We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great location and amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed at the Clift hotel for our one year anniversary. The front desk upgraded us and made sure there was champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries!! That was a really nice touch and great start to our stay.

Use the concierge! They very knowledgeable and quick. I normally don't use the concierge due to the time and no way to tell if they are actually knowledgeable or just picking places they know. I gave them call after spending hours trying to find a good restaurant and having a hard time deciding and i am so glad i did. They ask the right questions and really listen between the lines to find out what you really want. They even had the restaurant bring out a special treat for our anniversary dinner. Every place they recommended was amazing and actually what we were looking for.

They also have free bike rentals! There's only 4 and you can't reserve them, but they are so worth it. We rented them and biked all around (even the Golden Gate bridge). Traffic is bad, so cabs can be expensive, but everything is pretty close and there are a lot of bike paths.

The hotel has a lot of cool features (a lot of interesting chairs). We really wanted a boutique hotel and we were not disappointed.

The location was great and we spent a good amount of time biking around the hotel and location matters because in SF one block can be nice and well traveled and the next one not well traveled and a little shady (even in the union square area).

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are a little loud especially on weekend nights but we dealt with it wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowlescj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy that your anniversary trip lived up to your expectations and that our staff was able to help make your stay a memorable one. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with the Front Desk Agents and Concierge. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Clift again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    1,220
    523
    236
    150
See reviews for
349
1,197
206
921
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

nice place. very cool interior decor in the lobby. good location, 10 minute walk from the bart and just a few minutes away from union square. Starbucks across the street and a wal greens and liquor store on the corner. Very good pizza place across the way too. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernand0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good location near union square. Nice and clean design hotel. Great bar, nice staff overall. The lobby and bar is apparently made out of one single redwood tree.

Didn't try the restaurant.

Good breakfast place across the street called David, makes it even better!

Will stay there again I am sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very chic and trendy hotel in a great location in San Francsisco. Superb service and amazingly comfortable rooms. Fabulous breakfast, great place for dinner in the Asia restaurant. Easy to miss as the sign is teeny tiny. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiebrightonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

we went to san francisco at the middle of August and accommodated in clift hotel, we enjoyed so much, Hotel Bar is wonderful also, we can recommend it as no doubtly, Service is perfect also...We hope to go San Francisco again and stay in this hotel hopefully..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArzuSeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We truly value our guest's feedback and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Clift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Hip, minimalist lobby with nice seating areas. Dark tones, occasional quirky oversized furnishings. Very pleasant front desk staff, clean, comfortable rooms, nice amenities. Easy walk from BART station, even if you are dragging bags. If you are a walker, this hotel is just down from Nob Hill and provides a base from which you can take great walks of varying degrees of difficulty. Lots of opportunities to walk the famous San Francisco hills from here. Many great diners, and restaurants nearby. Just down the street from the American Conservatory Theatre, and a couple blocks from Union Square. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sednezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I booked the hotel online and when we arrived on Friday night I was a bit surprised to see a queue of people standing outside to get in and ushered by bouncers. The lobby is designer with unique furniture and a fireplace. The hotel lobby looks a bit dark and gothic, but the themes is really nicely carried through to the bar and the restaurant. The room we stayed in was not very big, but stylish again, designed by Philippe Starck with large mirrors. The bar was full of stylish people, women in cocktails dresses and Jimmy Choo heels, men groomed and in suits. The staff is polite and obliging. The hotel is quite central, there are plenty of places to eat, have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Had a great short stay, it is affordable and I would recommend to stay in the hotel for couples and young travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlstravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,411 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing