We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$380
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$179
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$218
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$183
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$476
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
500
559
142
53
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
559
142
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeestreet noisecentral locationvalet parkingnob hill
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive at this hotel. The rooms are big and spacious and the bathroom is very attractive and posh! The room was clean and tidy, and I felt very safe in the hotel. The hotel is just up the street from Union Square and all the shops and it is in a safe location. (We were two girls travelling alone and never felt unsafe once!) There are plenty of places to eat nearby and The Pinecrest Cafe does huge and delicious meals at a very cheap price, although there are some interesting characters around that area!! The hotel provides free tea and cherry in the downstairs lobby and with the classical music playing, it really does feel very posh. This was one of my favourite hotels during my tour of America and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found this hotel to be a great place to stay. From the friendly and professional staff to the comfortable and very clean room! And yes, the hotel is righ tin the heart of the city at Union Square. Shopping and earteries practically surround you. We would definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Georgianne G,

Thank you so much for your review and all the kind words. I am very happy your stay was enjoyable and the service was friendly.

I can certainly agree that our location is in a very convenient location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A place in the center of everything. The location was great and the services were warming. The morning complimentary Orange Juice and Coffee hit the spot to get up and start the sightseeing. There was evening shery/tea and lime water we did not take advantage of but for those who would I am sure would enjoy.
The place did not have AC and that did not matter 1 bit- - we ran the fan and there was no air issues. Don't expect to have a view as all I think for the most part looked out to the buildings - but get out and enjoy don't stay in the room. There are 12 floors so next time I would have called 2ish days before and found out how to perhaps get on the 7+ floors like a prior review suggested. Glad to write a review to keep the vote on top.

Room Tip: Price - and the fluffy bed should sell the room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zip16066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for almost one full week. Nice and cozy environs of the hotel make you feel at home instantly. Comfortable sitting place in front of reception, with free flow of iced lime water and tea/ coffee between 10 am to 6pm, and sherry between 4 to 6 pm makes for a meeting place where hotel guests have a chance to enjoy together and make new friends.

Cable car station (very similar to the tram in India and UK - not the rope-way, as the impression you might get from its name) is at a walking distance providing a convenient connection to Fisherman Wharf, a place you must visit. There are also local buses, but what I enjoyed most was the walk through the city of San Francisco, enjoying the lovely breeze and excellent weather (about 17 to 18 degrees centigrade) in the month of August.

Now, lets talk about the room I stayed in. Pretty clean and well appointed, very comfortable bed, amenities such as tea/coffee making facility, free wi-fi internet, cable TV with all kinds of free and paid channels, nice and comfortable bathroom, ice-vending on certain floors etc.

Last but not the least, options for all kinds of food in all directions, as you step out of the hotel.

I really couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Go for front facing room that overlooks another big hotel and a nice view of city.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Rajeev1 105,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate anytime our guests share their experience. We are thrilled you had so many positives notes to share about our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you felt at home, our goal is to make guest feel right at home and we have accomplished what we really work hard. I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you.

I am please that you enjoyed our location and were able to easily explore the city.
And nothing is better after a long day of exploring then coming back to the hotel and enjoying a glass of sherry at the evening reception along with new friends.

We appreciate all of the time you have taken to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Kensington Park Hotel offered us a wonderful stay in San Francisco.
Pefect location walking distance to the beatiful shopping area, cable cars station, the hotel has beatiful furnitures, fashion rooms and many amenities.
The staff is very friendly and available to satisfy every needs.
We were 2 adults and two kids and we really enjoyed.
Also wifi is free and speedy.
If I will return in SF I will definitevely stay in this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ricco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews