We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, small rooms, great bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #71 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent location, small rooms, great bar!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We already stayed at the Hudson (same hotel group) in New York - so we knew, what to expect (good location, small rooms, especially bathroom, great bar) ...
Location: Excellent, just 3 minutes from the Union Square and close to shops, department stores and the cable car station. A Starbucks is also across the street.
Welcome and check in: Went smooth and fast, we received a room on the 15th floor, which was great because of the view (although it was mostly misty).
Room: Nice interior design (by Philippe Starck), great mattress, pillows and sheets, small layout and size, bathroom was too small (just for one person at a time) and will need an overhaul soon (the shower valve broke out of the wall).
Redwood: Great bar, nice drinks, good music, there is a lot of traffic here on the weekend.
Gym: Small, but good enough, not a lot of traffic - every equipment was available.
Check out: Fast and professional.
Overall résumé: We would definitely book the Clift SF again!

Room Tip: On the top floors (because of the view)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    1,280
    543
    257
    156
See reviews for
386
1,235
213
975
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Clift in San Fran and had a great time. The hotel is part of the Morgan group and lives up to the standards of the other hotels in the chain. The concierge staff (Erica, Kathryn and Andrea) were absolutely wonderful. They helped us to deal with a missing bag (that had been left on our flight into San Fran) and gave us great recommendations for food and site-seeing. Andrea was also able to get us tickets to Alcatraz. A tip for you all; book Alcatraz well in advance it books up quickly....

Another tip is to ask for a room on a high floor. We were originally on the 4th floor and were woken by the noise from the Redwood Room on the first night. The music does stop at 2am but it can be a nuisance if you're trying to sleep before that time. That said, I requested a move to a higher floor and that was actioned with absolutely no problem. We were moved to the 10th floor the next day. No noise at all!

The hotel is centrally located (about two blocks from Union Square) and it was easy to find your way around. Lola's diner is also around the corner and does a good breakfast.

I would definitely recommend Clift.

Room Tip: Go high to avoid the noise from The Redwood Room when the DJ is on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Keith,

I want to thank you for the positive feedback you wrote regarding your stay at the Clift. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco, and I hope you consider staying at the Clift during your next visit!

Please feel free to contact me if you ever need anything!

Cheers,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Last week we came from out CA vacation We stayed in this hotel. We absolutely love it. Their service was good. And the location of the hotel is very good. I was not happy with the bathroom. It was not very spacious. They have very small counter space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_ghumana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a good experience here, though not a perfect one. My room, upon initial entry, had not been thoroughly cleaned--the toilet had recently been used & not flushed--which was a very bad way to start my stay there. But I got over it & did ultimately enjoy it. If it were affordable the next time I was in that part of San Francisco, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there.

It does get noisy, particularly if your room faces the street. Drunk folks congregate right out front, under the room windows, presumably to smoke & such. The noise was pretty bad one night, Even with ear plugs. Those are my only complaints.

On to the good:

Room service was tasty, but nothing very memorable. The lobby is really awesome--free coffee in a little nook just off the main lobby area. The bar on site was fun. Yes, drinks are crazy expensive & yes, there are very definitely "working girls" there--but it's such a cool, fun environment, who cares.

They have one floor designated as a smoking floor--practically unheard of in San Francisco! So if you smoke, this is your place, for sure. Oh! And the bathrobes & upscale toiletries were really appreciated!

All in all, good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
SoloTraveer323,

I want to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Clift. I am happy to hear the location of the Clift were satisfactory as well as the service you received from the Clift staff. I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit San Francisco!


Cheers,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very central hotel with good quality rooms (Bathrooms are rather small but adequate). Breakfast is good but slightly pricey. Afternoon cocktail service in the lobby was very slow, nearly quicker to go down the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front attract a lot of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Snowyrob,

I want to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Clift. I am happy to hear the location of the Clift were satisfactory as well as the service you received from the Clift staff. I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit San Francisco!

Cheers,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Union Square area great for shopping, 5 minute walk to Britex Fabrics. Staff very attentive and friendly. Concierge recommendations were excellent both for getting around and dining choices.
Velvet room restaurant has excellent food and the Redwood room bar is very lively in the evenings. Great front door security.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Maggie,

I want to thank you for your feedback regarding the Clift. I am happy to hear the location of the Clift were satisfactory as well as the service you received from the Clift staff. I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit San Francisco!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we have stayed in clift for 3 night and other than the bar and the city we were quite disappointed. the rooms are not well decorated and seemed to be really old. we have stayed in loft with very little space of wardrobe , a bathroom made for hobbits and needless wall to wall carpet, . we have stayed in almost all morgan hotels and this is by far the worst room . so i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay in hotel unless they improve their rooms. just stay in another hotel and visit the hotel for their bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achilles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Achilles,

I want to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Clift. I agree are bathroom are on the smaller scale, due to the fact our building is an older building. We are hoping to renovate our property in the next couple of years. Enlarging the bathroom size in our rooms are one of many goals we have in mind. I hope you will consider visiting the RWR next time your in San Francisco!

Cheers,
-Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
459 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,007 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing