We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of noisy front rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Beware of noisy front rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Unless you are a very heavy sleeper you will not get a good nights rest in the front rooms facing Castro. I took the chance and was disappointed. The room itself was clean albeit a bit funky and worn. Vertical blinds on the windows did not give a feeling of privacy and did not block the street lights very well adding to the disruption. The bed was very comfortable. The meal was very good as Jan is an excellent cook. Staff was very nice and Jan helped me plan my day. Other guest were very diverse and interesting.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should not stay in the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
315
131
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my first trip with my boyfriend to San Francisco and it was super fabulous. The great organic breakfast every morning was absolutely one of the highlights of the trip. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and helped us find great places to visit during our stay.

If you are a GLBTQ individual or couple this is the place to stay..in the heart of the Castro, literally within walking distance from virtually every part of the Castro.

Im certain we will back again and will book the Inn on Castro!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were two adult couples travelling, and this apartment was a great place to stay. The Douglas apartment is tastefully decorated, with tons of common space in the kitchen/dining area and the living room, one full and one half bath, and two large bedrooms with comfortable beds. Even better, the backyard has a lovely lemon tree. The apartment is in a charming old San Francisco house, with high ceilings, wooden floors, and pretty little architectural details. It's nice to stay in a home rather than a soulless hotel.

The location was great. Castro is a couple of blocks away, and both 18th St. and Castro have plenty of dining options. There's a grocery store around the corner if you want to cook for yourself. We didn't have a car, but that wasn't a problem as transit is very easy to access and there are lots of interesting places to explore in very walkable distances.

When we come back to San Francisco, we'll be hoping to book here again!

Room Tip: We had to check into the Inn itself, and it seemed like a great place to stay for smaller groups, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BugandWog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very pleasant change from the industrial luxury that the hotel business has generally become. The innkeeper, Jan, has created a small European-style country inn and planted it in the gay heart of, the Castro. The welcome is warm and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean, and the family-style breakfast each morning is done with a creative flair that one might expect, but still feels like home. My one criticisms is minor: the wifi was only about 80% reliable. I hope that's not enough to dissuade anyone from booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Charming place
Charming rooms, clean and quiet
The breakfast is fantastic : fruit, eggs, etc
The owner is very welcoming and kind
A place to stay when you sent to visit san Francisco
The tramway is just next to the B&B

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mure1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the first five nights, starting Christmas night, my daughter and I shared 90 Casselli, a two- bedroom apartment rented thru the Inn. Reasonably priced, well-appointed, wi-if included, but we didn't care for most of the artwork....rather depressing.. Bathroom upgraded to a rain shower, but the water pressure could have been stronger. Very nice neighborhood; easy walk to my daughter's home.

Last night spent in the white room at the Inn; really lovely. Jan, the host, very nice, and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Choice of two hot items, mushroom scramble, or apple pancakes' that morning. Plenty of fruit, cereal and nut bread.

The traffic and trolleys were a bit loud in the morning, but this is a city neighborhood after all. The Inn is just above the intersection of Market and Castro...just perfect for a quick trip to the Creme brûlée cart.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MBHDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Douglass St 2-bedroom apt over 2012-13 New Year's holiday. Very quiet location, yet within walking distance of Castro commercial area. Facilities very spacious for 3 adults. Able to host 9 for drinks before dinner out without feeling cramped. A full 2 baths would be a plus (& a higher room rate) but for 3 adults the smallish 1 1/2 baths sufficed. Unrestricted street parking available a short walk uphill. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBV245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing