We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$334
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$229
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$206
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$235
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$252
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$284
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveler rating
500
559
142
52
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
559
142
52
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeestreet noisecentral locationtwo double bedsnob hill
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have now stayed here twice while working in SF and really enjoy this hotel. It has a nice old feel but is clean and modern. The staff is always very helpful and super nice. I found my room to be spacious and the bed to be VERY comfortable, something that often disappoints me when traveling. The bathrooms are relatively modern with old details and very spacious showers. The location is fantastic - right on Union Square - near to shopping, restaurants, super close to Chinatown, and a quick walk to the Financial District and Embarcadero. My one con would be the lack of room service - to be fair, there are options: the attached restaurant is very good, and the Morton's down the street does deliver a limited menu. However, if I arrive late and want a glass wine and a small salad, I am out of luck. Overall, I think this is a great bet in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear eclarky,

Thank you for the kind words about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate whenever guests share their stories.

As you have discovered our best asset is our hotel, staff and the service they deliver ever day.

Many of us agree with you about Room Service-it is such a convenient way to enjoy restaurant quality meal in the comfort of your room.
If you happen to arrive late, there are varieties of restaurants few blocks away from the hotel that are open 24hrs.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well located, few minutes away from union square and market street, hotel itself is too pretentious, while the content fall short of chic and poshness intended. Rooms are claimed to be non-smoking, though they reek of cigar smell, ingrained in the furnishing. Noise level from the streets is high, Especially when you open the window, which you have to do since there is no air conditioning. The only bright spot is the bathroom, which is of the size of the room, well-lit and very comfy. Staff is friendly and very helpful, but it doesn't save the day.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Evgenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel on Post Street near Union Square in San Francisco Nov. 2-4, 2012. The room was small and it was either very warm or very chilly. The beds were not comfortable, I felt as if I was sleeping on the thinest mattress they could find. It was so noisy, we didn't sleep very well. I believe the trash was picked up outside out window all night long, with the beep, beep of the truck backin up. The other guests in the hotel couldn't seem to remember that others were in the hotel with them and doors slammed well into the evening. There were no double locks on the doors, only a flipper that closed the opening, so no one could put a key card into the door. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I feel like I looked at EVERY hotel around Union Square before we finally booked. I wanted a good location, a nice room that had some character but was really nice & clean, and thankfully I picked the perfect spot! Honestly the room (royal king room, 12th floor) was exactly what the website showed & really nice. It was located on top floor, had a decent view, very comfy pillow top bed & classy decor. The bathroom was nice too & especially liked the shower which was a shower, no tub, lined with all tile & glass door. In room coffee maker but they did have coffee in the AM on floor 11 & fruit water & tea in the afternoon. Very kind desk & cleaning employees!! All smiles & very friendly. Beautiful lobby & right around the corner from Union Square. Surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops & stores.
We (my husband & I) are actually still here, we're in SF for our 4 year anniversary, & it's been great. Our stay is from 11/2 to 11/4.

If you're on the fence, give this place a shot, glad we did!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear EmilyHill,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate you choose us to celebrate your special occasion.
Our staff was thrilled to host you and your husband.

We appreciate that you were succinct with the positive and constructive. This will certainly help members have a clear picture of your experience.

Please also know we share all of our reviews with our team for compliments and training opportunities.

We hope to welcome you back next year and I would love to personally assist you should you wish.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a terrific location...right on Union Square and the cable car line on Powell. The beds are comfy and the city view from our 11th floor room was impressive. We had asked for a corner room so that we could have a view from two different perspectives. The reception staff was very helpful with a wonderful place for breakfast, maps and he even hailed a taxi for us. If its the sights and sounds of the city you want, the Kensington Park is a good choice. Lest I forget to tell you the Farallon Restaurant is right next door with an entry from the hotel lobby so there is no need to bring a coat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrieerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews