We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$267
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,751)
Filter reviews
3,751 results
Traveler rating
1,330
1,373
593
277
178
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
1,373
593
277
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barvelvet roomphilippe starckunion squarehip hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinbusiness triplobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingtwo blockscorner roomcuba
Filter
Updating list...
2,762 - 2,767 of 3,751 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Too expensive given the size of the average room ( we complained and got upgraded) . Breakfast not included and an absolute rip off - go to the cafe opposite for a decent feed. Location excellent and concierge very helpful but would go back or recommend .

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniejayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Booked this hotel on a whim for a sudden vacation and very glad I did. The standard room is small but well thoughtout so that it seems spacious. Bathroom also comfortably organized. There is a wide use of the color lavender, but it is more soothing than gimmicky. "Fitness Center" on the small side. Union Square location is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Dear Garbo,
Thank you for your review. Lavender is for everyone. It is also a very common color of the sky in the bay area. Nothing is more beautiful than this color as a backdrop behind the golden gate bridge during sunrise or sunset! While or Fitness Center is not huge, it is definitely ample with plenty of free weights, universal workout machines and several cardio type treadmills, bikes and rowers. We cannot wait for your next whim so come back on a planned trip and let us know.

Best regards,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We spent two nights here over Christmas in a loft suite. No idea why they call it a loft. It’s just a reasonably normal hotel room!

Nice large bedroom with fabulous furniture plus a little dressing room and loads of wardrobe space. It’s in a great location, really close to Union Square for shopping.

The reception is a bit different, really dark with a roaring fire and lots of unique furniture. There is a funky bar – great for people watching. The staff here are really helpful.

This is a goodie – go if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbsandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Dear AbsandStu,

Thank you for your response! Our Loft is a junior suite with the most square footage possible with out it being a full one bedroom suite. We are glad you liked the layout, and for those of you staying for longer periods of time can always add more storage space for you.
Our lobby is quite the conversation piece, from taking pictures in the oversize chair or sitting in front of the fireplace relaxing. Between the bar, the ambiance, and the rooms, we got it going on!
On behalf of all of us at Clift, welcome to the Morgans Hotel Group family.

Sincerely,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I travel to the states on a regular basis and have been too SF about half dozen times, and without doubt this is most disappointing hotel I've stayed at whilst there. It's such a shame, but do staff not realise that serving people like they're doing them a massive favour will never endear you to a patron. This bad level of service was the only consistent factor of my 4 day stay. Just implement the basics - smile,make eye contact, a basic level of civility and the fact you don't hate your job. Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankyb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Frankyb,
I am sorry we did not provide the level of service you are accustomed to. Our readers know how we feel about showing our guests an engaging service culture and apparently this did not transfer to your stay. Alas, without all the details, I am at a loss in addressing although I will share your feedback with everyone. Even one disconnect disappoints me, it was not our intention to let you down. If you would call me to provide specifics it would be appreciated 415.775.4700.
Sincerely,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

The hotel was very centrally situated, which also meant having to face dozens of homeless people asking for money on the way from the subway station to the hotel. As we are not used to this it felt slightly intimidating at first but on the whole you could not have asked for a better location.
Our room was tastefully decorated, clean and quiet but a little on the small side.
The hotel also sports a seemingly popular bar/nightclub, which means that the lobby is rather noisy and full of people who are not hotel guests. As access to the lifts is not controlled and they are not visible from the reception, it seems that the hotel floors could be readily accessed by anybody.
We normally expect wifi to be included in the room price, which was not the case at Clift. Breakfast (all organic and locally produced, good selection, high-quality ingredients, very tasty) was also not included in the room price. We paid around $70 for two.
While we are concetrating on the weaknesses in the review, the pros clearly outweigh the cons and we would recommend the Clift to anybody on a city trip to SF, with some reservations if you have small children or mind the noisy lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laupau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Dear Laupau,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We do have a popular bar and our floors are controlled with routine sweeps by our security staff. You can rest easy knowing a strong security presence is there to keep out floors clear of non hotel guests. There is a charge for wifi, which is in line with several competing hotels in the area. Rather than build it into the rate, we prefer to keep it as a separate service which passes on the savings to our guests that do not require internet access. Our wifi service also allows for a standard and VPN connection for those who need to log into secure servers and have fiber optic lines to provide for a super speedy bps. We really appreciate the opportunity to have you as a part of the Clift family and do hope to see you again in the future.

Please note, we have plenty of packages available on our website which can include parking, breakfast or internet.

Best regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews