We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found this hotel to be a great place to stay. From the friendly and professional staff to the comfortable and very clean room! And yes, the hotel is righ tin the heart of the city at Union Square. Shopping and earteries practically surround you. We would definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Georgianne G,

Thank you so much for your review and all the kind words. I am very happy your stay was enjoyable and the service was friendly.

I can certainly agree that our location is in a very convenient location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

A place in the center of everything. The location was great and the services were warming. The morning complimentary Orange Juice and Coffee hit the spot to get up and start the sightseeing. There was evening shery/tea and lime water we did not take advantage of but for those who would I am sure would enjoy.
The place did not have AC and that did not matter 1 bit- - we ran the fan and there was no air issues. Don't expect to have a view as all I think for the most part looked out to the buildings - but get out and enjoy don't stay in the room. There are 12 floors so next time I would have called 2ish days before and found out how to perhaps get on the 7+ floors like a prior review suggested. Glad to write a review to keep the vote on top.

Room Tip: Price - and the fluffy bed should sell the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zip16066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for almost one full week. Nice and cozy environs of the hotel make you feel at home instantly. Comfortable sitting place in front of reception, with free flow of iced lime water and tea/ coffee between 10 am to 6pm, and sherry between 4 to 6 pm makes for a meeting place where hotel guests have a chance to enjoy together and make new friends.

Cable car station (very similar to the tram in India and UK - not the rope-way, as the impression you might get from its name) is at a walking distance providing a convenient connection to Fisherman Wharf, a place you must visit. There are also local buses, but what I enjoyed most was the walk through the city of San Francisco, enjoying the lovely breeze and excellent weather (about 17 to 18 degrees centigrade) in the month of August.

Now, lets talk about the room I stayed in. Pretty clean and well appointed, very comfortable bed, amenities such as tea/coffee making facility, free wi-fi internet, cable TV with all kinds of free and paid channels, nice and comfortable bathroom, ice-vending on certain floors etc.

Last but not the least, options for all kinds of food in all directions, as you step out of the hotel.

I really couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Go for front facing room that overlooks another big hotel and a nice view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Rajeev1 105,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate anytime our guests share their experience. We are thrilled you had so many positives notes to share about our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you felt at home, our goal is to make guest feel right at home and we have accomplished what we really work hard. I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you.

I am please that you enjoyed our location and were able to easily explore the city.
And nothing is better after a long day of exploring then coming back to the hotel and enjoying a glass of sherry at the evening reception along with new friends.

We appreciate all of the time you have taken to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Kensington Park Hotel offered us a wonderful stay in San Francisco.
Pefect location walking distance to the beatiful shopping area, cable cars station, the hotel has beatiful furnitures, fashion rooms and many amenities.
The staff is very friendly and available to satisfy every needs.
We were 2 adults and two kids and we really enjoyed.
Also wifi is free and speedy.
If I will return in SF I will definitevely stay in this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ricco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We found the place to be very centrally located. All the staff were helpful and pleasant at the front desk. We had a nice room with a view of knob hill. It was not a large room but it was very clean. As we did not plan to spend our time in the room- it was perfect. We had the pleasure of dealing with three concierges while we were there. They were all patient with our questions and we found them to be very knowledgeable. And thanks to their advice we found ourselves at some very different and unique restaurants. The hotel offers free sherry, tea and water between 4 and 6 -which is a nice touch. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 212Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear 212Elaine,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience at our hotel. We are proud of the service and facilities and are happy you found them to be what one should expect at Kensington Park Hotel.

Please know we will share all of your compliments with everyone and especially with the individuals you have mentioned.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in room 66, the room was pleasant. Now we weren't sure on this place initially and it was between three at the time of booking (they were all similar location and pricing) but tripsdvisor reviews forced our hand to this one.

This place is quite nice but it doesn't have the first impression, it's more like a subtle charm that shines through the more you look around the place and spend time there.

It had everything you expected in a hotel, friendly staff, a good location to all city has to offer, clean and water and tea/coffee available anytime.

If I was to return I would stay there again. No doubt.

Definately reccomended the ' Hop on hop off bus' but Do it with deluxe as they have more buses. City sightseeing was lines gallore

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelovetravellingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's been nearly a decade since I last visited the beautiful city of San Francisco and The Kensington Park Hotel is a perfect compliment to the city. The service and staff were greatly accommodating. The room was always cleaned in an excellent manner daily even on days where I put up the "Do Not Disturb" sign and slept in, the cleaning staff always managed to get the job done at some point in the day. One of the more strong suits of the hotel was it's prime location. It is located in close proximity to the BART station and most markedly to Union Square and the Westfield Mall. You are always guaranteed a spot for a good breakfast and a nice walk to the famous Cable Cars located by the BART station. It is also a 20 min walk from the Embarcadero and an additional 10-15 minutes to Fisherman's Warf or At&t Park home of the 2010 World Championship SF Baseball Giants. If anyone were to ask me where I left my heart in San Francisco, I'd tell them The Kengsington Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Mic h,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your experience at our hotel. We are simply humbled by your kind words and will share it with our team.
We love it when a guest has the experience we want to deliver.

You are right about our location; we are perfectly located in the heart of San Francisco, making exploring quiet effortless.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,339 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
717 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
1,846 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $136 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing