We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,849)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveler rating
1,356
1,399
616
287
191
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
1,399
616
287
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barphilippe starckunion squaretrendy hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinlobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingcorner roomtwo blockshipsfconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,111 - 2,116 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Comfortable, in a great location near Union Square, the theatre district, Market St, Moscone center, with eclectic styling and low European style beds. The bathrooms are rather small for a hotel in this price range. Overall, suitable if you like chic hotels and the hustle and bustle of this area, but better deals are to be found.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice city views
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed so much of what Clift has to offer from our great location, live bar and more. It is however, regrettable we did not meet all your needs regarding the room. Please know that one of our associates is always available should any issues arise and more than willing to help with changin of rooms, if available. We value your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed the vast mojority of your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a corner suite on the 15th floor, overlooking Union square and the bay, to the West we look at Knob Hill a gorgeous view. The room was quiet, we chilled in it, bed was perfect (coming from someone with back problems). The cleaning service was delightful. We enjoyed the bar area with the portraits with the eyes that moved(?) the different areas to sit. The front desk people where gracious with a smile to go with it.. If you want to be near down town this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanyne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

What more could we ask for in a review? Thank you so much for sharing your praise for Clift. You have captured the true essence of our hotel with your kind words. From your experience in the room, the bar, and with hotel staff it truly seems as though you make the most of your visits and for that we are grateful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again as one of the 'places to go.'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Clift for the week over New Years. I live in SF, but had a few friends in from out of town and we opted for a hotel to be nearer the action. Great location, fabulously helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed and cozy, plus we loved the shower - incredibly powerful and tons of hot water.

I also loved the valet service - it's a pain to have to pay an extra $60 for parking, but they were quick to return my car and helped pack and unpack luggage with a smile.

Two complaints that prevent this from getting 5 stars: 1) paying for wifi (just add it to the price of the room, then we won't feel nickel and dimed) and 2) our room was next to the service elevator, which meant we could hear the door opening and closing in the early morning hours. It woke us up until I bought ear plugs the next day.

Otherwise, great time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Exceptional guest service is our top priority at Clift. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your conference stay and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. Our valet will love to hear the feedback that you left for them, and will be sure to pass off this information to them. Thank you for your most gracious feeback, and we are looking forward to your next visit to Clift!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just stayed there after the NYE. Not nearly as extravagant as other Morgan hotels we stayed in, ridiculous lime green stool by the entrance, mixture of styles wanting to look eclectic, the lobby is way too dark. Carpeting is a little worn out, but the floor looked great, light and specious with uplifting colors. The room was comfortable, with a lot of mirrors and curtains, but no readily available electric outlet. Bathroom was adequate, but the tub/tiles need some freshing up. Loved the bed and the bedding. The area is fantastic, with amazing Mason Cafe around the corner for breakfast. Overall found the stay pleasant until I found a $70 charge on my credit card. The hotel was pre-paid and we used the mini-bar only as a refrigerator for the champaign we brought with us. Asked for wine glasses (which should be there anyway), but did not consume anything. Called the hotel to inquire about the charge, got transferred twice to the accounting, left voice mails, no response. Person answering the phone had no desire to talk. Extremely poor customer service, will not stay again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor not to hear a club and a yard room to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mura02456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

While we are delighted to know you choose to stay with us,. It is always our desire for guests to leave our hotel impressed at every turn as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests. We were quite disappointed to read that you were not fully impressed with our accommodations and that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Clift for four nights during NYE. It is a very modern hotel, hip and in a very central location. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. They helped us with numerous reservations and recommendations for places to eat. However, their rooms need some updating. Unfortunately, our room was right by the service elevator and we constantly could hear the staff coming and going from the elevator, as well as hearing the elevator itself. We complained and they gave us a discount, however it did hinder our stay. Further, our bathroom was very dirty and the tiles seem to have mold, which was concerning especially since this is an upscale hotel. Further, our room was very tight and there was a desk by the bed that led to the bathroom which made it difficult to pass by if someone was sitting at the desk. The room had a lot of curtains which I am still unsure why. Overall we had a fairly pleasant stay but I wish they would have given us a room in a better location that was roomier, especially since we had two double beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at Clift. We are delighted you enjoyed some aspects of your stay in our historic hotel. As you mentioned, we are located only a few blocks away from union square, and are pleased that you could enjoy the area.

I however find it troubling to know that you did not completely enjoy your room. As previously mentioned we are an older hotel, with many different rooms to offer.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, so that you may have the opportunity to experience one of other many great room styles. If you are so obliged to stay with Clift again, please reach out to management so that we can arrange an amazing stay for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews