We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #2 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

I stayed for several days at the Inn on Castro in early April 2007 and loved it. There are cheaper places around (and I've tried some) but this place to me was worth the extra money. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were outstanding. (In case it matters, I'm straight and I felt very much at home.) The proprietors were very friendly and accomodating. I stayed in the green room which had a private bathroom and shower down the hall and would most certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, great breakfast, good lcoation
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    116
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
314
129
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

I travelled from Australia to spend a week in San Francisco and was so pleased I chose the Inn on Castro! The location was great for enjoying the Castro nightlife and walking back afterwards, but was also a short cab ride away from other clubs and attractions. The tram/trolley car and train stops were also very close making this an ideal base for a tourist.

There was a lovely warm atmosphere, especially at breakfast where journeys and travel tips were shared amongst all the guests. Breakfast was delicious - freshly baked muffins, fresh fruit salads and a cooked dish of the day. The staff were welcoming, knowledgable and willing to provide advice and assistance.

The room was very well kept and the provision of a coffee maker and complimentary sodas/water was a lovely touch.

I recommend the Patio Suite which had a separate entrance to the main Inn, was spacious and airy and had large windows to the back garden. Also the airport shuttle was great value - the details are on the inn's website.

Thanks Jan and team for a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — location, staff, warmth
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the airport shuttle, buy a City Pass voucher book - great value!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Chipinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

Great location on Castro Street, huge apartment, friendly owners.

  • Liked — Location, size of apartment
  • Disliked — No airconditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne_Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

My partner and I spent Labor Day weekend at The Inn. The location was perfect; a half block off Market and right in the middle of the heart of the Castro. We were given a warm welcome by our host, Andrew. We were immediately offered a glass of white wine as Andrew proceeded to fill us in on the amenities of The Inn. Our wine glasses were kept full as Andrew showed us around and took us to our room. Our room was cozy but totally adequate, and it included a bedroom separate from a small living room stocked with books, fresh fruit and flowers. The room was Wi-Fi ready. We had a small fridge stocked with soda and water, and there was a coffee maker with two types of ground coffee (no extra charge). We never did have breakfast at the Inn, but I did walk in on it and saw our housemates enjoying themselves. I think we had the smallest room in the house, and it was just great, so I can only imagine the other rooms are even better. We paid around $110 a night. The only thing that made me a bit nervous was that our room had no windows to the outside, and had there been a fire, it would have greatly limited our ability to get out. The other rooms appeared to have windows to the outside, however. Great price to be right in the heart of the Castro.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Polaroider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2005

I stayed at the Castro Inn, and I absolutely loved it. I read some reviews regarding the noise level; however, I did not experience any problems. The room was cozy and comfortable. I plan on going back. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank latina3928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2005

A warm and friendly atmosphere. Jan & David, the Inn Keepers were very attentive to all my needs and were very helpful when it came giving directions and suggesting places to go and things to see in San Francisco or, if you prefer, just sit, have a glass of wine and relax. The full breakfast is excellent, made to order and included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2004

This is a wonderfully inviting, beautifully furnished inn, with sumptuous breakfast included in the cost. Located very close to rapid transit and close to many shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing