We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent 4 days in 12/13 at the Inn on Castro in the White Room. Room was basic with what I would call "dated modern" furnishings, king size bed, small fridge, small TV. Bath is painted bright colors-red, blue, gold. Nice big shower but no tub. Nice sheets and towels. The view of Castro and the hills above is great. We did hear some street noise but the location is very convenient, just half-block from the corner of Market and Castro with MUNI streetcar, bus and train connections at the corner. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were great, with an egg dish or pancakes, fruit salad, cereal, and home baked breads each morning. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice international visitors to chat with each morning.

Room Tip: White room was on back of house, next to kitchen, sunny and good view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAtallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Castro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 723 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a trip to San Francisco for her birthday and after doing some research I settled on Inn on Castro for our stay. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in the lovely patio suite. It was quiet and tucked away with a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was served daily by Jan, who was a very kind and funny man...and what a cook! He offered us ideas for things to do and see during our trip.

The Inn on Castro was beautiful and elegant without being pretentious. My girlfriend and I have already agreed that it will be where we stay on our next visit. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeryella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Being shown such amazing hospitality at Inn on Castro. Really lovely room and living area - with gourmet breakfast and wonderful hosts any time of the day.

Thank you - I'll be back next time I come to SF.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethanator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My 2nd home keeps getting better and better. Renovations to the Big Caselli apt have been going on. Love the comfort, sitting on the deck and relaxing amongst the flowers. Always new things to enjoy and keeps me coming back. The second I open that door, I know I'm home. The staff at the Inn is welcoming and delightful, centrally located. Jan is the perfect host. Sam makes a tremendous breakfast and I'm already looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank M00se1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

You can't beat being pampered. Great breakfast every morning. Jan and Sam were delightful and very helpful with information about the city. The location was perfect for our adventures in the city and the neighborhood. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room which has an attached sunroom. Nice view of the area. It's a great...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bismarck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Best place we found in the Castro district. Very clean and very nice workers. Great breakfast prepared each morning was a nice touch. Close to everything along with the Muni and the F line trolley cable cars. Will stay here in a heartbeat!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn and will surely return. Jan and the staff were so welcoming and accommodating; our room was comfortable, charming, and spotlessly maintained; and the location was ideal for us and so close to public transportation. The breakfasts were delicious with an ever changing selection of cooked entrees, fresh baked breads, and fresh fruit. Our experience could not have been any better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sas427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing