We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not as "boutique" as one would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #76 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very nice location near Union Square. Clean and modern. Decent Internet connection. Nice but somehow modest design and thus not as "boutique" as one would be led to believe. The very dark atmosphere in the lobby and elevators was also a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKassardjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the decor of the lobby. The next time you stay at the Clift, you should visit the Redwood Room - It is a lively bar with great music and has moving pictures on the walls.

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Clift in SFO in August. Got a great room on the seventh floor and couldnt believe the size of the bed. It was huge. Best sleep ever! Good value for quality and comfort.
Location was okay if you walk the right direction towards Union Square, it is also only a few blocks from slightly dodgy area, so check where you walk and how you get around.
Bar can be noisy in the evenings, but good if you like entertainment.
Overall very pleased and would come back.

Room Tip: High up and away from noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prescriptiondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our property! We work hard to make sure our hotel meets our guests' needs and creates an environment that is balance of relaxation and excitement, seclusion and exposure. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hadn't stayed at the Clift for nearly a decade. But the place is still nice, except for smaller room bathroom fixtures in the tub/shower. Great bed, nice furnishings, great bar! Location can't be beat; just don't wander more than a block or two westward or you're in the tenderloin and it's shabby.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rawiener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last visit at the Clift. I am happy to hear that you revisited the Clift after nearly a decade. The location of the Clift is indeed convenient filled with lively shopping areas as well as tourist destinations.

We hope you consider staying at the Clift the next time you visit San Francisco.

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Clift. Good location, near Union Square, however, the rooms are small, tiny old bathrooms that you can barely move in with patched up tiles. No coffee maker, no bureau! Where do you put your clothes? Bed was comfortable, but there are more luxurious hotels for your money. No, I would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Unfortunately my husband and I were not hip enough for this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone who goes to San Francisco to actually be a tourist and is over 30 years of age.

Our first impressions were that the lobby is very poorly lit and the staff are really quite snobbish. You don't even know who the valets and doorman even were as there didn't seem to even be a uniform or identifying labels...they could have been another guest for all we knew. Nobody offered to help us with our luggage or open the door for us. Not a great first impression.

Yes the hotel is stylishly decorated but fraying carpets, peeling paint, marks on our white leather ottoman and chips off furniture detract from the supposed quality of the hotel.

We had a deluxe room which was very spacious but I would have preferred a bathroom that two people could fit in at once rather than ample empty floor space.

The hotel is in a great location but that is the only saving grace of this property. When we arrived back to the hotel after doing the Alcatraz night tour on the Friday night, there was a queue to get into the hotel due to the popular bar so we had to rustle around to get our door key to even be let into the hotel. Not great considering this is not a cheap place to stay. The "streetworkers" (yes that is what I mean and this was verified by a doorman) literally right outside the front door were another rather unsavoury feature when we returned back on the Friday night.

The final insult was that they charged $11.00 on our final bill for room service which we didn't even get. I asked for it to be removed upon check out (which we did with the concierge because they were short staffed) and he assured that it would be but I have checked our credit card bill and they have still charged it. Small amount I know but wrong nonetheless. You should never get charged for something you didn't get.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel as there are so many other places in San Francisco to choose from. If you don't expect too much despite the high price you are paying, then you might be okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brent_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its located on a perfect spot in San Francisco. All main shopping is very close to the hotel. I stayed here for a conventions (which was in another hotel). Its a very good spot for business and private stay. Normally a hotel bar is a place where you go when you are alone at business. This is a very nice lively special bar. The paintings on the wall are watching you in a weird way. Its a very nice location to meet people. The crowd is a mix of business people, couples and a lot of yuppies. Dinner and breakfast is rather expensive in the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at this hotel already 3 times and rooms are all very nice. If you dont want any noise, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your positive feedback during your stay at the Clift. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Redwood Room and the famous moving pictures on the wall - I quite enjoy them myself.

We hope you consider the Clift the next time you are in San Francisco!

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a blast staying at the Clift hotel! Excellent service and a clean beautiful room with a nice view. What I loved the most is the Redwood Bar and the location of the hotel.

The shopping area is on walking distance and so are the restaurants and cafés. The doorman gave us a great advice to have our breakfast at Sears, wich is a great place with tasty food and good prices!

We received a good value for our money at the hotel. Thank you for a wonderfull place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axanaandreyevna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I'm so happy to hear that your stay was such a treat! We hope you will come back and visit soon. We pride ourselves on our service and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
670 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,406 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,714 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing