We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel Boheme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I love the Hotel Boheme; it is steeped in history as well being in the perfect location. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The only downsides are the lack of lifts so you have to carry your suitcases up the stairs and the rooms are quite small compared to the 'chain' hotels. But you can't beat it for location; there is a multitude of restaurants on your doorstep as well as bars which were frequented by the Beatniks. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    97
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
18
173
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi en Route
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The location couldn't have been better when we were dropped of by the airport SuperShuttle outside the door of Hotel Boheme...right in the heart of the Italian section of North Beach. Next door the sidewalk tables of Restaurant Calzone filled with relaxing,imbibing diners enjoying the afternoon sun...the neighborhood has a wonderful atmosphere.
Boheme has the personal touch of a boutique hotel. Pulling heftily from associations with the Beat Gen, it doesn't need to be modern. The rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable...who needs a TV when you are just in this locale for a couple of nights. Could have done with a couple more wall sockets for charging the electronic paraphenalia though. A nice touch of complimentary sherry's after 5 at reception.
A really pleasant stay in a fabulous part of the city. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 702 had the aircon noise from the neighbouring restaurant which did give a distracting backgrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Boutique, cosy. Actually tired and small. Staff were great but gave us poor advice about where to eat. Don't eat locally - go right out of the door and second right down Stockton where there are loads of quality places to eat.
Location of Boheme is great. We walked to Union Square through China town and it's an easy walk to Peir 39 too. Just don't go left and left again unless you want a smutty style experience.
Overall not bad but we had a pokey room and there were no tea/coffee facilities which was not consummate with the charges (plus tax!!).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you are up for history, especially the beat generation, Alan Ginsberg's old hangouts are all within walking distance. The deco brings back the beat generation days. If you like Italian cuisine, Chinese food, and even Spanish and French cooking, you could not have been at a better location. Free sherry every night offered by the hotel. I can look outside my window and watch the diners and waiters next door.
The place does not have an elevator and the screeking noise of the wood stairs of this old Victorian house may feel haunted, although that is part of the charm for me. Some may be bothered by the traffic noise from Columbus, although I enjoyed sitting by the window and watching the world go by.
Financial district is a little bit of walk, which I enjoyed. Fisherman's Wharf is also within a pleasant walk away, passing by tons of restaurants, gelatos, coffee shops and Washington Square along the way. Buses and taxis are easy ways to get around if walking is a problem.

Room Tip: If you like people watching and don't have problem with traffic noise, pick a room on the Columb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Was nervous when the hipster wife booked this place as I stay in for work are the traditional W, Hyatt etc. this was our money tho and what a great value. For 1-3 days it's perfect. Any longer or for business travel, I would want more amenities. Staff is WAAAAAY kind. The Sherry every night is a great touch. Loved sitting at the Sherry bar reading the historic articles on Beat-era. Room 104. Street view. Wife and I would sit at the small table with 2 comfy rattan chairs and enjoy the sherry with the bay window open watching passersby. A little noisy with windows left open at night but we aren't light sleepers. BEST SHOWER EVER!!

Room Tip: 204 was Ginsbergs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanshannont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel Boheme is in a fantastic location - an easy walk from countless attractions and surrounded by wonderful Italian restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Yet, things felt a bit run-down, for example one of the few lamps in my room was broken and the closet door wouldn't stay shut. The inaccessibility of outlets was a nuisance, but I did have an inordinate number of devices that needed to be charged every night so that may just be my issue. Also, strangely, over the four days I was there I only saw one other guest, which gave the place a vacant feel.

Otherwise, it is as other reviewers have said - heavy on personality and light on amenities. I wish I could give it a 3 star plus, because the staff was so helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Travelling through the Californian coast, this was a cute little boutique hotel offering an ideal location to fishermand wharf. If your expecting fancy, then you may be disappointed, as La Boheme is more an individuals artistic collection of all things boheme. Although very basic, it is Comfortable, and they make an effort to impress by providing evening whiskey for guests staying in house. it's a great place to stay to explore San Fran.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofleisureisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#120 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#81 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Property: Hotel Boheme
Address: 444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing