We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening at the INN o n Castro”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Inn on Castro and found it a wonderful place to stay. Our room was clean and cozy with a fabulous shower! The breakfast served the next morning was better than any you could get in a restaurant, and the location is convenient to restaurants and public transportation. The owner was friendly, accommodating and a delight to converse with.
This will be our place to stay when we have time to spend in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room, located in the back. It was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbird231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Castro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 723 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our second stay at Inn on Castro... and was wonderful. The Innkeeper is a wonderful host, and also a very good cook. Breakfast is the best time, with meeting other guests, engaging in all topics of conversation, as well as , meeting people from all over the world.

We will be back again next year... cant think of a better place to stay.. great location.

Thanks Jan

Room Tip: If your a smoker... request Red Room, with access to Patio
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel recently and I'm so glad we did! Location is perfect if you want to spend time around Castro, it's just 20 metres from the start of the main strip but on a quiet side so you get all the advantages without any additional noise. It's equally close to Castro Muni station from which you can get into town in no time ($2). Given it's location it's also ideal for gay visitors.

The breakfasts were delicious, a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, cake and either a cooked egg-based dish or pancakes, both delicious and with a different selection each day. The dining room is also very beautifully decorated next to a nice living room where to relax.

You can choose the room you like based on availability, we had to chose one in the basement so we had no windows and a separate entrance but the room was lovely, good size with a small living area with a sofa and armchair to relax in. Have a look at the pictures on their website, they seem to be a good representation of the rooms.

Jan, the host was very friendly and always helpful, giving us all the advice we needed and making recommendations of how to spend our time there.

I would definitely go back in future trips, it was such a lovely place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location, very good breakfast, good conversation around the breakfast table.
The more expensive ground-floor room we started in was great - quiet, comfortable, a separate living room so one could read while the other slept. We then moved upstairs to the less expensive room with the toilet down the hall. It was too noisy but otherwise fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My mother, husband, and I stayed at the Caselli apartment run by the Inn on Castro. It was a perfect, beautiful getaway - a spacious, clean, and well-appointed two bedroom ground floor flat with living room, lovely bathroom, and full kitchen. I was impressed on how many thoughtful details the owners had included.

For example, the kitchen cabinets had some coffee, creamer, sugar and sweetener -- two kinds of instant coffee -- oatmeal and granola -- several soups -- and multiple herbs and spices to help with cooking. There is a fine local natural foods grocery store 3 blocks away, which made it easy to prepare meals and snacks. They also left a comprehensive list of nearby restaurants, and there were shelves of fiction and nonfiction books.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay got off of to a slightly bumpy start as our rooms were not ready at check-in time which was difficult because we had plans and needed to change and leave. We were given a very helpful introduction to SF with a map and suggestions of things to do and transport options. We stayed in one of the apartments but it was not clear when we booked that this was at a different location which is a 10 mins walk. Luckily our bags were transported over there otherwise we would have had to call a taxi. Not quite so close to transport but a lovely, quiet SF street. No breakfast for us. The apartment was a great size. Bathroom modern. TV was in one of the bedrooms which was a bit of a pain. We enjoyed staying here as an option for two friends rather than a twin room as we had two generous sized bedrooms. That being said the rooms could definitely do with a lick of paint and an update as they haven't been decorated for quite awhile and there was a dead caterpillar in the middle of one of the bedroom floors!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripgeek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are big supporters of B&B's. Needless to say, we've had our fair share of the good, bad and ugly of this aspect of local hospitality.
The short version: If you want a delicious ( organic) breakfast, a great location, a spacious, clean room - look no further.
The long version: We were in SF for 5 days and were so in love with this place:
SWEETEST host: Yong was such a delight! He is truly an old soul from another lifetime and we had such great conversations about life and travel. He knows the city really well and will help you get about most efficiently!
- AWESOME location: on the corner of Market/Castro - across the street from the Castro Mkt MUNI), a block from a bunch of great restaurants and bars, and the tram service that takes you virtually everywhere in the city
YUMMY breakfast: Freshly made hot entree, HEALTHY without being bland, organic, complemented with generous portions of fruit, yoghurt, baked goods, juice/coffee/tea
GREAT service: We requested our shower head to be change and it was taken care of within the hour!
I mean..what more can you ask for! Don't waste your $$ on an impersonal, overpriced hotel chain. Come here!!

Room Tip: The Biblioteca is right at the back, has a king bed and is really quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing