We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Castro”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find in Castro”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel recently and I'm so glad we did! Location is perfect if you want to spend time around Castro, it's just 20 metres from the start of the main strip but on a quiet side so you get all the advantages without any additional noise. It's equally close to Castro Muni station from which you can get into town in no time ($2). Given it's location it's also ideal for gay visitors.

The breakfasts were delicious, a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, cake and either a cooked egg-based dish or pancakes, both delicious and with a different selection each day. The dining room is also very beautifully decorated next to a nice living room where to relax.

You can choose the room you like based on availability, we had to chose one in the basement so we had no windows and a separate entrance but the room was lovely, good size with a small living area with a sofa and armchair to relax in. Have a look at the pictures on their website, they seem to be a good representation of the rooms.

Jan, the host was very friendly and always helpful, giving us all the advice we needed and making recommendations of how to spend our time there.

I would definitely go back in future trips, it was such a lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    117
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
318
132
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location, very good breakfast, good conversation around the breakfast table.
The more expensive ground-floor room we started in was great - quiet, comfortable, a separate living room so one could read while the other slept. We then moved upstairs to the less expensive room with the toilet down the hall. It was too noisy but otherwise fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My mother, husband, and I stayed at the Caselli apartment run by the Inn on Castro. It was a perfect, beautiful getaway - a spacious, clean, and well-appointed two bedroom ground floor flat with living room, lovely bathroom, and full kitchen. I was impressed on how many thoughtful details the owners had included.

For example, the kitchen cabinets had some coffee, creamer, sugar and sweetener -- two kinds of instant coffee -- oatmeal and granola -- several soups -- and multiple herbs and spices to help with cooking. There is a fine local natural foods grocery store 3 blocks away, which made it easy to prepare meals and snacks. They also left a comprehensive list of nearby restaurants, and there were shelves of fiction and nonfiction books.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay got off of to a slightly bumpy start as our rooms were not ready at check-in time which was difficult because we had plans and needed to change and leave. We were given a very helpful introduction to SF with a map and suggestions of things to do and transport options. We stayed in one of the apartments but it was not clear when we booked that this was at a different location which is a 10 mins walk. Luckily our bags were transported over there otherwise we would have had to call a taxi. Not quite so close to transport but a lovely, quiet SF street. No breakfast for us. The apartment was a great size. Bathroom modern. TV was in one of the bedrooms which was a bit of a pain. We enjoyed staying here as an option for two friends rather than a twin room as we had two generous sized bedrooms. That being said the rooms could definitely do with a lick of paint and an update as they haven't been decorated for quite awhile and there was a dead caterpillar in the middle of one of the bedroom floors!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripgeek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are big supporters of B&B's. Needless to say, we've had our fair share of the good, bad and ugly of this aspect of local hospitality.
The short version: If you want a delicious ( organic) breakfast, a great location, a spacious, clean room - look no further.
The long version: We were in SF for 5 days and were so in love with this place:
SWEETEST host: Yong was such a delight! He is truly an old soul from another lifetime and we had such great conversations about life and travel. He knows the city really well and will help you get about most efficiently!
- AWESOME location: on the corner of Market/Castro - across the street from the Castro Mkt MUNI), a block from a bunch of great restaurants and bars, and the tram service that takes you virtually everywhere in the city
YUMMY breakfast: Freshly made hot entree, HEALTHY without being bland, organic, complemented with generous portions of fruit, yoghurt, baked goods, juice/coffee/tea
GREAT service: We requested our shower head to be change and it was taken care of within the hour!
I mean..what more can you ask for! Don't waste your $$ on an impersonal, overpriced hotel chain. Come here!!

Room Tip: The Biblioteca is right at the back, has a king bed and is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I had a perfect weekend here. It's like having your own home base in the fun Castro area. Stayed in the white room, amazing view. Bonuses: Decanter of free whiskey and a little fridge stocked with free drinks. Lots of books to borrow. Epic breakfasts. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: White room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had several days of business in the Castro and wanted something close and convienient. The Inn on Castro met all my needs. Easy walking distance, good public transportation and accomodatring staff. Charming old inn, the real San Francisco expierience. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abcamp214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 73 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing