet people from all over. We had interesting conversations nearly every evening with people from all kinds of places, plus a couple of nights there was a pianist. It instantly became an enjoyable, end-of-day/before-dinner ritual for us.

Back to location, it's just off Union Square, and we were lulled to sleep by the music of a particular busker that floated up to our window every evening. Farallon, one of the city's best restaurants is right next door, and there's a theatre in the building.

Our room was extremely comfortable. The linens were particularly glorious. (We were very happy about the fact that there was an in-room recycling bin.) The bath was small but well-appointed. It could have used an empty shelf for the guests' personal items, but that's a small matter.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Folks have complained about the noise on the front of the building. We were on the 9th floor and enjoyed hearing a little street sound and the music from the square.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is in the heart of Union Square. Walking distance to terrific shopping, people watching, cocktail drinking, and fine or casual dining. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean and the bed was very comfy. Next time I will ask for a room with a view but really with Union Square just feet away it didn't matter not having one. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFJess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear SFJess13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your kind words. We appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Kensington Park soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

What a charming hotel a blend of old and new with service most definitely from the modern era. Excellent staff. Had a problem with lots of noise in the early hours on room facing the road. Was quickly moved to a rear facing room which was quiet as could be. Overall an excellent stay in the stunning city of San Fran *****

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirtySanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews