We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you believe everything you read?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #74 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Do you believe everything you read?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Well of course not, we learn to read between the lines; But, when it comes to advertising for things like hotels and what they offer I tend to expect truth. This stay was a tad bit frustrating in that the hotel advertises a car that can take you to nearby locations, only that is really not true. We tried to reserve the car the weeks preceding the trip, each time were told to just reserve it upon arrival. We tried to reserve upon arrival only to be told by the concierge that he "did not think it would be available but he would call and see in the morning". That was a poor attempt at service, at best. And that is how it went in the morning as well, in any event the car is apparently an empty "option". That said a bit of remodeling is going on in the hotel so keep that in mind and hopefully the hotel will take into account the very short sink heights. For little people it is terrific but I am a mere 5'4" and the sink was at less than waist height, super low to the ground. Not that big of a deal but if this is one of those things that bugs you or you are tall ask what your room bathroom counter height is before reserving. The absolute good is the location is not too far off the beat and path and directly next to Farallon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    490
    120
    46
    27
See reviews for
208
474
60
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My friends and i visitied sanfrancisco for the first time and this hotel was great. The rooms were of good size for 3 women. The staff were very welcoming and helpful in booking transport back to airport. We stayed here for 5 days before we moved on and it was great. There was always juice or water on the table for the guest. The staff always greeted us on arrival whether we came back from shopping or dinner, anything really. This hotel is in good walking distance to everything especially the tram.
You will enjoy this hotel for a good price whether its one or seven days.

cathie, nsw, australia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear cat400,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor. I want to also thank you for choosing Kensington Park to host your first time in San Francisco. I can certainly agree that our location is in a very convenient block to all shopping, restaurants and theaters making exploring quite effortless.

The staff thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guests and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I will pass on your nice comments to the entire staff. I am sure they will appreciate the mention.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is very old, but very nice. Staff very helpful, location excellent, no street noise in room at night. Abundance of shopping and great restaurants close by. The bathroom plumbing is not twentieth century, but worked OK, with plenty of hot water. They had orange juice and coffee in the foyer right outside our room.

Room Tip: 58 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Marvin S,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to know that you found our hotel and staff helpful and the location convenient.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked my stay the app Hotel Tonight. The room was very clean and spacious, with a comfortable bed, very adequate bathroom, great location and friendly staff. There were nice amenities in e bathroom like makeup remover. I was able to check in early and take a nap before walking to BART to go to the opera. It was great to be by Union Square and enjoy the Christmas decorations. I will stay here again even if I have to pay a higher rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggarcia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The facility is very old, smell humidity in the lobby and the halls,clean rooms and baths, spacious but no A/C in the rooms and noticeable bad plumbing and electric connections, great location, close to Chinatown, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District, and bars and restaurants. $39 valet parking service available (20-30 mins waiting time). Great customer service and very important the pictures in the web look better than reality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Kensington Park Hotel.
I would suggest taking advantage of the Parking Special. I did not see any parking around the hotel, most of the hotels did not have parking. The hotel is right around the corner from a trolley stop, which is a must see. The shopping in Union Square is exceptional, so many stores. The concierge went out of his way to help us. He even gave us a map with everything circled with the things we wanted to do.
The Farallon Restaurant next door is a must! The Happy Hour specials and bartenders make it a delight. I would suggest a night cap on your way back to the hotel.
My only complaint would be the room had no thermostat. We were in San Francisco during a chilly week and the heat was on, we could not turn it down, we kept our window up for most of the time we were there. When we opened our door, the cross breeze with the window across the hall cooled the room down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotels.com. You will not be offered the same rate as an Elk member if you do this. I suggest calling the hotel direct because it will save you $50 to $70 if you do. If you drive, we highley recommend using their valet. It will take you approx 15 to 25 minutes to get your car, but you could (if you're an Elk member) use the Elks Lodge Bar on the 3rd floor while you're waiting. They have a very nice lobby that you could wait in too. The staff is very well trained, courteous and professional. Their scaffolding in the front of the hotel, but didn't see anyone working on it. Being on the weekend. So that might be something to consider. Our room was very nice. The window only opened about 10", but that's all we really needed. The beds are fantastic... I wanted to bring ours home. The bathroom fixtures are way out dated, the sink is cracked. The was paint on the tile in the shower. The tile looks to be much newer. And we found minor mold in the shower and around the back splash of the sink. We did mention this to the front desk, he took notes of our issues. I still recommend staying here. It's very close to little cafe's, restaurants and bars. Within 1 to 4 minutes walk. Getting a taxi only took like 5 minutes if that.

Room Tip: We had room 33 on the 7th floor. If you can look past the issues above, it's not a bad room. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Django G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing