We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #81 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

this hotel is a beautifully designed gothic style building. and just around the corner from union square. the rooms are well maintained and clean but the bathrooms were desperate for a makeover!!!
the front desk service was a little lacking. whenever i was in the lounge area next to the reception desk i could see and hear the staff (mainly males) talking loudly about personal things/games laughing etc. whenever i was there and overheard another staff member named Gloria (i think) she was very friendly and professional. another time i got into the lift and the man who was polishing the brass in the lift was the most friendly of them all! to the point that it surprised me.
the 'concierge' Bob had zero personality and rarely smiled or spoke unless spoken to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haamsuplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Plasticjungle,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Kensington Park Hotel. Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced. We take customer service issues very seriously. I can assure you that all issues, that you have mentioned, have been addressed accordingly. I truly hope that you will give us another chance in future, please contact me directly and I will be delighted to assist you with your reservation.

Best,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    504
    130
    47
    30
See reviews for
217
488
63
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very nice place and very interesting too. Rooms are nice, rates are good and having a theatre and Elks Lodge on the first few floors adds a little dimension. Just overall a nice place, professional staff and VERY convenient. Great diversion from the cooker cutter affluence of chain places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PESMIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear PESMIT,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and the service was friendly.

It is our wish to provide you with the best service possible so that you can have the best experience at Kensington Park. We appreciate your comments and thank you for concerning us a great diversion.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked KPH through booking.com and stayed in a great king room on the 12th floor (what a view - see photo!) - 4 nights for about $560 total including taxes. It is right off Union Square - an easy walk to Chinatown and 15/20 minutes on foot to the Embarcadero via Market Street. It is also just off Powell Street (perfect for catching the historic Powell cable car!). The room was a good size, REALLY comfortable bed! No breakfast but complimentary drinks (teas, coffee, orange juice) available from 7am on various floors. The staff behind the desk were helpful and friendly. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Lawrence T,

We appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate anytime our guests share their experience. As you have discovered our best asset is our staff and the service they deliver every day.

You are absolutely correct when it comes time to shop and dine, and theaters Kensington Park is very convenient.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope you left your heart in San Francisco it’s a say when you’re visiting this beautiful city.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Kensington Park Hotel in San Francisco just speaks "Old World European" charm. From the beautifully charming hotel lobby to the tastefully decorated hotel rooms, it will put you in a European traveler mode. I especially enjoyed the late afternoon tea and sherry service. The concierge service and employees were extremely very helpful and quite knowledgeable of San Francisco restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Betty D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kensington Park. We love the description you gave of our hotel “Old World European” and delighted to hear that you thought our lobby was charming and tasteful décor of our rooms. I am happy to hear you took advantage of our sherry reception in the evenings.

Thank you for all the positive notes you shared about our hotel and staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Before our trip to San Francisco we had researched and chosen Kensington Park as a centrally located hotel. We were more than pleased with the choice. The hotel itself is about 4 blocks up from the Bart should you come in that way...a block from Union Square (we could see it from our window) near the cable car line and hop and go buses and a 25 minute walk to the ferry terminal. Also a 10 minute walk to Chinatown.Location...location! The hotel itself although an older one is very well maintained and charming. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful during our stay. Upon arriving early our room was not yet ready, however we were able to store our luggage and we left to have something to eat . Upon our return we were pleasantly surprised to find Lilia had upgraded us to a lovely room with a view. The room itself very comfortable, quiet ,clean and great beds for sleeping. As we were to leave past checkout time again we were fortunate to store our luggage. Although breakfast is not included juice and coffee is available in the mornings. Next door there are two places that offer muffins, etc. Honey Honey is 2 blocks away have wonderful breakfasts and lunches so breakfast presents no problem. A concierge is always available for your questions and we would like to add we appreciated the daily hellos and friendliness of Lilia. We stayed 4 nights and would recommend Kensington Park as a great hotel in the heart of San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 470JimB470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor.
In all of the time I have been personally reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I cannot recall a time where I felt so proud and overwhelmed by the words of our guests.
Our guests are our top priority in all aspects of their stay and it is good that our efforts have been successful. I want to thank you for the mention. I am speechless but grateful.

I am delighted to know that you discovered one of our best assets and it’s our great beds. I hope you had a chance to enjoy a glass of sherry during the evening reception.

We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a great time.

We appreciate you recommending us. Your business is much appreciate and we will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I organised a surprise visit to San Francisco. The hotel was a random choice, mainly for it's location close to Union Square. It was rather excellent, but there was roadworks outside EVERY night which spoiled the stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic, we couldn't believe how close we were to Union Sq.
The hotel itself is very clean, good concierge, afternoon tea & sherry every afternoon is a good pick me up after pounding the pavements of San Fran. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we were looking out on vents which we were disappointed about but turned out to be a blessing as it was very quiet, so ask for a room at the back, as unless you're in a very tall hotel you won't get much of a view. The bed was comfy, and the blinds completely blacked out the room.
Negatives: There is no fridge or tea/coffee facilities so bear that in mind. The bathroom was dated & had no window. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, which was late & the wrong thing came.

When looking for a San Fran hotel I would just remember: you will spend hardly any time there, get out & explore this fantastic city! so if you want a clean hotel with a good nights sleep & a great location go with this one. There is so much choice it's overwhelming, if we go back I'd stay here & save myself lots of time searching.

Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey606
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
1,609 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
559 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
942 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing