We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #79 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dissapointing!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The facility is very old, smell humidity in the lobby and the halls,clean rooms and baths, spacious but no A/C in the rooms and noticeable bad plumbing and electric connections, great location, close to Chinatown, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District, and bars and restaurants. $39 valet parking service available (20-30 mins waiting time). Great customer service and very important the pictures in the web look better than reality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    510
    133
    48
    30
See reviews for
224
495
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Kensington Park Hotel.
I would suggest taking advantage of the Parking Special. I did not see any parking around the hotel, most of the hotels did not have parking. The hotel is right around the corner from a trolley stop, which is a must see. The shopping in Union Square is exceptional, so many stores. The concierge went out of his way to help us. He even gave us a map with everything circled with the things we wanted to do.
The Farallon Restaurant next door is a must! The Happy Hour specials and bartenders make it a delight. I would suggest a night cap on your way back to the hotel.
My only complaint would be the room had no thermostat. We were in San Francisco during a chilly week and the heat was on, we could not turn it down, we kept our window up for most of the time we were there. When we opened our door, the cross breeze with the window across the hall cooled the room down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotels.com. You will not be offered the same rate as an Elk member if you do this. I suggest calling the hotel direct because it will save you $50 to $70 if you do. If you drive, we highley recommend using their valet. It will take you approx 15 to 25 minutes to get your car, but you could (if you're an Elk member) use the Elks Lodge Bar on the 3rd floor while you're waiting. They have a very nice lobby that you could wait in too. The staff is very well trained, courteous and professional. Their scaffolding in the front of the hotel, but didn't see anyone working on it. Being on the weekend. So that might be something to consider. Our room was very nice. The window only opened about 10", but that's all we really needed. The beds are fantastic... I wanted to bring ours home. The bathroom fixtures are way out dated, the sink is cracked. The was paint on the tile in the shower. The tile looks to be much newer. And we found minor mold in the shower and around the back splash of the sink. We did mention this to the front desk, he took notes of our issues. I still recommend staying here. It's very close to little cafe's, restaurants and bars. Within 1 to 4 minutes walk. Getting a taxi only took like 5 minutes if that.

Room Tip: We had room 33 on the 7th floor. If you can look past the issues above, it's not a bad room. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Django G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have now stayed here twice while working in SF and really enjoy this hotel. It has a nice old feel but is clean and modern. The staff is always very helpful and super nice. I found my room to be spacious and the bed to be VERY comfortable, something that often disappoints me when traveling. The bathrooms are relatively modern with old details and very spacious showers. The location is fantastic - right on Union Square - near to shopping, restaurants, super close to Chinatown, and a quick walk to the Financial District and Embarcadero. My one con would be the lack of room service - to be fair, there are options: the attached restaurant is very good, and the Morton's down the street does deliver a limited menu. However, if I arrive late and want a glass wine and a small salad, I am out of luck. Overall, I think this is a great bet in a perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear eclarky,

Thank you for the kind words about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate whenever guests share their stories.

As you have discovered our best asset is our hotel, staff and the service they deliver ever day.

Many of us agree with you about Room Service-it is such a convenient way to enjoy restaurant quality meal in the comfort of your room.
If you happen to arrive late, there are varieties of restaurants few blocks away from the hotel that are open 24hrs.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Well located, few minutes away from union square and market street, hotel itself is too pretentious, while the content fall short of chic and poshness intended. Rooms are claimed to be non-smoking, though they reek of cigar smell, ingrained in the furnishing. Noise level from the streets is high, Especially when you open the window, which you have to do since there is no air conditioning. The only bright spot is the bathroom, which is of the size of the room, well-lit and very comfy. Staff is friendly and very helpful, but it doesn't save the day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel on Post Street near Union Square in San Francisco Nov. 2-4, 2012. The room was small and it was either very warm or very chilly. The beds were not comfortable, I felt as if I was sleeping on the thinest mattress they could find. It was so noisy, we didn't sleep very well. I believe the trash was picked up outside out window all night long, with the beep, beep of the truck backin up. The other guests in the hotel couldn't seem to remember that others were in the hotel with them and doors slammed well into the evening. There were no double locks on the doors, only a flipper that closed the opening, so no one could put a key card into the door. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I feel like I looked at EVERY hotel around Union Square before we finally booked. I wanted a good location, a nice room that had some character but was really nice & clean, and thankfully I picked the perfect spot! Honestly the room (royal king room, 12th floor) was exactly what the website showed & really nice. It was located on top floor, had a decent view, very comfy pillow top bed & classy decor. The bathroom was nice too & especially liked the shower which was a shower, no tub, lined with all tile & glass door. In room coffee maker but they did have coffee in the AM on floor 11 & fruit water & tea in the afternoon. Very kind desk & cleaning employees!! All smiles & very friendly. Beautiful lobby & right around the corner from Union Square. Surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops & stores.
We (my husband & I) are actually still here, we're in SF for our 4 year anniversary, & it's been great. Our stay is from 11/2 to 11/4.

If you're on the fence, give this place a shot, glad we did!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear EmilyHill,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate you choose us to celebrate your special occasion.
Our staff was thrilled to host you and your husband.

We appreciate that you were succinct with the positive and constructive. This will certainly help members have a clear picture of your experience.

Please also know we share all of our reviews with our team for compliments and training opportunities.

We hope to welcome you back next year and I would love to personally assist you should you wish.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,007 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
644 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing