We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool property with gracious staff in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2014

From the lobby to the rooms, the decor and furnishings are tasteful and cool. The hotel was overbooked when I arrived which was not a good thing. However, the staff went above and beyond to remedy that. I was quickly offered a comp room across the street for one evening. Upon my return to the hotel for the remainder of my stay, the staff went above and beyond to be apologetic, gracious and helpful throughout my stay. The Clift more than made up for a reservations mishap. I would definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

It is always such a pleasure to read feedback from our valued guests, thank you. At Clift is it our top priority to create an excellent stay for all and we are thrilled that you enjoyed so much of our property. Our staff will be so pleased to know they were able to turn around the less than pleasing problem you had! Your kind words will be shared with everyone involved, and we can not wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,629 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the years, but won't be back. It's still fairly hip, and the Redwood Room is still a nice bar and place to watch beautiful people (including some good-looking women of the evening), but the rooms are noisy and worn. We had a deluxe king room, which was spacious, but spartan and worn (carpet/rugs, paint, etc.) As large as the room was, the bathroom was TINY, and also worn (stained marble on tub wall, and big chips in the tub enamel.) Our room was at the end of the hall and not on Geary Street, so we hoped for quiet. However, one set of elevators backed up to our room and the elevators are quite old, so they were noisy when in operation until the wee hours. Also, lots of noise from revelers both inside and outside the hotel, sue to think walls and windows. Interestingly, we noted not a single piece of magazine/travel literature in the room (guides to SF, etc) which one normally finds in hotel rooms. As I said, spartan. Service was friendly, but we were surprised upon arriving in our car that there was no one outside to assist us or valet park the car; I had to go inside and find someone. So, this hotel has a nice Union Square location and a hip vibe, big rooms (with big mirrors above the bed, if you like that kind of thing), but otherwise not much else going for it. We did get a good rate for the one night.

Room Tip: High and in the back, although windows and walls are thin. Avoid being near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KortvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you so much for providing details of your business stay with us at Clift. We love to hear from our guests, both to know what they have enjoyed, as well as what areas might need our attention. It is wonderful that the views from our hotel were some of what you valued the most of, as well as our bar and restaurant. Part of the charm of our historic hotel is the uniqueness of our accommodations, with no two exactly alike, just as no two guests are the same! We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again so that you can take advantage of even more that we have offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Had a wonderful short stay at this hotel in San Francisco. Very easy check in, lovely room and enjoyed a nice cocktail and appetizer in the bar and met fun people from Europe traveling through. If you like design hotels, this is a great fun place in a super central location. I walked to a shop in Union Square yet was away from all the noise. The bellman helped store my luggage as i needed to go to a work event. The concierge helped me avoid wasting time in an area where the shops close on Monday which saved me wasting my few free hours to wander. Everyone i encountered was not only friendly, eager to help and good at their job. Shout out to the woman who booked my reservation.

Great stay and i will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticGirlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Reviews such as yours remind us all why we love what we do! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Clift. We are delighted to know that you felt so well cared for by our Associates from your encounter during check in all the way to having drinks in Redwood Room. We will be sure everyone gets to share in the pleasure of reading your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

this is one of the best hotels ive stayed in. the bar has a great ambiance with awesome food. the room didnt have the highest level of finishes, but it was clean and well designed. service was nice, the front desk suggested a lot of great places to go. i will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genevieve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your appreciation for Clift. It brings us great joy to know you enjoyed your time here from our helpful service to the Bar! Our Concierge and front desk team will be happy to know you enjoyed the assistance in recommendations around the city. It is our hope to welcome you back again to enjoy even more of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Clift has a hip vibe with its unique design. The lounge is fun just to sit in and chill.

The rooms were very large and roomy. Seems like they were recently remodeled. It is an old building, and you can tell, but it was very well kept.

Sleep quality wasn't as good as some of the other places I've stayed at in SF. You can hear the people in the adjacent rooms talking (and much more). Stayed on the 5th floor, so street noise was a bit of an issue.

The location is great. A block or so from Union Square. Walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Street noise can be a problem; ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duaneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Whether positive or otherwise, we are always grateful for the feedback we receive from our valued guests. From your account, it seems we missed the mark regarding several issues and for that, we sincerely apologize. It is disappointing to learn that you found anything amiss in your guest room. Please know that one of our associates is always ready to help in any way they can and we regret not having the opportunity to impress you completely while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your comments have been shared with our management team as guests should always expect all areas to be at their best. It is our hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you deserve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room is nicely renovated with modern touches. Comfortable king bed. Free wifi at lobby, but payable for in room wifi. Walking distance to Union Square. There is a nice Japanese restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asoetanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at Clift. We are delighted you enjoyed our historic hotel as well as the spectacular views from our property. As you mentioned, we are located next to Union Square, which lends to our special charm. We do apologize if you were not fully impressed with our accommodations, however. Our property is nearly 100 years old and each guest room is completely different from the next. When booking, our associates are always happy to help in determining which accommodations would be just right for you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The "nightclub" feel of the hotel lobby seems very dated to me and the motif of giant chairs was just confusing. There were some noise issues between rooms with adjoining doors. The toilet positioning was so close to the sink i could barely sit on it. The bed was very comfy, room was fine, very "love hotel" with huge mirrors everywhere. I paid a ridiculous sum during a conference, if you got this on the cheap it would be fine. This is definitely a party hotel, but it was not as bad as other reviews would have had me believe. The staff was very accommodating, the location is very decent for proximity to union square. I wouldn't seek this hotel out, but it got the job done, and at least it is unique and thus kindof fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much for providing details of your business stay with us at Clift. We love to hear from our guests, both to know what they have enjoyed, as well as what areas might need our attention. It is wonderful that you had fun, and enjoyed our staff's wonderful service. Part of the charm of our historic hotel is the uniqueness of our accommodations, with no two exactly alike, just as no two guests are the same! We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again so that you can take advantage of even more that we have offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,757 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
2,644 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $186 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing