We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it doesn't get any better”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“it doesn't get any better”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We rented a self cattering apartment, the one on Douglass Street. It's almost a little house, bigger than what we expected.

First, the location: perfect!
At a walking distance of all commodities (supermarket with organic food, post office, café, restaurants, cable car line,...), the apartment is still very quiet. It is amazing that the location is so central and we were able to enjoy a great night of sleep without hearing any noise around.
Plus the houses in the neighborood are beautiful, surounded by beautiful scented trees and flowers.
Now the home:it is very charming, decorated and furnished with taste. The beds in both bedrooms are very comfortable, The bathroom is small but very functional and enjoyable. Fresh towels and big bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided.
The sitting area is beautiful, with antique furniture and a fire place, and windows offering a nice view on Douglass street.
The kitchen is fully equiped and the cabinet was full of condiments, coffee, tea, pasta,... everything you may need in case you arrive starving or tired and/or with a kid and just want to eat pasta, take a bath and go to bed!
Oh, and there's a washer, a drier, and a dishwasher!
The outide patio and the garden are very nice, and what a luxury to have a fig tree and an orange tree in your backyard in San Francisco!
Finally, the owner is very accomodating and nice.
Really, I can't say enough about this place, a jewel in the heart of San Francisco.
I am not gay, I stayed there with my kid, my mother and grandmother, and we had the time of our life, and couldn't have picked a more friendly, beautiful, central neighborhood in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asianprincess87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
319
132
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was in SF for a conference and stayed through the weekend to visit family. My husband and I stayed here about a year ago and we were happy to see there were rooms available for this trip! We stayed in the Green Room. The room is spacious and the bed is really comfortable. There was a decanter of scotch in the room and bottled water and pop at no charge. There's a great library with a variety of books and magazines.
A huge bonus is the Inn is just 1/2 a block from the Muni station, which made it really easy to get to my conference at the Moscone Center and go sightseeing around town. There is a grocery store a couple blocks away and tons of great restaurants, shops, and even a Philz coffee in the neighborhood. Jan makes an amazing breakfast too - don't miss it! This is my favorite place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Inn on Castro. Jan was an excellent host and breakfast was totally amazing. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for Jan or any of his staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending Inn on Castro to any guest.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. We chose the 'white' room which had the king size bed, but any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wonderfully appointed with thoughtful details! The location was convenient for accessing the city, the breakfast always a surprise and well prepared and the company (Jan and the other guests at breakfast) stimulating! There were robes provided in our rooms for trips down the hall to the shower and toliet, wonderful sheets and pillows and even a computer in the room. Jan made all the details come together and I would recommend a stay to anyone looking for an alternative to the 'boring' hotels. Just wonderful!

Room Tip: Being in the 'front' rooms can be a little noisy - but earplugs are provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights here on our way to Carmel for our honeymoon! Jan is an excellent host and cook. My favorite part of our stay was visiting with him during our leisurely and delicious breakfasts. Excellent location and value too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A Very cosy Inn in a Victorian house. Very convenient location , close to metro and tram. The breakfast shared with other guests is excellent and the owner thoughtful. May be noisy due to street... But earplugs are provided

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a great time at the Inn. Very centrally located with buses and subway right there. The Innkeeper, Jan, was exceptionally helpful finding the best route for me to get to a location off the beaten track. He knew about the various landmark stairways in the surrounding neighborhood and how to get to them as well. The hot breakfasts were made to order and quite good. The big bowl of fresh cut fruit and wholesome toast was a nice departure from the regular Costco muffins and packaged yoghurts at many B&Bs. We stayed in the Hideaway suite which had a large sitting room separate from the bathroom and bedroom. It was a little bit dark as it was under the rest of the house, but suited our purposes. My only complaint is that the shower was small and the water not nearly hot enough for my liking. But that's so minimal compared to the rest of the overal experience which was quite wonderful. I definitely would recommend this B&B. It was by far the best we had during our 4 night stay in the bay area.

Room Tip: If you want a private entrance, the Hideaway Suite is the one to request. It has a separate side ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 72 in San Francisco
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing