We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay at the Inn whenever I travel to San Francisco. The location is great and the food and service are excellent. I Highly recommend it to anyone traveling to San Fran. It is like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 757 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having lived in the Bay Area prior to my visit back this last weekend, I knew of the Inn on Castro. However, I did not know how lovely it is inside. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the food, the other guests, the owner, and the patio. This place is a great value in a great location!!

Room Tip: Loved the Patio Room...spacious and with use of the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldesbrisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the apartment on 322 Douglas Street, Inn on Castro. The apartment is in a great location, clean and decorated nicely. We loved the wifi, location, and the addition of a sitting room. This is a great place to stay if you need more than one bedroom.

Our only complaint is that it was not made clear to us that the apartment was a 10 minute walk from the Inn. We arrived at the Inn by taxi from the airport and then were told we would have to either walk or take another taxi to the apartment. It would have been more welcoming after a long flight and $45 taxi ride for the Inn to arrange to meet us at the apartment with keys or at the least to let us know that the apartment was not on the same property as the Inn.

Other than that small issue, the Inn on Castro apartment was great and i would definitely stay there again and recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This B&B could be a model of what would be a better hotel management in USA. The staff is friendly and efficient, the room is wide and the bed of extremely good quality. The street is quiet and the place very close to Haight Ashbury and Castro (Walking distance) . The F tram is at a few meter from your room and goes to fisherman wharf without changing line. The breakfast is a must: home made cake, fruits, eggs with various and delicious preparation.. European quality in USA..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Hideaway suite at the Inn on Castro has the advantage of easing in and out of it at street level. Helps if you dont have to lug your bags up and down stairs, so you dont end up with sore shoulders at the end of a short break. The bedroom was well furnished and serviced daily, bathroom was clean well supplied with amenities and always smelled fresh. Breakfast quality was consistently high.

Room Tip: For those who want to avoid climbing stairs, the patio suite is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habib_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at. I'm so glad we decided to! It is right off of Castro and Market where there are so many great restaurants to walk to. It is also so centered in SF that you could just take a short bus ride to anywhere you needed to get to. Jan is so nice! He would chat with us during breakfast and I wanted to stay longer! The breakfast is so delicious! Every morning I couldn't wait to walk upstairs and start eating!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have physical limitations and cannot negotiate stairs well so when I was making a phone reservation with Melanie she recommended the ground level Patio Suite. It was perfect...large and sunny and easily able to accomodate a group of friends over for snacks before going out to dinner. Melanie brought down plates, forks, napkins and glasses for our beautiful cheese, salimi, grapes and olives platter ordered from the nearby A. G. Ferrari deli.

Jon, the proprietor, couldn't have been more helpful and met my every need, bringing down a delicious breakfast every morning and being sure I was fully accomodated. Complimentary water and sodas in the fridge is a plus.

Room Tip: I recommend the Patio Suite with its seperate ground level entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyon339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
998 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#13 of 231 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing