We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by first impressions”
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boheme
Ranked #107 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When we entered this hotel we were put off by the long climb up the stairs (with luggage) and the unwelcoming odour. However we ended up really enjoying our stay. There are two reasons for that-the location and the staff. North Beach is a great place to stay. There were many restaurants, Italian cafes (for those sinful cappuccino and pastry breakfasts-try Mara's across the street), delis and (Chinese) grocery stores within steps of the hotel. We never left the neighborhood for dinner and never had a disappointing meal. Public transportation is nearby and you can walk to several tourist attractions (Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf, Telegraph Hill). The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, patient and helpful, as well as very knowledgeable.
Our room, while on the small side, was immaculately clean as was the dated but functional bathroom.
On the downside, there is no elevator and all rooms are on the second and third floors of the building and they have no one to help with your luggage. So if you're not capable of climbing 2-3 flights of stairs with your bags, this is not the place for you. The odour I mentioned could probably be eliminated with a good carpet cleaning (upstairs, including in our room there was no odour).
We read that rooms overlooking Columbus would be noisy so we requested a quiet room. It was indeed quiet, because the windows face a narrow ventilation shaft rather than the street. The only problem with that was the room tended to be a bit stuffy and warm. There was a fan in the room but finding a place to plug it in and set it up was a challenge. A ceiling fan would have made a huge difference.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants comfort (but not luxury) in a great location as long as they can haul their luggage up those stairs.

Room Tip: Our room (206) was apparently bigger than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although the hotel room was nice and clean, its location in North Beach caused us many problems. We arrived on the day of a huge street festival, which closed the street in front of the hotel. That was bad enough, but we couldn't find any parking -- all the parking garages were FULL -- and not even a place to stop and figure out what to do next. The hotel clerk was less than accommodating, telling my wife and I, who had been traveling since early morning, to do some sight-seeing. All we wanted to do was get to the hotel. I finally parked illegally and talked to the clerk, who said her hands were tied because we booked through an online hotel service, booking.com. I called booking.com and was told there was little they could do except to ask the hotel to find other accommodations. OK, since this was the weekend of the San Francisco Marathon, Stanford's graduation and who knows how many other festivals, guess that the chances of finding a room for two nights was? We called the hotel back, where the clerk said she did try to find us a room but was unsuccessful. Because the festival was winding down in the late afternoon, I figured that the parking garages that had been closed just might have spaces. That turned out to be correct, so we checked in to find that our second-floor room overlooked the main beer garden. And there was no way to change rooms. So, as soon as we settled, I called the hotel that we had booked in Napa and asked if we could add on a second night. Thankfully, they were able to do so, so we cut our two-night stay at the Boheme to one night. The room itself was very nice ... just what you expect from a boutique hotel. The neighborhood was nice, if you got away from the festival. Very many nice Italian stores, bakeries, coffee houses, much like we have seen in Italy. Finally, when I checked out, the clerk (a new one) said, "We didn't charge you for the second night?" Are you kidding? We should have been given a discount for all the hassle and stress that we had been through, but we just wanted to get on the road. Finally, I called earlier in the week to confirm the reservation. That would have been a great time to tell us that there might be some problems getting to the hotel because of the festival, or they possibly could have emailed us. A little information would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odoyle584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful. Helpful friendly staff who are knowledgeable about their neighborhood and city! Clean, quaint room, loved everything about the decor. Walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do while visiting. Bus stops on the corner if needed. Airport shuttle arranged by desk clerk. Outside noises may bother insomniacs or light sleepers but was not a problem for myself. Window overlooked Italian cafes, green trees, and usually let in cool air. Will definitely stay at Hotel Boheme on any future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is listed in guidebooks as "most romantic" and described as a quaint gem... I just don't understand the enthusiasm for this place. As everyone says, the rooms a small -- VERY small, in fact -- especially the bathrooms (you can't even turn around in the shower..). The furnishings are functional -- but are old and worn. Interior rooms are airless and dark, since they look into a tiny air shaft. Exterior rooms are so noisy you really can't sleep with the window open, which is a big problem since that side gets sun all afternoon and heats up -- and since there is no air conditioning -- just small fans. The temperature was only about 72 degrees when we were there. and the room was stifling. Overlooking all this by calling the place "European style" is just silly -- I've stayed in much nicer (and cheaper) older, small European hotels. At ~$200-215 per night, this hotel is priced at about 80-90% of what you'd pay for a hotel without any of these issues. We stayed one night and moved elsewhere. One thing the hotel does have going for it is that the staff are VERY nice and accommodating. If you have your heart set on staying in North Beach and you are not planning to be there more than a night or two -- and if the weather is cool, maybe this is an OK place -- otherwise, keep looking.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are dark and airless, street side are rooms extremely hot and noisy -- not much of a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank out8974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful service in this European-style hotel in the heart of North Beach. Prior trips to SF had stays in chain hotels in either the financial district or the wharf, and you are close to either. We shared our 16th anniversary and no regrets. Don't expect amenities you get at any hotel chain in any city anywhere. Do expect a unique experience and history behind an anchor to the art and beat era of North Beach. Canalli around the corner has the best tiramisu, ever. True, a bit noisy at night on Columbus, but that is all part of it.

Room Tip: Columbus street-side rooms overlook the music of North Beach nightlife. A couple will need the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel Boheme is a very nice hotel. I was a bit surprised by how small the rooms are but I'm a typical American used to large hotel rooms. I've never been to Europe but my husband says they are more European style rooms. The hotel clerk was very kind and informative. The rooms were clean and they offer a nice night cap on the house! The location is perfect. We walked to the local pubs and ate dinner at an Italian restaurant nearby. I didn't sleep very well though due to the bar across the street. I am a light sleeper and the crowds were very loud until around 2:30am.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hotel Boheme is a small, hidden gem located in the heart of the Italian North Beach area of San Francisco. This old hotel is located on the second and third floors above store front-shops including an Italian pastry shop. It is a walk-up (no elevator) to each floor. The rooms are small by U.S. standards but very clean and comfortable. There is some street noise in the rooms overlooking Columbus Avenue but it quiets down around 11 PM. It didn't bother us but some people might find it objectionable. The best way to describe the hotel is eclectic, which fits right in with the neighborhood. The hotel and the area has a very European feel to it with sidewalk cafes and restaurants. Location is everything with Mini bus service and taxis outside the door. The hotel does not provide parking but there is a couple car parks located within walking distance. The friendly hotel staff will provide you with directions to the parking lots. They are expensive as is everything else in San Francisco. My wife and I will stay at the Hotel Boheme the next time we former San Franciscans visit.

Room Tip: Entrance can be a little hard to find. It is a single door with a small awning. Look for Calzones Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#124 of 231 in San Francisco
373 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
1,829 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 231 in San Francisco
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,465 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Address: 444 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $231 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing