We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, deco modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #73 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We arrived late and weary. Friendly, pretty young lady at the desk greeted us well, explaining, yes on a Sat night this is a busy, happening place. The bar and lobby were full of young people having fun. We checked in, requesting a quiet place...went to our room...very clean but standard so went back and requested an upgrade. This room is very nice. Very large with 3 closets, dressing room, chair and sofa. The staff is friendly and helpful.
There are a few flaws...minor...tear in the carpet by the elevator and the tile in our shower tub needs a little work.
The location is GREAT! 2 blocks to Union Square and the cable car!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susankae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great experience at Clift, thank you for sharing your feedback. Providing our guests with incomparable service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your stay was such a memorable time. From gorgeous views of San Francisco bay to spectacular dining the culmination of all of the small touches make an experience that much more exceptional. We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,875 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I went to SF for a wedding back in Nov and we were deciding between the Four Seasons and the Clift. Between 2 friends mentioning Clift as the "trendy" hotel and the 4 star rating on Tripadvisor - we thought - why not? It was that the worst decision we've ever made. And here are the reasons:

Service: None. I arrived on a Fri night. When my cab pulled in front of the hotel, the doormen/bellboys were so busy monitoring the line of people who are trying to get into the bar then to help anyone checking in. I logged my suitcase to the front desk myself. And front desk service wasn't any better. There wasn't "how was your trip?" or "can we help you with anything?" It was a simply - give us your credit card so we can get you out of the way. And needless to say, no one offered to help with the luggage after checking in.

The hallway: covered in dirty carpets

The room: smelly carpet, completely with a whole wall of mirror - as tacky as it gets. Not to mention, the room was so small that you can't even open your suitcase comfortable. We tried changing the room but the hotel denied our request. The bathroom - water pressure was okay, drainage wasn't great so water piles up if you don't shower quickly... you get the picture.

noise level: thru the roof over the weekend with the bar downstairs

Last, the crowd: sketchy is putting it nicely. My husband was in the elevator with someone when this person asked him - "do you play poker? If you do, come to room xxx, we got games... and girls...." When my husband declined, the guy said "if you don't want to play, you can just come watch, you know?" I think you get the picture?

To sum up - if you are in the city for fun or looking for a "meat market", and don't mind tasteless decor and no service, this is the place for you. But if you are looking for a decent 4 star hotels with proper service (and have a city-standard), Clift is NOT the place to be....

Room Tip: Don't stay here... It's really not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maodohsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I appreciate that you've taken the time to share your review, though we deeply regret to learn of your dissatisfaction. Our unique hotel features historic charm in every corner but we do regret if you found any area not at its best. We apologize for not meeting your expectations for this stay and hope you'll allow us another chance to welcome you again to provide you with the type of encounter you deserve. If you so wish, please reach out to the Manager on Duty so that we can remedy this poor encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Such heavy doors and you see like five doormen, you expect them to open, that never happened. You need a cab, DIY, they are very busy to get you a car.
Besides that ,we spent 4 nights at the Clift, great bed linens and towels, great sleep(the hotel was almost empty), very slow room service. It is great for a vacation, romance escapade. Of course great location and the Velvet Room for a drink, some times they have waiters, some time you have to get your drinks yourself.
By night they have bouncers intimidating at the entrance door, don´t be affraid just give them a look and they get intimidated by you, haha.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURAELENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We sincerely appreciate reading such a comprehensive review from one of our valued guests, thank you! From check in to check out, it seems as though you have enjoyed much of what we have to offer, from your comfortable accommodations, to our great location in Union Square. Our associates love providing the very best in service but we do apologize if our team wasn't able to make the most of your stay. Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Clift, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've stayed here twice already (I get the friends & family rate) and both experiences were wonderful. Check-in is a breeze and I love that they gave me drink vouchers for the Redwood Room since it was my birthday weekend! As for the room, both times I was given a room with a great view of Union Square and the Bay Bridge, up on the 14th floor. The rooms are decorated in a modern minimalist approach which works well with the amount of space that they have. The beds are very plush, like sleeping in a cloud! We did order room service (chicken quesadillas, sandwiches) at 230am and the order was delivered within 20 minutes. The bathrooms are small, however that's expected in older downtown buildings. I only knocked off 1 star because parking is an expensive $52 per car, per night. Other than that, the Clift Hotel is perfect if you want to spend the night in the Union Square area. It really is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misseljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We are so appreciative of the review you left for Clift! It always delights us to hear about a guest's positive experience and it doesn't get much better than the account of your visit. We are delighted you found such value while visiting. We are however disappointed that every aspect of your stay did not meet your standards. With such a city as San Francisco, parking can be a little pricey. Especially with a hotel such as ours that only offers valet. Some of the great things you will find with our Valet is that you get unlimited in and out privileges, as well as the convenience of driving right up to the hotel.

We truly appreciate your feedback, and will pass it on to the rest of our management team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Comfortable, in a great location near Union Square, the theatre district, Market St, Moscone center, with eclectic styling and low European style beds. The bathrooms are rather small for a hotel in this price range. Overall, suitable if you like chic hotels and the hustle and bustle of this area, but better deals are to be found.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed so much of what Clift has to offer from our great location, live bar and more. It is however, regrettable we did not meet all your needs regarding the room. Please know that one of our associates is always available should any issues arise and more than willing to help with changin of rooms, if available. We value your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed the vast mojority of your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a corner suite on the 15th floor, overlooking Union square and the bay, to the West we look at Knob Hill a gorgeous view. The room was quiet, we chilled in it, bed was perfect (coming from someone with back problems). The cleaning service was delightful. We enjoyed the bar area with the portraits with the eyes that moved(?) the different areas to sit. The front desk people where gracious with a smile to go with it.. If you want to be near down town this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanyne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

What more could we ask for in a review? Thank you so much for sharing your praise for Clift. You have captured the true essence of our hotel with your kind words. From your experience in the room, the bar, and with hotel staff it truly seems as though you make the most of your visits and for that we are grateful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again as one of the 'places to go.'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Clift for the week over New Years. I live in SF, but had a few friends in from out of town and we opted for a hotel to be nearer the action. Great location, fabulously helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed and cozy, plus we loved the shower - incredibly powerful and tons of hot water.

I also loved the valet service - it's a pain to have to pay an extra $60 for parking, but they were quick to return my car and helped pack and unpack luggage with a smile.

Two complaints that prevent this from getting 5 stars: 1) paying for wifi (just add it to the price of the room, then we won't feel nickel and dimed) and 2) our room was next to the service elevator, which meant we could hear the door opening and closing in the early morning hours. It woke us up until I bought ear plugs the next day.

Otherwise, great time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Exceptional guest service is our top priority at Clift. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your conference stay and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. Our valet will love to hear the feedback that you left for them, and will be sure to pass off this information to them. Thank you for your most gracious feeback, and we are looking forward to your next visit to Clift!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,718 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
518 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
3,322 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $194 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing