We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$380
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$179
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$218
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $430/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 60% below average rates

The price you found is 60% lower than this hotel's average rate of $492/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$476
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,814)
Filter reviews
3,814 results
Traveler rating
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barphilippe starckunion squaretrendy hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinlobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingcorner roomtwo blockshipsfconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,091 - 2,096 of 3,814 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My college bestie and I stayed here back in 2003 and loved the hotel for it's bar the redwood room and for its location close to neimans and saks. This reunion weekend has just been one big disappointment. From finding out that 24 hr valet parking is 60$ per night to the shabby decor of the rooms, badly in need of a facelift, to the tiny bathrooms and the low staff to guest ratio, we feel that for almost 650$/ night this is a total ripoff coasting on the reputation of yesteryear and the morgan hotels. the room service was also mediocre...just definitely not hip or chic...and the quality of guests makes you feel more like you are at a low class marriott or an aloft hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belkis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Hi KindredHandcrafts,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as the spot for your special occasion. The Redwood Room, and our hotel in general, are great spots for a wide variety of special events. Being an "icon", as you noted, is a great honor to us.

It pains me to hear that we were unable to create the type of experience you needed for a birthday celebration though. Anytime you come to stay with us, whether you are visiting the bar, the restaurant, or staying in the hotel, please take the time to reach out to a Manager on Duty or our lovely Concierge so we can anticipate your needs and also go that extra mile to create surprises and lasting memories for you. The best part of our hotel is the community of staff we have that love to and live for the opportunity to get involved and ensure your experience is above and beyond expectations.

I greatly appreciate the time and effort you put into your review so we can continue to grow as a hotel. It is important that we are aware of any moments that do not live up to expectations so we can ensure this does not happen to you again. Have a great day! Hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We often stop in at the Redwood/Velvet Room for drinks when visiting San Francisco, so in celebrating a birthday, we decided to stay overnight. Unfortunately, the Redwood Room was closed for a private party, (it would have been nice to have been notified of that!), but the management offered our party of 8 (four guest rooms) a round of complimentary drinks in the "Living Room". However, the Living Room was packed and the cocktail waitress was no where to be found...

Our room was really comfortable, especially the linens with big fluffy comforters. We had a larger room than our friends next door. So we got lucky. However, it was irritating to have to dig out our room key, no just once, but twice to get up to our room.

Centrally located, The Clift is great...and we had breakfast in the Velvet Room, which was tasty, but awkward as they had only one table where the chairs and table are the right height for eating. Better for cocktail set up. We sat at the bar, which was fine really, but not ideal.

We got a great price on hotels.com, however, any funds saved were spent on the $60 parking per car...overall, though a great experience to stay in one of San Francisco's historical and cool icons...

Room Tip: Room 509 was larger than Rooms 510 and 517...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KindredHandcrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

KindredHandCrafts,

Although your whole experience was not all that we would love for it to be, I would like to thank you for the kind words that you have shared about our hotel. Staying in a historic hotel such as ours can be truly an exciting experience, especially with so many great offering around our location.

I'm glad that we were able to rectify some of your undesirable issues during your stay. And we truly do appreciate your feedback, which is extremely essential in order for us to continue to improve. On your next visit to Clift, please reach out to the Manager On Duty beforehand so that we may ensure that your stay is all that you had hoped it would be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed it the Clift for a business conference. A nice, comfortable hotel, but I was definitely not cool enough for the Clift. At 44 years old, I actually felt too old for the place. I arrived late in the evening. The lobby and bar were full with young folks drinking and dancing. Certainly a hot spot in the city. Service was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was fair. Bed was comfortable. The clock radio was indecipherable - thank goodness for the alarm on my phone. The bathroom was very small. I have used outhouses that were larger and more comfortable. I would not choose to stay at the Clift for pleasure. There are others places in San Francisco where I would feel more comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hi LTBenny,

May i start by saying that things you highlighted in your review, and are truly motivational to our staff to push their service levels to the next level. Your kind words will certainly be shared.

It however does pain me to hear, that we didn't completely anticipate your needs and desires when it comes to selecting you a perfect room. It is our goal to ensure the comfort of each and every one of our guest.

If you find yourself visiting us again, we would love to show you one of our many other room offerings that are available. If you so choose, we urge for you to reach out to the manager on duty for our current offerings. We look forward to hearing from your soon. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a hotel for the young, cool, unsophisticated crowd. The lobby is always dark, you have to show your room key to even get into the hotel in the evening; there's a line all the way around the block to get into the bar, which is full of working girls. It's also very noisy.

Room wasn't ready, even when we arrived 8 hours after check-in time; no explanation given. Reception is full of young glamourous women, who look at you with disdain at check-in, even if you've paid in full in advance!

Good location but rooms badly need a clean and refurbishment; bathroom was like something out of a travelodge (certainly not worth the price) and the furniture looks very Ikea cheap (although apparently isn't). There's almost no noise insulation.

Be careful with your bags; the valets seem to leave them unattended by the main front door. In fact even drove off with our car with the boot still wide open!

Perfect for a certain type of hipster, not for the more mature traveller, who appreciates a finer hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJS2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hello JJS2520,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Did you know Union Square is the third largest shopping district in the world?

It is extremely troubling to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, in the same way that we would like all of our guest to experience it. We certainly strive to accommodate all of our guest's needs while staying with us, and truly regret that we were unable to satisfy yours. If at anytime you choose to visit us again, whether it may be in our bar, restaurant, or hotel, please reach out to the Manager on duty so that we may better serve you.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help with our continues growth as a hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of our staff. Have a great day, and happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at the CLIFT overnight last week on an "SF Winter Adventure." The hotel is in the heart of the theater district just steps from the bustle of Union Square. Tons to do and see within walking distance.

The lobby itself is worth a visit, featuring a quirky collection of funky, fantastical furniture by Philippe Starck and Salvador Dali (valued at over $2 million), including Starck's Big Arm Chair, an oversized arm chair that guests are allowed to sit on, climb over, and crawl under (make sure to do this for a peek at a pleasant surprise).

From drinks at the Redwood Room to dinner at the Velvet Room, everything was top-notch. Had a light-filled corner room on the 10th floor with super fluffy bed and pillows. Decor was quite stark... walls had floor to ceiling mirrors and none of the typical cheesy artwork.

Definitely highly recommended for anyone who wants to be close to sightseeing and shopping in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XtinaDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

What better way to enjoy a San Francisco winter than with a stay at Clift? We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for your gracious feedback. Being close to shopping and number of attractons is easy when staying with us, with as you said the hotel is a short distance from Union Square. From luxurious accommodations to taking a pic in our Big Chair, we are so glad you were able to take advantage of much of what we have to offer. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews