We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Boutique Hotel in heart of San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Boutique Hotel in heart of San Fran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel! Stylish, convenient and well priced. The staff offers great customer service. While the rooms are small, I found it to be very comfortable. The Clift is fast becoming my go-to hotel when I'm in San Fran for work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey MKBLOOM,

Thanks for the great review and I am happy our world class service stood out! Please continue to visit and if you have yet to try the restaurant or bar, give those a try next time..

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    1,220
    522
    236
    150
See reviews for
349
1,196
206
921
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is very modern, clean, and also kind of retro. Rooms are spacious and fun with the mirrors and furniture... The bathrooms, carpet, and window blinds in room could use some revamping.... Room service was quick and good....Food wasnt over the top though... Lobby and common spaces are dimly lit and have tons of fun chairs that make great photo opps. Redroom room drinks are ok. I got a Moscow Mule, and it was not good at all, but i think they are better known for other drinks. Atmosphere at the Redwood Room is pretty cool, pretty people on the stroll, typical scene. Great location of hotel and within walking distance to shopping of Union Sq. Have fuN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasntheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey Lucasntheoc,

Thanks for the positive review! Please come visit soon!

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I just spent the long weekend at the Clift hotel and will say that the staff was extremely nice and the decor in the lobby is super chic. The rooms on the other hand, are small (and this is coming from someone who lives in Manhattan).

The pros
Great location
Nice staff
Clean rooms
Room service was awesome

Cons
Small rooms
Fitness center is lacking serious cardio equipment
Pricey

I would probably stay here again if I got a great deal. I wish I had asked for a bigger room because that literally would be worth the price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a bigger room. I stayed in a king room (standard) and it was tiny and hard to move a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey mountainview,

All of us here at Clift appreciate the review and we are happy you found our service to be welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is made to be your home away from home, an escape from reality. We have many different room options and next time you stay with us please ask the front desk for some additional information on those rooms.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Tremendous visit last week to my new favorite hotel in SF. After a previous bad visit back in September of 2012, I reached out to the front desk manager (who had reached out to me after reading my negative review). The Front Desk manager was seemingly horrified about my review and AWESOME in her response...said "give me a yell next time you are back in SF". For my recent vist, I did exactly that and was treated to first class treatment upon my arrival. I received an upgrade to a "loft" room...and a nice note in my suite. Trip Advisor WORKS!!! The Clift is my new favorite. Thanks guys

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank scootermc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello scootermc,

I am so happy we could turn a negative experience into a positive. That is what we are all about here at Clift, making sure the guest maximizes their stay in SF while coming "home" to a comfortable bed and a unique hotel experience. I am happy we won you over and please continue to visit.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the hotels "mini-suites" and were delighted with the decor, space, hotel amenities and especially with the room service, My wife recounts calling room service, hanging up the phone, immediately followed by a knock the door - without our order. We were in town just prior to Christmas when there was a congregation of Santa clad individuals filling every restaurant and bar seat in the area. While many establishment chose to close during the Santa raid, including the bar and restaurant at The Clift, it was an exceptional property at a great value inthe heart of a great city. We will be back.

Room Tip: Go with a suite. It's worth the cost and standard rooms can be very, very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey Kevin T,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I am happy you enjoyed yourself and I hope the "Santas" did not get in the way of your trip! Please come again soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we just went for my birthday on january 7, service was slow and terrible at the restaurant, bathrooms old: bath tub brooken, toilet didnt flush, bell boy never showed.... so expensive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dont recomend!!! terrible

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Monica O,

I am so sorry for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you, as it sounds like we failed you on multiple levels. I see that the bathroom was not in the shape we would expect and the restaurant was not up to our standards..How was the service from the front desk?

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm a bit remiss in this review, as I had the pleasure of staying at the Clift for a conference last August. I had been in contact with their manager, David, prior to arrival, and he ensured that everything was brilliant for me from checkin to checkout. The location was perfect for walking trips to Union Square and The Embarcadero, jaunts by trolley to Fisherman's Wharf, car service to Sausalito (I use Uber!), and public transport to Golden Gate Park. The room was clean and comfortable, with very little outside noise pollution. There was ample space to unpack and get comfortable for my week stay, and everyone I encountered on the staff was extremely friendly. The bathroom was small, but clean, and I even enjoyed a bath or two without trepidation! This was one of the most relaxing experiences I've had in a hotel, and I have to say much of it was due to great management. Thank you David, and thank you Morgans Hotel, for yet another great experience. There's a reason why your chain is one of my favorites, and I look forward to staying at the Clift again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get up higher and more "interior" to get away from street and lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Tara C,

Thanks for your thoughtful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and I am beyond excited that you found everything to be up to both of our expectations and standards. Please come again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,404 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing