We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations and host at the Castro”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Three of us stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments-from beginning to end, the hotel was very accommodating, from payment to providing information on attractions, restaurants, travel tips, even parking! Very reasonable rates. Highly recommend if you want neighborhood flavor rather than the touristy experience if Union Square (where we walked out of to restaurants) or Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: Review website for single or group travel options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 753 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This well appointed and clean apartment is the main floor of a 2 story home. We have stayed in this unit on 3 separate occasions and have always been very pleased. There are two bedrooms each with a queen size bed, a recently renovated bathroom, living room, large kitchen, dining area and outside patio. The property is located on Caselli Street and is very quiet with other like homes. All of this is a 5 minute walk to everything the Castro has to offer. Also within walking is the street car on Market Street and a MUNI Station. I cannot recommend Jan's place any higher for cleanliness, convenience and fun this is the place to stay in the Castro.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Everything in the Castro is walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights with Jan in April. This is a proper bed and breakfast experience - it is not a hotel. Breakfasts are communal, and delicious - every day we had a different baked item on the table along with cereals, fruit salad, fresh juice and great coffee, and a choice of two different made-to-order hot items (scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, pecan pancakes and strawberries, poached eggs on wilted chard with walnut toast etc.). You really feel like a guest in Jan's house, and meeting the other guests over breakfast is all part of the fun. Obviously, this is a gay-run B&B, and many guests (but not all) are gay, making it a diverse and interesting place to stay.

The location is great - 1 minute from tube and tram, and right in the heart of the Castro, with many great restaurants and lively gay bars. Jan provides a very useful listing of some of the best restaurants in the area - all the ones we tried were very good indeed.

Our room was the Hideaway Suite in the basement. If you want a lovely quiet retreat, with a separate entrance from the main house, this is just perfect. As a basement room, it does not have any natural light in the bedroom - but we were sleeping there, not sunbathing - we found it snug, and slept very well. Free sodas in the fridge and quality coffee/tea in the room were nice touches.

Would we go back - yes - we loved the city, had great fun in the Castro, and found that this was the perfect relaxing place to finish our American road trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

i've stayed at the inn on castro as a solo traveller and this year i was on a business trip with my team and we all stayed with jan, some in the main house and some in one of the apartments. both times it was great! it's perfectly located and suited for you if you're not a big fan of anonymous business hotels in the financial district or don't feel like staying at one the overstuffy 'historical' places. it's affordable, comfortable, friendly, uncomplicated, jan is a wonderful and helpful host and does make the best breakfasts ever. totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippy163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Inn on Castro offers 2 styles of accommodation, hotel and apartment. We wanted apartment on Castro as we were staying for a week. We picked Inn/hotel was on a lovely spot on Castro st, we did not realize the apartment was a walk up the hill to Caselli street. The apartment was in lovely quiet neighbourhood, but not near exciting Castro Street and area. Never the less, it was a nice stay, with 2 bedrooms, big kitchen and living room. The apartment did need some maintenance, internal doors, and also kitchen cabinets needed some work.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I had a wonderful stay! Jan loves what he does and it shows! The second I walk in the door he greeted me and made me feel at home. He provided me with a map of the city and a list of restraunts to eat at. The breakfast is absolutely amazing! The Inn was very clean and cozy as was the bed I slept in. I really did feel like I was at my home away from home during my stay. I will definately be staying there again on my next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It is hard to say what is better, the gourmet breakfast served with the grace, every day we had different plates, the attention to detail of the decor, the absolute gracefulness of Jan the host. Meticulous in directions and fantastic in advise concerning restaurants or shows. The location is perfect with the antique F tram leisurely getting you downtown or the fast muni, connecting to trips farther afield.
I have never rated anything perfect, but this one is it. Not to be faulted, well .... The wifi was a bit fickle at times but promptly reset when mentioned. Even the Japanese made sure there was a little imperfection in their masterwork.
The Castro of course is a vibrant area with always something happening.
Thanks Jan !

Room Tip: The white room has a fantastic view. There was normal traffic noise. Great decorations and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,541 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
445 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing