We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,732)
Filter reviews
3,732 results
Traveler rating
1,326
1,369
589
275
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
1,369
589
275
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barvelvet roomphilippe starckunion squarehip hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinbusiness triplobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingtwo blockscorner roomcuba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,827 - 2,832 of 3,732 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I was thoroughly disappointed with our visit to the Clift. I have stayed at some beautiful four star properties and the Clift was definitely not in the same category. This hotel seemed to lack any of the luxuries one might expect from a four star hotel. Our suite had no robes, no turn down service and a small, standard bathroom with limited bath amenities. Service at the front desk was indifferent and there was no doorman to be found to help us with our luggage. The breakfast was fine but consisted of the same buffet selections each morning. With the exception of the beautiful lobby and Redwood Room the place looked tired and drab and fell short on providing high-end accommodations and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

Dear Wanderlust,
Wow... this was not quite the experience we strive to provide nor review we like to read. If you could reach out to me with some details it would be much appreciated as this is not the service level we offer and I would like to address. Service is paramount to us, and as most readers can see we care deeply about our guests and strive to make that 'connection' with every guest at every moment. I am sorry if this was not provided to you. Once again, to all you trip advisors out there- please feel free to bring these things to a managers attention as it happens for prompt recovery and follow up! Keep on wandering!
-Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This place is great deal of fun. It is perfect for a romantic weekend in the city. The rooms are very nice, modern and minimalist. No art adorns the walls but there are plenty of mirrors for romantic inspiration.

The club on the lobby level is a hip watering hole. It can get busy on a weekend. You are right next to two theaters, the ACT and another one that does musicals. There are dozens of great dinning spots within walking distance. My fav is Micheal Mina's but you don't have to spend that much to have a great meal. Check out the shopping around Union Square and just east. All within easy walking distance. So grab your spouse, a romantic candle, a bottle of bubly and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TunaSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Right from check-in we had an excellent stay at The Clift.

The doorman was very welcoming and we enjoyed a nice conversation with him as soon as we stepped out of the cab.

Then, Jenny and Sarah at the front desk were both very helpful, and efficient with our check in. There were 2 couples in our group, and we actually had one room upgraded since we were staying for 4 and 7 nights each, and they wanted us to have a little more room for enjoying our down time. It was a great welcome for sure. Also we booked a specv

The Loft King (I think that was what we were upgraded to) was large, and the bathroom was a good size, with a large vanity and closet in a separate room from the toilet and tub/shower. Room was spacious and very clean. The other room was smaller, but still adequate. Only thing that was missing was a coffee maker in the rooms.

The concierge we dealt with the most often (Steven?) was also super helpful. He had great recommendations on restaurants, even with one very fussy eater in our group. We also enjoyed a quiet cocktail in the Redwood Room on Sunday evening (though Saturday was very busy and ‘happening’). Our server was super friendly and she told us some interesting facts about the history of the room, and the digital art!

The location was a perfect jumping off point, and a great place to set up for the time in SF.

And as far as being on the border/edge of the “Tenderloin District” we really didn’t find it to be a problem. I mean of course there were some random people roaming about and asking for change at all hours of the day, but I really didn’t feel scared or unsafe at any time. We also went on a free walking tour of the Tenderloin (through CityGuides) and learned about it's storied history and transformations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ_14_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2010

Dear AJ_14_Calgary,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback and the thoughtfulness with which you've written! Of course we love to hear that your experience was so lovely, but I have to say it's really nice to hear your view of the neighborhood. The heart of San Francisco houses some of the most exclusive shops in the city, as well as the poorest, least enfranchised of the neighborhoods, and it produces a very unique environment which (understandably) some people are less comfortable with than others. It's important to take that into consideration when choosing where you're going to be most at ease; we're so glad that you took the time to know both sides and of course ended up enjoying the experience all the more because of it!

I've shared your comments with our team who are as pleased and touched as I am. Thank you again and we do hope we'll have the chance to see you again soon!

All the best,

Jenny and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The hotel is designed by Philippe Stark and combines some classy elements with modern design. Bathrooms could be better but the room (superior) and the bed were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitrisTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

If your into Old well located boring old overpriced small room hotel, the Clift is your place. Oh don't forget the $57 a night if you have a car. What a dump. Nice people work there including the bums that greet you at the front door screaming what a wonderful place it is. Staff is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GolfingYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews