We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, and Roomy”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at their apartment - 88 Caselli- and it was, overall, very good accommodations. Very spacious, and well-stocked. Also very clean and quiet. I would definitely stay here again as it is only a short walk to castro.

The only drawbacks are that it was poorly lit, and the wireless connection did not work! And there wasn't a phonebook in the room, so it was very difficult for us to get information about the city and where we wanted to go. Also, the bed was hard, and the slip covers kept slipping off the pillows. But really, it was a nice place to stay and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redmountain65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 746 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

The location of this B&B could not be better, ideally placed for the Castro . David and Jan made us feel very welcome, even though we arrived late. Our room had superb views over the Castro and up tp the hills above, and the bed was extremely comfortable (the White Room). Breakfasts were very good too, and all very good value for money. The next time we come to San Francisco (which I hope is soon) we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank richardOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed at one the Inn's self-catered apartments at 88 Caselli. We initially had a bit of a problem with double booking, but they were extremely apologetic and enabled an alternate arrangement for our first night. Once we got there, though, i was pretty impressed. For the price of decent HoJo or Holiday Inn (+/-$150) we had a whole apartment in a great neighborhood. The kitchen was fully stocked with equipment and has a water filter. My only complaints would be that it's a little dark and the pillows are slippery. It's not romantic in a frilly Victorian way, but it certainly worked for what brought to it! A grocery store was a block away and Castro street was a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GloriaWandrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

we arrived after a long drive thru, what felt like, half of the US and were greeted warmly by Jan.
He, David and Andrew made us feel like part of the family rather than like guests. Our room was comfy and sharing a bath was no problem at all (at least not for us). The castro itself was a great place to stay (for not-gay people and I guess for gay it is as great as it was for us) and Jan and David gave us a lot of great tips on where to dine or what to do/what to see!
Breakfast was yummy! Freshly baked muffins, eggs, fruit, real müsli. We nearly skipped lunch (or just had a bagel or so...).

After reading the previous reviews we brought earplugs since the house is older and so the rooms facing the street are a bit louder but there are also earplugs available at the inn. If you need more silence I guess getting a room facing the backyard would be sensible

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tini-naeht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I have stayed here several times and am always very happy with the property and the staff. The location is amazing, two doors north of Market and Castro, right in the heart of all the fun and near Muni.
David, Andrew and Yon are all amazingly friendly and inviting The breakfasts were wonderful as well.
The rooms are typical B&B and the rest of the home is comfy. I stay all over and just love the Inn. The internet is a bit slow but really, I was here on pleasure so I didnt really need it as much had I been on business.
STAY HERE!! You wont regret it

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2007

We have been staying at the Inn for nearly 20 years off and on. This has been one of the real memories that keep on floodling back. This is because the Inn is always so constant in the excelllent service and friendly atmosphere that greets you every time you stay. The rooms have been upgraded over the last few years with nice touches such as plasma screens, internet, and good in room radio. The bedrooms are kept spotless and the private bathroom in most rooms is a treat.
Then there is the breakfast! The home made muffins and quiche are just to die for! The hot meal choice each day is great and I just love the blueberry waffles!
As an Aussie who has that 15hrs of flight from Sydney to San Franscisco, to arrive at the inn with the smile and welcome that is always their is just great.
As gay men it is great as it is so close to the Castro. As a tourist it is so easy to get around with the buses, the Muni (half a block away) and the F line trams that all go downtown. All just a minute or two away,so getting around is so easy.
Keep it up guys we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aussierainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We arrived at the door only to be met warmly and were helped in with all our luggage. That was the beginning of a very pleasant, comfortable experience. The breakfast is pure enjoyment... a different table setting each day. They make the stay personal and caring. We will be back November 07.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Heiditaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,500 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
975 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Union Square
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 72 in San Francisco
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing