We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel is an excellent value! It’s right by Union Square, near tons of shopping and food options. The hotel is older, but the décor is updated and very nice. The bed is VERY comfortable – made it hard to get up in the morning. There was a large flat screen TV (as you can see in the pics online), and we had no trouble hooking up the DVD player we brought with us. The standard room is pretty small, but I’m sure you can expect that in any downtown location. The only real challenge was figuring out where to store our suitcases that was out of the way. We ended up stacking them in the floor of the closet. I was a little worried about not having A/C (being from TX), but it was rarely warm in the room and opening the window solved that right away. We were on the 6th floor and didn’t have any trouble with noise at night except for a trumpet player in Union Square. He was a talented guy, but one night I had a little trouble getting to sleep around 10:30 or so because of it. Not the hotel’s fault, though. Maybe being on a higher floor would have helped. It’s not a very far walk to the train station/cable car turnaround at Market St.

We arrived pretty early (around 10AM) and they were very accommodating. Our room wasn’t ready yet, so they switched us to a different room so that we could go ahead and check in. We had requested a fridge and apparently they had already put it in the other room that wasn’t clean yet, so the front desk clerk asked for it to be moved. It was in our new room before we even made it up there! One day we wanted to try the sherry available in the afternoon, but we were a few minutes late. They kept it out for us so that we could try it. They also were able to help us with several general recommendations (best place to grab a quick bite late at night, etc). Seems like they have a great staff at this hotel. We really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great location right next to cable car and bus lines. Room is a little small, but I expected that. Very comfortable bed and pillows. No problems at all! Very friendly front desk and within walking distance to eating and shopping. We enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again if we return to San Francisco. Got a great deal on easyclicktravel, so couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastraveler0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Booked our stay at the Kensington Park hotel after much research (months in advance). We chose this hotel primarily for the location and proximity to all major destinations. I requested an early check in and was accomodated (which was lovely as I had endured a 9 hour travel day from the East coast). Immediately I walked the perfectly safe block to the center of Union Square. So much shopping, restaurants and very close to the Gold Dust Lounge - which was frequented daily (sometimes twice). We also were able to walk through Chinatown and into the North Beach area - then on to Lombard Street and down to Fisherman's wharf - lovely day of walking - the weather was fantastic!... We didn't use any public transportation but it would have been easy to get where we needed to go. Cabs were plentiful in the area.
The rooms were on the smallish side but it was exactly as I would have expected (actually a bit more roomy). The hotel had a vintage flair - very cute... a lot of personality. The housekeeping staff and handymen walking around the hotel were always very friendly and personable. The front desk staff did not seem familiar with the area AT ALL (horrible restaurant recommendation - KULETO'S - don't bother) and were not overly helpful. My husband called down on the last night of our stay to request hot water to the room - it never came.
Overall the stay was amazing... nice, clean rooms and great location. To be noted: it was an unusually warm week (70-80) and we were thrilled that we had a ceiling fan (apparently hard to come by in SF). We got a great rate for the area - can't beat it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is really charming. It has bundles of personality. I stayed for five nights with my partner in a "corner king view room" (#90). The view we had from the twelth floor was of the striking cityscape, and was well worth the extra money. The room itself was comfortable with a great bed. Furnishings are all a little quirky which we liked. It gave the place a less corporate feel. Location is bang smack next to Union Square with all the shops and restaurants you could ever need. The cable car also stops right at the end of the street too. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and will probably choose this hotel next time we're in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

1. Location - we couldn't have found a better location as it was close to transportation (Hop on Hop off buses and cable cars), Union Square,restaurants, entertainment and great shopping
2. Hotel environment - lots of character, well maintained, clean and comfortable rooms
3. Hotel staff - from the cleaning, maintenance to the front desk staff, they couldn't have have been more helpful and made us feel that they wanted us there. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The more expensive the room, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights during for our first time in San Francisco. The hotel is centrally located to everything you need. We stayed in a twin room that was very clean and very nicely decorated. It was a bit on the small size but was comfy and sufficient for us. The bathroom is also a good size. The only problem that we had was the noise on the street at night so double glazing would be a good idea but it wasn't a big problem. The staff were the most courteous and helpful that I have ever encountered in any hotel especially Bob the concierge, he really helped us out on a number of occasions. In all we had really enjoyable, comfortable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it!! Also the free tea and coffee in the morning plus the free sherry in the evening was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellelouise32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend on our vacation to San Francisco. We are in our late twenties, and I do have to say I sometimes felt as if I was being looked down upon by some of the front staff, or maybe it was just the fact that the concierge never seemed to smile. Housekeeping and other staff were very friendly though. Overall clean, you could tell it was an older building though. Curtains in the room had cobwebs and there was brown gunk (spilled pop?) all over the frame of the mirror in the room, but otherwise great. Probably the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in--great pillows and everything! Bathroom: the glass shower door spilled water, flooding the floor after every shower; no ventilation fan. We requested a non-street side view so we would have less noise, and it seemed to work (despite the unsightly view of the alley, but hey). The business center was nice to print things (like our boarding passes) except one computer was broken and the printer constantly jammed. We notified the front desk but when we checked on our last day, nothing was fixed. They will provide an in-room mini fridge and coffee maker upon request, which was a must have for us. The best part was the location--right on Union Square which is always bustling with action and shopping. Just steps from the trolleys and buses (by the way, take the buses everywhere--very cheap!). We weren't in the hotel often, but when we did come in from sightseeing it was pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
602 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,045 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $150 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing