We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely inn in the heart of Castro” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Homely inn in the heart of Castro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having stayed before in downtown San Francisco I really wanted to stay in one of the vibrant local neighbourhoods and selected Inn on Castro based on the great reviews.

My partner and I were in the patio suite which has a separate entrance to the main inn. It is actually in a converted garage and the room does have that feel about it with low ceilings and an odd room configuration. It had a lovely view over the garden.

Our room was comfortable and adequate. The bathroom is very small. There were some lovely personal touches including shower gel, water and soft drinks in fridge that were complimentary.

Overall feel was like staying at a friends place. I prefer my accommodation to be a little higher end but this was ok, in a great area and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    117
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
315
129
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a really great experience. Excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, high quality sheets, unlimited free bottled water...really just a fun, comfortable, pleasant place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time I'm in San Francisco.

Room Tip: shower temperature in brown room was kind of tricky to adjust
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful visit to San Francisco, made all the better by the outstanding accomodations and service at the Inn on Castro. The room was very clean and neat, the service was outstanding. The Inn Keeper was an excellent host and great cook. Proximity to Muni was a big plus, easy to get anywhere from there. We will be back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my second stay at The Inn on Castro this year. I love the quiet location just up from everything in the Castro and within walking distance to the Muni and buses to get everywhere in the city. The house and rooms are warm and cozy - all decorated with an original, retro, homey atmosphere and always very clean with all the amenities you need to be comfortable. You begin each day with a delicious homemade breakfast and end with a brandy in your room. For me, The Inn is much better than a big hotel - it's like staying with friends. Thank you, Jan and staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Jan was extremely helpful with getting us familiar with the area, along with a bit of history facts. His breakfasts were amazing and the place was clean, centrally located near public transit and for driving into and out of the waterfront area. We really enjoyed our stay, the other guests were friendly and a pleasure to get to know. Coffee was tasty!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripJunkie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Left it too late to book into Inn on Castro but settled for the well appointed 2-bed apartment on Douglass St - just a short walk from Castro, via 16th street.

Lovely quiet street full of 'typical' San Francisco style clapper board houses.

The light and airy, self contained, ground floor (or 1st as they call it) apartment was brilliant - 2 large bedrooms, sitting room, bathroom and toilet plus 2nd wc. Huge, fully fitted kitchen/diner with full size hob and oven, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher etc). Access to terrace and garden. Wi-fi throughout.

Local shops on 16th St - especially Molllie Stones' upmarket grocery store and deli and also Ferrari deli on Castro - first class.

Location is handy for gay bars and restaurants on Castro and public transport. Streetcar from junction of Market and Castro to waterfront (along with Metro services).

Did not meet owner Jan but collected keys from Sam at the Inn who was extremely helpful especially with my partner's medical emergency.

We were here for 5 days and returning to the tranquility of the apartment was just what we needed. Will definitely recommend and visit again - I'm sure.

Stephen and Paul

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We rented an apartment there in 2008 and we absolutely loved it!!!! it was situated in Caselli Av., so close (less than 10 minutes walking) to the center of Castro, THE place to be. There's a supermarket open 24/7 on the way back from the bars and pubs.
The apartment was typical SF style with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, balcony, it was very clean, everything we needed.
It was a little more expensive than renting a room, but it so worth it. It was like we actually lived in Castro.
Next time I'll go to SF (which should be pretty soon), I'm gonna go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing